We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

873 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 788: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 21 December 2015

We celebrated my wife's birthday @ this place, The Hotel is just on point. The food is just amazing and it helped that waitress assigned for our dinner went beyond the call of duty to ensure my wife had a nice birthday.The gigantic milkshakes must definitely be tried. The rooms are just too nice and spacious.I really enjoy the shower.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Siphiwe K
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Siphiwe K, Oh, reading your review is such a joy! We are really glad that you had such an amazing stay with us and that your wife's birthday turned out the way you had wished it to. Thank you so much for all these kind words, I will definitely share them with the TEAM, I am sure that they...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

I am writing the review as I stay in Protea for the first night. We arrived last evening and glad we are staying in a very safe compound. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Check in was easy and we got the room request we wanted. However the lady at the concierge was not exactly helpful. Asked if she has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris L
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Kris L, Thank you for your review! We are located within the Melrose Arch Precinct, which is a gated community that ensures the safety of our GUESTS as they walk from our doorstep to the many restaurants that it has to offer. I am glad that we were able to provide you with the room that you had requested,...

Lurgan, Northern Island
Reviewed 18 December 2015

Décor in this hotel is beautiful!! The rooms are great for couples, not as good when travelling with friends as the shower seat up isn't very private. If you are staying here, you need to try a milkshake .. amazing!! I travelled with 30 travel agents from the UK, and we did keep the bar staff busy .. but we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurajayne87
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear laurajayne87, Thank you for the amazing review! Our décor depicts the 'Old Hollywood Glamour' with the dramatic black and white with splashes of red. I am glad that you loved it! The rooms are great for couples indeed, but friends can also share the room as there is a shower curtain that can be used to partition the shower...

Cartersville, Georgia USA
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Everything about this hotel is sharp and high fashion. However you can go too far. Many of the chairs had seats that were too long...great if one if 6'3" or more but for average folk you can't sit with your back against the back of the seat and be comfortable. Not a big fan of a shower in the bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weyland
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Weyland, Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. Our design is inspired by the ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’, which was well known for its high end fashion. I do however understand that the design may not appeal to all our GUESTS, but it is but in essence it is what we are, experiential. We...

Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Excellent hotel situated at the top of Melrose Arch approximately 30 minutes taxi from Tambo international. I was upgraded to a suite 534, which was perfect for me as I was there for 2 weeks. The staff are super helpful and eager to please. The food in the hotel is OK, but there are many bars and restaurants near by....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Victoria A, Thank you for the amazing review, it was such a good read! We are fortunate enough to be located within the Melrose Arch Precinct, which as you have noted, is a very centrally located area that makes it much easier for our GUESTS to commute to and fro the O.R Tambo International Airport. I am glad that...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 December 2015

Tried phoning the evening before to make a reservation, was put though to the restaurant and no one answered. Phoned again and was kept on hold constantly. I then sent an email reservation, unsurprisingly there was no reply to confirm my breakfast reservation. If this was the guest service extended, I had my doubts about their breakfast buffet being of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finesse1
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear finesse1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our restaurant. There is absolutely no excuse for us not answering your calls or responding to your mails, our GUESTS take president in everything that we do and providing them with the best GUEST service is what we work hard to achieve on a...

Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I really had high expectations of this hotel. I was super excited after I made my reservation and was looking forward to checking in.The hotel is just about average ( I am not sure why it is rated so high-maybe because of the location). There is a contemporary feel to the hotel but way too much Marilyn pictures in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Flygeirl
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Flygeirl, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. It saddens me to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations. We tirelessly aim to meet and exceed all our GUESTS’ expectations and we have dropped the ball with you in this regard. Our design is inspired by the ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’...

charlotte
Reviewed 28 November 2015

The property is unique for sure. The vibe and decorations really reflect the personality of the hotel. The location can't be beat. You can safely walk around to many upmarket shopping and restaurants with ease. It's almost as if you're in the middle of a small walkable city. The rooms are not large, but very comfortable. If you look at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianparsley
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear brianparsely, Thank you for the detailed and great review! As part of the Protea Fire & Ice! Brand, we pride ourselves of being unique, exuding an exclusivity that our GUESTS can feel from the moment they stride through our doors. Our décor and vibe is one that aids us in keeping young, bold and sexy in order to echo...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 November 2015 via mobile

Went there with friends for drinks. Food was lame to say the last. They were unable to accommodate the smallest of requests I ordered the burger and the patty tasted better than it looked but the processed chase slapped on their was horrible. Also they move you inside to their trendy lounge area in the evening already so as not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 8mmSA
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear EnzoRSA, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I would like to express my most sincere apologies for the dissatisfaction that you had with the meals that you ordered at our restaurant. It saddens me to think that the food that was served to you was anything but the best. We pride ourselves of the products...

Reviewed 22 November 2015 via mobile

Spend a night at the fire and ice. Room was nice, clean and great decor. Used room service a few times and it was great. A big plus that it's 24 hours. The bar service is extremely slow, but that's normal with this place. Also beware when you order a drink they serve doubles by default, if you want a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rayan R
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Rayan R, Thank you for the review! We appreciate your lovely comments of our hotel and the décor, our design is derived from the ‘Old Hollywood Glamour’ theme which is undoubtedly modern and trendy. I would like to apologise most profusely for the slow service that you experienced at our bar, it saddens me that this element of your...

395 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (316)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.7 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
681 reviews
3.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.8 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
360 reviews
3.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: ₹ 6,022 - ₹ 14,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
melbourne
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
4 months ago
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request the complimentary romantic turn down service, nice special touch”
 of 5 bubbles muhammeda527, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Music was quick loud on the first floor. Get a room at the end of the hallway. It is more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NorthAmericaTravel, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 551 on the fifth floor with good pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles devonmax123, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ideally a pool-facing room rather than a traffic-facing one but not if the staff carry on shouting at each other around the pool”
 of 5 bubbles JamesD870, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel transportation is expensive, use Uber.”
 of 5 bubbles asiahand1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5