We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Cherry Tree Cottage B&B

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cherry Tree Cottage B&B
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2016

A great place to stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. Ron and Marelyn are great hosts and very accommodating. We were a very late arrival at 11:30pm and Marelyn was up and waiting for us to personally welcome us and see us to our rooms. Great location for our needs and a good breakfast. We would definitely... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PeterDV
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to help you out.. you made it easy to go the extra mile!!! Warm regards More 

Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Well looked after. Would like greater choice at breakfast. Owners very friendly. Tranquil setting. Lovely gardens. Well situated. Secure. Great laundry service very good value. Nice guests overall. Would go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gav219
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

We were glad to be of service! And thank you for the compliments... we do have lovely guests. We hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Ron & Marelyn More 

Ispra, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2016

My stay at Cherry Tree was wonderful. The owners are great especially the man who is very friendly and came in at breakfast for quick chats which I very much appreciated. Its very easy to walk to shops and restaurants nearby and an easy drive (or minibus ride) to major shopping malls.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mangomousse
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

We do so enjoy interacting with our guests over breakfast and weve made some wonderful friends as a result. Its one of the perks! Do visit us again soon. Warm regards Ron & Marelyn More 

Lephalale, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Please try to add bacon, sausages nd grilled tomatoes on your breakfast. But I enjoyed what was served very nice coffee and cereals. I really enjoyed Myself . Planning to go Visit the place soon. The tradional decoration in the room made me feel soo happy. Woow nd The owners are very Friendly with excellent customer service.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sebolelok
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2016

A tranquil setting in a beautiful and well maintained premises. I would definitely recommend this place to others and will use it again myself. I appreciate the attention paid to all guests and the welcoinmg attitude of the hosts

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mcc314
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Room was clean, owner very friendly. I literally spent a few hours in the guest house, so it served its purpose. Would recommend to other travelers. Nice outside area through the French doors in my room.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 641sylviaw
Adelaide
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2016

The owner, Marilyn, had taken half of my payment by AMEX card April 2015, she insisted I pay the whole account in cash. After payment she refused to refund the deposit saying I had to get statutory declarations from the bank, me and the travel agent saying we will not reverse or dispute the deposit. She kept on about other... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank B6906QIjanetm
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

Referring to the above review from the guest: I understand how frustrated you must feel, as in your view we have been overpaid. However, it is more complicated. We are sorry that you felt so aggrieved that you have found it necessary to air the issue on Trip Advisor instead of taking it up with your Travel Agent-T/A on your... More 

george
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2015

friendly hosts, good room and bathroom, good cold breakfast, not so good hot breakfast (toast not done, eggs fried without asking how they would be preferred, no variety. the host enjoyed having a conversation, initiated most chats.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank nannoe
London
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2015

Loved this place. Behind the gates a quiet oasis beautifully laid out with gardens and african art. Great help yourself breakfast. Good location too especially September when the trees along the street are in bloom. Shops and restaurants nearby. The price I paid wasn't bad value at all.

Helpful?
Thank Colin P
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Colin, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at at Cherry Tree Cottage - we certainly enjoyed having you and hope that you will be back again soon! More 

Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Lovely property, breakfast sufficient and cooked on request. Complimentary toiletries etc. were budget basement. Overpriced for what is on offer. No electricity on second day and no offer of refund/discount.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam D
ItsTheCherryOnTop, Owner at Cherry Tree Cottage B&B, responded to this review

Hi Sam Thank you for your feedback on the quality of our toiletries. With regard to the electricity...life with intermittent power is a now a reality and cable theft a bit beyond our control. BUT we do now have a generator installed for emergency backup and have recently upgraded to LED lighting. Solar or gas for geysers and cooking is... More 

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johannesburg hotels
4.4 km away
The Capital on Bath
The Capital on Bath
#31 of 71 in Johannesburg
48 reviews
4.0 km away
Hands On Retreat Craighall
Hands On Retreat Craighall
#13 of 281 in Johannesburg
151 reviews
4.1 km away
Saffron Guest House
Saffron Guest House
#28 of 281 in Johannesburg
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
5th Avenue Gooseberry
5th Avenue Gooseberry
#58 of 281 in Johannesburg
77 reviews
4.2 km away
Arum Place Guest House
Arum Place Guest House
#2 of 281 in Johannesburg
158 reviews
2.1 km away
Orangerie Guesthouse
Orangerie Guesthouse
#20 of 281 in Johannesburg
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Take advantage of South African hospitality wherever you go and experience our wide variety of fascinating cultures and local traditions. Let yourself be drawn into the rhythm and soul of Africa, see the country's natural wonders, have a close encounter with our wildlife and make an unforgettable journey through our ancient and recent past. Make the most of your time with us...... Feel welcome, relax and enjoy your stay.This small, personally run, 3 star B&B lies in the serene country setting of Linden that is centrally located to Sandton, Rosebank, Hyde Park and just a short drive from Randburg and the Johannesburg CBD. This hidden gem is surrounded by Delta park, Emmerentia Dam and Botanical Gardens. We offer a tranquil environment & country feel only minutes from the hustle and bustle of the city life which suits both the corporate and leisure traveller. Cherry Tree Cottage offers good value for money. It is comfortable, safe and secure, and centrally situated. The four, twin or king bed suites, can accommodate up to eight guests. The bedrooms are spacious, light & airy, & you can relax in the morning on your own private patio overlooking lush gardens. Enjoy a substantial, wholesome, continental breakfast with that special touch. Feel welcome, make yourself at home, and enjoy your stay. Very close to Melville, Cresta, Randburg, Sandton, Hyde Park and Rosebank, Parktown, Parkhurst, Greenside and Parkview. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cherry Tree Cottage B&B

Address: 57 Ninth Street | Linden, Johannesburg 2195, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Johannesburg
Price Range: ₹ 3,341 - ₹ 5,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Tree Cottage B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cherry Tree Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cherry Tree Cottage B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room at the far end has excellent access from car-park for the elderly or disabled”
 of 5 bubbles Russell-Thomsen, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Everything was Perfect”
 of 5 bubbles sebolelok, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the inner courtyard room is especially nice”
 of 5 bubbles davidnbunn, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
“The room at the end....its tucked away from everyone and has a lovely outside sitting area”
 of 5 bubbles CharisseM_13, 6 Aug 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are comfortable and private”
 of 5 bubbles DougCapeTown, 20 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay