We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 83: English reviews
Start your review of City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein
 Click to rate
Ames, Iowa, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

"You always know what to expect when you book at City Lodge." A quote from one of our party. We had a clean odor free room with a comfortable bed. The swimming pool was in need of attention but we enjoyed it nonetheless.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time and that we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Johannesburg
Reviewed 1 week ago

The City Lodge in Bloem is well located across the road from the hospital and mall in Bloem and has plenty of enclosed guest parking. While not a big hotel I found it to be perfectly adequate for a city of this size. The staff are friendly , all of them, and I note particularly the barmen who still put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye J
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Faye, we appreciate your appraisal of our team, hotel facilities and hotel location. Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed and pleasant review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Roodepoort, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stop over every year from East london with 2 small kids! And our experience was once again awesome!! This hotel is well maintained and super clean with a beautiful swimming pool to relax after the long road !! Staff is very very friendly and I must mention and compliment the house keeping manager Marlyn , We asked for a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dino803
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We always come back to City Lodge in Bloem. We know exactly what we will get. Great service, clean room and bathroom. A very nice bar / restaurant area where you can order light meals. The meals are always great! There is a beautiful pool too where light meals and drinks can be served. A must for a stop over...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estellecza
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the great review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

johannesburg
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

They were very accomodating. Nice rooms. Went in the middle of winter changed to a sun facing room. Asked for an oil heater and was given one. Breakfast was very well laid out. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidreid_za
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us David, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

One of the worst experiences ever. Front desk help Miss Anna and Mr. Jacob Wolmarans are rude and egoistic. We booked through Hotels.com and breakfast was listed on the site. But on checking in,they said it was negligence on the Hotels.com site, and they wouldn't provide us with breakfast. We had 4 double rooms but they didn't give a damn....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mubina P
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We are sorry to hear about your experience, but please note that breakfast is not included in our normal rate – it is an extra. It is possible that you were misled by the booking site or that some mistake was made in the booking or information process.

Paarl, South Africa
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We stayed in the City Lodge recently for one night only. We were very surprized at the rooms with a view onto the pool area. Rooms were well cleaned and stocked with enough refreshments. Very spacious bathroom and a huge shower !!! Thanks for the friendly staff, however they could not really help us with attractions around the city.They did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank deon-adel
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Adel and Deon, and we are so happy to hear that you found our staff so efficient and friendly; enjoyed the hotel facilities as well as the delicious meals - key components that we pride ourselves in! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Kimberley, Northern Cape, South Africa
Reviewed 7 December 2016

This hotel really counts among those I can dub "My home away from home". Hospitality and client service is top-class. Breakfast and other meals are tasty, fresh and healthy. The only thing that can be a bit hindering is the noise as the hotel is situation next to a busy intersection. I would however definitely recommend this hotel to anybody...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 147jds
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that everything met your needs and expectations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Been a while since I stayed at a City Lodge, so this one was a welcome revisiting. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was good and so was the light dinner. The only negative moment was the announcement of the US election results. I didnt let it trump my stay!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Themi V
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Pretty comfortable stay throughout with shopping mall within walking distance. The only thing is that the daily breakfast requires top up. Nevertheless, the staff were helpful and the rooms are nice and comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roy F
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, and we are so glad that you had a great stay! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bloemfontein hotels
1.1 km away
Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Willow Lake
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Bloemfontein
10.0 km away
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
Road Lodge Bloemfontein Airport
#13 of 22 in Bloemfontein
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
Urban Hotel Bloemfontein
#10 of 22 in Bloemfontein
92 reviews
0.2 km away
Anta Boga Hotel
Anta Boga Hotel
#2 of 22 in Bloemfontein
87 reviews
3.2 km away
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
BON Hotel Bloemfontein Central
#11 of 22 in Bloemfontein
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A pool set in a beautiful garden is a treat for those moments of relaxation. This convenient location has numerous amenities within walking distance, such as the Bloemfontein Medi Clinic, Zoo, Free State Stadium, restaurants and shopping centres. It is also close to the N1 motorway and 2 minutes away from Bloemfontein’s CBD. ... more   less 

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein

Address: Nelson Mandela Drive, Bloemfontein 9300, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Bloemfontein
Price Range: ₹ 5,693 - ₹ 7,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Bloemfontein
Bloemfontein City Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from City Lodge Hotel Bloemfontein staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the stairs, ask for a first floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles D7814SXrobertn, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pool facing rooms are more quiete than those facing the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles deon-adel, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the Nelson Mandela Street side are a bit quieter than the ones on the Parfitt Avenue side.”
 of 5 bubbles 147jds, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Accessible to Mimosa mall (walking distance) with a several restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles 248gertrudem, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“ground floor perfect”
 of 5 bubbles lesegol924, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5