We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

438 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 394: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

Separate rooms for my friend and myself for 6 days when attending the Test Match nearby. Arrived at 12 noon to be told check-in is it at 2pm, staff not prepared to see if rooms available, got to my room eventually at 15.15 hours. Wake up call booked for the following morning which didn't happen, awoken that evening at 23.15pm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Ian F, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies regarding your overall experience at our hotel. Please be assured that I have taken your feedback up with my TEAM as we wish to better the experience for you and other GUESTS in future. I apologize...

London United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016

My check in was less than ideal. Housekeeping were a bit slack in vacuuming. A bit of a grumble after a crappy stay in two previous Protea properties, but I will say the professional and kind caring way the staff rectified my grumbles is a testament to an incredible hotel. A VERY special mention NEEDS to be said of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear John C, Thank you very much for taking the time such a lovely review here on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies about the lack of housekeeping attention to your room, I can assure you that this has been addressed. Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback and commendations on the service received specifically from Lesley....

Reviewed 25 January 2016 via mobile

It's hard to write a review for this hotel, in no way can I say it is the worst hotel ever, but by no means is it the best. The staff (only at reception) need a lesson in customer service, nobody likes attitude. Please, please, please do not be fooled by the hotels advert for free wifi, oh it's free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee J
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Lee J, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay here on Trip Advisor. Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies about the attitude at the front desk, you have my utmost assurance that this was addressed with the TEAM personally by myself. I apologise that the 500MB free Wi-Fi was not sufficient, this is a...

Cape Town
Reviewed 25 January 2016

The hotel has remarkable staff. The check in was highly efficient. The room was suitable as I was staying overnight for a business trip and the layout was good for this. I didn't get a chance to use the restaurant due to the brief stay. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phindile T
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Phindile, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I’m delighted to hear that you would recommend our hotel to other visitors and that the STAFF were “remarkable”, please be assured that I will pass this great feedback on to the rest of our TEAM! We hope on your next visit that you have the...

Reviewed 22 January 2016

Nice comfortable room, free WiFi, fridge, kettle, bathroom had bath and separate shower. Gym in basement, small and quite busy in the mornings when I went but no problem getting a treadmill to run on as most people seemed to want to lift weights. Reception is chaotic. Some serious staff training needed as sadly they were pretty hopeless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheffieldrose
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Sheffieldrose, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear that you liked the rooms and in-room facilities available, and that you were able to make use of the treadmill in the gym despite it being busy. Please accept my sincerest apologies about the reception being chaotic, although we were very...

Reviewed 21 January 2016

breakfast firstly is very expensive at this hotel. when we arrived at the hotel the system was offilne and they had no back up dispite confirming my booking twice. Room was very small. Porters where helpful. wifi is free.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank neville n
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Neville n, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am so sorry to hear that you found the breakfast price high; the price for our breakfast is based on the large variety and selection available on the buffet however I have noted your comment and will pass this feedback on to the relevant...

Grimston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This hotel is well situated for the Wanders cricket ground. Just 5 to 10 minutes walk away. As I was going to see the mighty England play.Booking in did however take quite a while.In the end they gave me another room as the one I was supposed to have still was not ready. The room was well sized with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jnRadcliffe
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear JnRadcliffe, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that our location was convenient for you to attend the cricket. Please accept my apologies that the check in took long, we were fully booked last week due to the cricket although this is not an excuse we will certainly...

johannesburg
Reviewed 16 January 2016

My wife and I often stay at this hotel after watching a cricket test match at Wanderers stadium as it is convenient to park at the hotel and go there afterwards for a shower and supper, thereby avoiding the traffic home. The leisurely breakfast the next morning is always enjoyable too. Our last stay this week was a huge disappointment....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonydry
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Tonydry, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel on Trip Advisor. Please accept my sincere apologies for the discomfort and inconvenience that you experienced during your stay. Your feedback about the cleanliness of the ladies toilets and the service in the restaurant certainly does not reflect the high standard of service and quality that Protea Hotel Wanderers...

Sydney
Reviewed 7 January 2016

Well positioned hotel near all the main attractions. We arrived on Christmas eve and the service was perfect. Had dinner in the hotel as the rest of Johannesburg was closed. Dinner fine. The rooms are large, there is a pool and wifi is free. Great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EricJ123
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear EricJ123, Thank you very much for your great review here on Trip Advisor. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel and that the service was perfect! I will be sure to pass your wonderful feedback on to the rest of the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back at the...

Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Staff is very friendly Hotel offers great facilities In a good area Everything is close by Room is very clean Enough parking as well Secure car parking Rooms are modern and I would definitely recommend it for solo, family or even friends was excellent :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah H
PHWanderers, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers, responded to this review

Dear Abdullah H, Thank you for posting such a glowing review here on Trip Advisor. I am so delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities, the location and that the STAFF were friendly! Thank you so much for the positive feedback and for recommending our hotel to future travellers, I...

167 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (142)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Illovo
1.5 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! by Marriott Johannesburg Melrose Arch
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank
3.4 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
1.4 km away
Holiday Inn Johannesburg-Rosebank
1.6 km away
Monarch Hotel
Monarch Hotel
#2 of 68 in Johannesburg
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the prestigious suburb of Illovo, Sandton, the hotel is ideal for both the leisure and business traveller. A mere 4 minutes’ drive away, the M1 Freeway allows for easy access to all business centres, the OR Tambo International Airport and various other attractions the great city of Johannesburg has to offer. Venture into Sandton, Rosebank or the Melrose Arch precinct, which are minutes away and offer some of the finest shopping and dining experiences on the continent. Alternatively enjoy fine cuisine in our upmarket restaurant, relax on the hotel’s poolside sundeck, enjoy a cocktail in our 24 hour coffee bar and deli or make use of the in-house FIT gym. Accommodation consists of superbly appointed bedrooms, all equipped with separate bath and shower, an executive work desk & wireless internet access. Our distinguished conference facilities and executive boardrooms encourage performance and productivity. Careful attention to detail is a hallmark of this hotel, from the striking, elegant décor, immaculate service, supremely comfortable rooms, to the fresh red apple placed in our guest's room every day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers

Address: Cnr Corlett Drive & Rudd Road, Illovo 2196, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Johannesburg Wanderers)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Illovo
Price Range: ₹ 4,240 - ₹ 8,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Illovo
Protea Wanderers Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Wanderers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms have a decent outlook and offer quiet.”
richardj828, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“i do not suggest you to stay here , choose a hotel in Sandton or Melrose arch”
Benineda, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose quiet room facing the Cricket fields”
AmsterdamJasper, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Our room was 206 - very nice and spacious but not a great view. Very comfortable.”
R2581YLmaryd, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the Wanderers Club should be chosen.”
doriav760, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5