We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kelway Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kelway Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kelway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 150: English reviews
Linkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 28 November 2015

Stayed one night here and was glad it wasn't longer. This hotel has potential but just doesn't deliver. The location was excellent and the rooms were ok. One irritating factor was the wi-fi, which just didn't work. Today people take wi-fi for granted. Another irritation was the room phone, which rang every 10 minutes. I took the phone off the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chacra
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review

Dublin
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We weren't here long enough to really give a fuller review, and again the hotel is outside the town and as usual it's not recommended to walk in except in a group. I wasn't impressed particularly, no sudden intake of breadth. No path immediately outside the hotel if you did want to take a stroll.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alec C
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the comments - we do appreciate all reviews. I would just like to know though, if this review was in fact for The Kelway Hotel in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. If so, I hope you are able to stay a bit longer next time you are in Port Elizabeth, to experience all we have to offer at...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

We arrived late from the airport (which is very close) and felt welcome at Kelway Hotel. Staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful. Had a nice meal in the restaurant and even better breakfast on the terrace with views of the beach. Room was clean. Bathroom was a little dated but did the job. Suited us well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penguin_penguin8
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the lovely review - I will definitely make sure all staff sees a copy of this!

Reviewed 5 September 2015

Stayed just the one night here and the stay was pretty comfortable with satellite TV, unlimited wifi, a really nice big bed and a wide view of the sea. Staff treated us with good humour and a smile. Topped by a good breakfast the following morning, a cheery wave from the guys in the security Hut, who could ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice F
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Such a lovely review - thank you so much! A Happy guest is what makes working in this industry all worth it! :-)

Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

A pretty hotel located in a convenient location in port Elizabeth. Old but charming. Staff pleasant. My problem was that the room walls are extremely thin and you are easily able to hear your neighbours go about their daily business. Extremely distracting when you need a good rest. Bathroom and room were absolutely tiny, with no view at all. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel Janice Will definitely be taking this up with all staff concerned.

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2015

Visited this hotel in January with my family and I can say that if I am ever back to Port Elizabeth that's where I will stay again!! the rooms were nice, could do with some refurb but nothing major! The swimming pool was nice! the staff was absolutely great!! always happy to help!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CanterburyExplorer
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Such an AWESOME review - Thank you!

Durban
Reviewed 6 July 2015

The Kelway is an unusual hotel in that it is built mainly from wood, but this gives a warm comfortable feel. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the bathrooms well appointed. The public rooms were spacious and the restaurant well staffed, The bar has excellent views over the waterfront and is well paced for spectacular sunsets, but we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lrexdurban
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review about our hotel, Thank you!

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 26 June 2015

We received lovely treatment at the Kelway hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Unfortunately our room did seem like it had reached it's expiry date. The carpets and curtains themselves seemed very old in age and not just outdated in style.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslin007
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at the Kelway Hotel!

Genova
Reviewed 18 June 2015

I was at Kelway during my business trip in south africa, the exceperience has been good, the hotel is close to the beach i stayed in the hotel for just one week, room was good with all necessary stuff..... very good international breakfast, and very good dinner, suggested

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro983
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review!

Reviewed 9 June 2015 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the Kenway Hotel., and it seems to get better everytime we go. From the time you step into reception, you just find, happy, helpful staff. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. The meals are lovely, and well priced. Will definitely recommend them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rene C
Shandre M, General Manager at Kelway Hotel, responded to this review

This is a REALLY AWESOME review - THANKS!! Its really great to read reviews like these - makes a difference knowing people appreciate the effort the staff put it! Looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel!

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
2.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#9 of 13 in Summerstrand
384 reviews
1.8 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Port Elizabeth Marine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
Courtyard Hotel Port Elizabeth
#10 of 13 in Summerstrand
142 reviews
1.2 km away
The Boardwalk Hotel
The Boardwalk Hotel
#2 of 13 in Summerstrand
424 reviews
0.6 km away
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
Town Lodge Port Elizabeth
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Perfectly positioned in Port Elizabeth, South Africa for business & leisure travelers. Situated just a few minutes from the airport, and within walking distance to popular tourist attractions and swimming beaches. This multi graded 3 & 4 star timber structured hotel was built in 2004 & offers 61 ensuite rooms, conference facilities, secure parking & restaurant where breakfast, lunch or dinner can be enjoyed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelway Hotel

Address: Brookes Hill Drive | Humewood, Port Elizabeth 6013, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: ₹ 3,755 - ₹ 5,735 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kelway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelway Hotel Port Elizabeth
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Elizabeth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kelway Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Look after the staff, they deserve it”
 of 5 bubbles ahmey7000, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Take room 14 , over looks the ocean , the one we had!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jmC8773OX, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“if you want to sleep, get as far away from the function rooms as you can”
 of 5 bubbles Mrplastic321, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the pool side of the hotel would have arguably better sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles K9TLS, 14 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with an even number, odd numbers face the cliff”
 of 5 bubbles D7674QJchristiner, 1 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay