We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre

Certificate of Excellence
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 50: English reviews
Start your review of Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre
 Click to rate
Altrincham
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Safe hotel with security gates before you enter. Clean rooms. Breakfast good. There was a pool out front but we did not use it. We were only there for one night (a quick stopover), but it did the trick. Convenient for the airport the next day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mballi_750943
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Reviewed 13 January 2017

A really lovely hotel, friendly staff, quiet and comfortable rooms nicely furnished. I was there on business trip but also to recommend for couples and families. Restaurants, markets and shopping malls in walking distance.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertsR6279GK
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the positive review! We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon!

Manchester
Reviewed 16 November 2016

My husband and I recently had a long stay at the Lodge on Main, and we were very pleased with the hotel. We had a small kitchen and sitting area as well as the bedrooms, which worked well for an extended rental. We also had a pleasant, covered terrace area, surrounded by a small garden. The beds were comfortable, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G A
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Oh how we love to read these positive reviews from happy guests! Thanks so much for taking the time! We sincerely look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to PE! Hope to see you soon!

East London, South Africa
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We spent a lovely weekend in the self catering unit of Lodge on Main. They combine two rooms (7 and 8) with an interleading living / kitchen space. There is also a gorgeous relaxing undercover verandah right outside the rooms where you can relax the enjoy the back garden. It is definitely a place we will visit again. Thank you...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sonjal451
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks so much for this lovely review Sonja! We are truly pleased to hear you had such a pleasant stay and sincerely look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We had our conference here coupled with a three night stay. Rooms are spacious and clean with all the necessities. Rooms on the main road side are less quiet due to the traffic noise. conference facilities are good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
Johannesburg
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Location is very central and close to the airport. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great!! Rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Welcoming relaxed atmosphere. I would definitely recommend it to my friends and family.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank darnei2016
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Sincere thank you for your great review and recommendation! We are looking forward to hosting you again and welcoming all your friends and family too ;-)

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Not a nice stay. Traffic on main are very loud. Manager worked on his car in the entrance when we arrived. He was unfriendly and moody. No coffee cups in the room. Carpets are dirty. Breakfast was insufficient. What a disappointment!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anita v
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate all comments however there clearly seems to have been a misunderstanding of sorts regarding the manager's moody / unfriendliness. If you refer to many of the reviews we've received, you'll notice that guests generally rave about our warm and friendly staff. Having spoken to Chivago he apologized profusely for your interpretation of his...

Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Arrived late due to delayed air flight however night manager was very friendly and helpful. Had an outside room, very comfortable and roomy. TV was not working properly but fixed in the morning. Bathroom had both a tub and shower which worked great for us, very nice. Breadfast was good with nice coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorvin S
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are truly pleased to know you had a good stay and look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the future! Thank you for taking the time to review us!

Madrid
Reviewed 3 July 2016

The hotel is very comfortable, it has a good breakfast and personnel. They were very kind with us, we arrived soon around 11:30 am at the hotel and they prepared our room in less than 30 min! It is a pity that we only spent one night...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank U7395MTeduardof
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent rating and awesome review! We truly appreciate you taking the time! Hope we have the privilege of hosting you again in future and let's hope for more than one night next time!

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Fantastic stay as always. The staff are super attentive and friendly and will go out of their way to ensure a lovely stay every time. I love the extra added touches such as the nougat cookies in the room. The breakfast selection is great too! You even get a choice of how you prefer your scrambled eggs! Sterling service!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank liezeld23
LodgeonMain, Guest Relations Manager at Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre, responded to this review

It's both heart warming and inspiring when guests appreciate the little things and we thank you for this Liezel! Big thanks as well for the excellent rating and review! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and hope to always remain your home away from home where we promise to always scramble your eggs however you like! ;-)

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
01/07/2017 02/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
0.6 km away
Sir Roys - Walmer
Sir Roys - Walmer
#30 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
106 reviews
2.2 km away
17 5th Avenue Walmer Guesthouse
17 5th Avenue Walmer Guesthouse
#28 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
39 reviews
1.7 km away
Dempsey's Guest House
Dempsey's Guest House
#18 of 72 in Port Elizabeth
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ibhayi Town Lodge
Ibhayi Town Lodge
#38 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
145 reviews
6.6 km away
Millard Crescent
Millard Crescent
#6 of 43 in Summerstrand
112 reviews
1.7 km away
River Road Guest House
River Road Guest House
#25 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The stunning Four star Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre in Walmer Port Elizabeth is the logical choice for your conference accommodation and function bookings and there are many reasons why. This boutique hotel style guest house is now also Port Elizabeth's first class, first choice function venue. The sincere passion and invested interest from the owners is visible in every detail and care that's been taken to turn the establishment into what it is today! Just a few of these carefully thought out renovations include; a stylish bar and function lounge, a more spacious dining area, a warm and welcoming reception lounge, further secure parking space, a wheelchair ramp and bathroom for conference delegate universal accessibility in mind. The modern conference venue can seat 15 in the boardroom and 30 in the main meeting room. Boardroom and meeting room are separated by shutter doors and when combined the venue is suitable for 45 delegates cinema style. (See conference configuration table) The meeting rooms are carpeted for warmth in winter and have air-conditioning for summer months. From the moment you enter the door you'll appreciate the warm welcome, friendly and professional staff, and during your stay you are sure to notice the attention to detail, personal touch and care taken to meet all your business or leisure travel needs and requirements. Right down to the sunblock curtaining with your ultimate sleeping comfort in mind. There are nine stylish bedrooms that have specifically been named after the breath-taking tree paintings featured in the room. All are equipped with flat screen tv's and individually controlled dstv (hospitality bouquet channel selections,) tea and coffee stations, ceiling fans and bedside radio alarm clocks. Some rooms have private balconies while two overlook the picturesque back garden. Rooms 7 and 8 can be combined for a family or group of four and consists of 2 bedrooms 2 bathrooms, patio and a fully equipped kitchen onto cosy lounge/tv room. This family cottage can be booked on either a bed and breakfast or self-catering option and is absolutely ideal for long stays/short term rentals. Regrettably not pet friendly. Please enquire for long stay special rates. The lodge is able to sleep 18 people in double and twin rooms Come and indulge in the luxury of this magnificent establishment by booking your next cocktail party, year-end function, product launch, small intimate wedding, awards evenings, bridal or baby shower with us today and prepare to be impressed! The elegant and trendy new bar with heart-warming wood fireplace and function venue which flows onto an undercover patio overlooking lush gardens and rim flow pool which also happens to be weather protected by canvas drop-blinds will bedazzle you and your special guests at your next special occasion! The guest house is also ideally located close to all main shopping centre's, Walmer Country Club golf course, health spa's such as Shambala, and is surrounded by popular bistros, coffee shops, and restaurants like the Pop Shoppe and Brioche with mouth-watering cuisine within walking distance from the lodge when you feel like a night out on the town there are also popular nightclubs nearby. Lodge on Main guests only ever leave with a smile wishing to return. We look forward to adding you to our very own Lodge on Main special guests family tree! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre

Address: 188 Main Road | Walmer, Port Elizabeth 6070, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: ₹ 4,330 - ₹ 6,850 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lodge on Main Guest House and Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great place, very clean & comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast & overall hospitality”
akhonac, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have good views of gardens and pleasant surroundings.”
365lucyc, 2 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Don't take the pictures at face value - you could be deceived.”
Jenny_D_12963, 12 Jun 2014 | Read review
“The outside units are spacious but be careful of the odd outside walk way that has two tiles that you may trip on if you don't watch where you walk.”
Carmen792, 30 May 2014 | Read review
“If you like dirty rooms and old food, go for it!”
Centrino583, 29 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
Priceline
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates