We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

871 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
See the most recent reviews
Showing 786: English reviews
Harrow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2016

I must commend the interior designer on the creative use of space in the Fire & Ice Melrose Arch. There were several areas to chill out including a nice terrace. The shower area is part of the bedroom, giving the illusion the room is larger. The room was comfortable, but the walls seemed particularly thin. For breakfast the guests are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SwiftyHarrow
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Good Day SwiftyHarrow, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate hearing from our GUESTS. Reviews serve as an opportunity to take note of any mishaps that have occurred and rectify them as soon as possible. Having said that, I would like to extend an apology for the inconvenience caused to...

United States
Reviewed 22 March 2016

I stayed here on my last day of Safari before embarking to Victoria Falls in Zimbabwe. The checked-in was efficient. However, I wasn't given the wifi access code during checking in. The room was clean, beautiful, and nicely decorated with Hollywood theme. I love the oversized white chair at the corner. Housekeeping was prompt and efficient. It turned out that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara2017
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Good Day Aida2017, Thank you for your review. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience caused concerning the WI-FI incident. It was supposed to be explained to you upon your check-in process. Regarding the slow service at our restaurant, I assure you that it will be addressed and rectified. The hotel's theme is Old Hollywood and it spills throughout the...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

The location is fantastic. The rooms are clean and a good size. The bar area was dirty with disinterested staff who could not be bothered to serve you. The one and only time we went to the bar we were the only customers. We had to ask for the table, which was filthy to be cleared and wiped down. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsten W
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Kirsten W, Firstly, thank you for your review and advising us on your experience at the hotel. Secondly, I would like to extend a very sincere apology for the appalling service you received at our property. This is definitely not how our STAFF are trained and I am disappointed that this has occurred. I would like to further discuss...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2016

This is one of my favourite hotels in Johannesburg. Located in the safe shopping area of Melrose Arch it is also perfectly OK to walk out for dinner and choose one of the many restaurants in the area. the hotel itself is trendy and funky! Breakfast is good; rooms are functional and everything works No bath though just showers. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zetat0urs
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Zetat0urs, A big thank you for taking the time to write your review. Being located in the Melrose Arch precinct is one of our biggest selling points because of the safety element as well as all the fabulous boutiques and restaurants just a short walk away. We hope you journey back home was safe. We can't wait to have...

Howell, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

If you are a Marriott Rewards holder (or not), this is the place to stay in Johannesburg. We stayed here on both ends of a safari trip to Pilanesburg, and we made a great choice. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms are decorated with a Hollywood motif and are quite cute. There are nice restaurants nearby, although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Uccman39
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Uccman39, Thank you for your review. We are really excited you had a wonderful experience at our property, including our Old Hollywood theme. I will definitely show your review to our STAFF members, I know they will appreciate your kind words. I trust your safari trip was everything you hoped it would be and more. Thank you for your...

Reviewed 14 March 2016

The hotel was clean and the staff were all friendly. They offer covered parking in the garage below the hotel. The hotel is nestled near some of the best shopping and dining in the city. The surrounding area around Melrose Arch is pretty nice as well. I recommend you exercise caution as you would in any new city. Locking your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bruce E
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Bruce E, Thank you for the review! We are located in the vibrant Melrose Arch Precinct, which is bustling with loads of eateries and shops for GUESTS' convenience. As with any city, it is absolutely important that we are all vigilant at all times, however The Precinct is a safe gated community with 24 hour surveillance to ensure that...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

First time in Johannesburg and chose this hotel after a recommendation - I wasn't disappointed. Melrose Arch is not the real Johannesburg but it is a very nice location for a few days business trip. Good bars and cafe's in the square and some shops nearby if that's what you like. The hotel is very nice. Cool, laidback feel to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LuckyP360
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear LuckyP360, Thank you for the review! We are located in the Melrose Arch Precinct, which is upmarket and classy and has a wonderful array of stores and restaurants for your enjoyment, plus they are all within walking distance, a city within a city. We have a unique ambiance that is produced in our establishment, our flashy décor, ever ready...

London
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Visited this hotel on a very flying visit to Johannesburg. The first impressions are of a very stylish hotel but it often seems like it is trying to hard to be something else (I'm not sure what exactly but it reminds me of if someone has read a book about luxury and then tried to ram everything into one building.)...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LondonTravelingM8
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear LondonTravelingM8, Thank you for the review! The theme of the hotel is inspired by the old Hollywood era; a splash of glamour is always needed, however we do understand that this style may not be to everyone's taste but it does radiate the true essence of our brand. The room is uniquely styled showcasing the shower as an included...

Sioux Falls
Reviewed 7 March 2016

I was up on the third floor and it was quiet. The room was modern and chic, clean and well-maintained. Plenty of hot water, flat screen TV, 3 computers on the main floor for guests to use. Dining area was first class, selection good, and the food even better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScubaDiverRick
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear ScubaDiverRick, Thank you for the fantastic review! Our rooms are the perfect combination of comfortable, modern and chic with all the necessities that our GUESTS need. The lobby lounge is open for all our GUESTS to work from, with high tech computers and delicious coffee from the bar, it makes conducting business that much easier. We are glad you...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 March 2016

The place is really lovely - outside chill area, pool. Its a lovely place to chill and have a drink with friends. During the day it's pretty casual but at night it has more of a party vibe. It's rather expensive though - Unless you have the cash, don't plan on having a full on lunch there. Service seems to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melletjies
Gabrielle_Abrahams, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch, responded to this review

Dear Melletjies, Thank you for the review! Our terrace area is absolutely the best chill space with our gorgeous blue pool as a backdrop and the African sun setting the scene, all you need indeed is just good conversations with great friends while sipping on delicious cold drinks from our bar. We will definitely look into different ways of providing...

396 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (316)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
0.1 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
3.7 km away
The Residence Boutique Hotel
The Residence Boutique Hotel
#1 of 70 in Johannesburg
677 reviews
3.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Four Seasons Hotel The Westcliff Johannesburg
2.8 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 70 in Johannesburg
359 reviews
3.6 km away
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
Genesis All-Suite Hotel
#13 of 70 in Johannesburg
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The urban, experiential and edgy Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch is the hot-spot in the trendy Melrose Arch Precinct, a unique city within a city, which boasts a variety of trendy retail, gourmet restaurants & leisure amenities. This experiential hotel guarantees to spice-up any visit to Jozi and is aimed at the traveller who enjoys being amidst the energetic urban vibe of the cool city life. The hotel offers the ultimate convenience and accessibility to the M1 highway, Sandton business centre and OR Tambo International Airport. Shuttle transfers to and from the Sandton Gautrain Station are also available. Take full advantage of the innovative 24-hour internet station, to catch up on emails, social networking or perhaps a bit of work. Try our conference facilities and create an energetic 'out-of-office' experience that will definitely heighten the creative senses required in any boardroom or meeting situation. Old Hollywood glamour flows through to your dining experience, at the trendy in-house restaurant, which serves breakfast, lunch & dinner daily, with sumptuous cuisine in an intimate and relaxed dining environment. Return to your room, which offers an LCD television, open plan bathroom and an urban style that will take you back to a bygone era of old Hollywood glamour. And if it's too early for bed - the Bar, which is open from 10h00 until 04h00 serves specialty cocktails and gourmet milkshakes, in an energetic and lively setting. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch

Address: 22 Whitely Street | Melrose Arch Precinct, Johannesburg 2076, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: ₹ 6,078 - ₹ 14,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Melrose Arch
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Johannesburg
#21 Business Hotel in Johannesburg
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question
melbourne
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States
4 months ago
Chesterfield, Missouri, United States

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Music was quick loud on the first floor. Get a room at the end of the hallway. It is more quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles NorthAmericaTravel, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 551 on the fifth floor with good pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles devonmax123, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ideally a pool-facing room rather than a traffic-facing one but not if the staff carry on shouting at each other around the pool”
 of 5 bubbles JamesD870, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel transportation is expensive, use Uber.”
 of 5 bubbles asiahand1, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one of their mini suite rooms, They are really awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles Word_Traveller_ZA, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5