We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lungile Backpackers Lodge

Expedia.comUS$ 31*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 37*
US$ 31*
US$ 37*
US$ 31*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Lungile Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 139: English reviews
Start your review of Lungile Backpackers Lodge
 Click to rate
Oslo, Norway
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Lungile is an average hostel with regards to room size, cleanliness (not dirty or mouldy in any way, but it's a hostel, so you don't expect the Ritz) and the 40 Rand breakfast (cereal and toast with jam etc). But the staff is really friendly, the location is about a 10 minute slow walk to the beautiful beach and there's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bakoyma
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lungile Backpackers in Ebayi (as the locals call PE) is really cool. The staff are amazing and the hostel is clean. It is a 5 minute walk from really good pubs and restaurants. The rooms are comfortable and the wifi is fast. Great place to stay. P.S They have a pool ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabata58
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that you found the hostel clean and in good walking distance from bars/restuarants and the beach :) Glad the amenities at the lodge were to your liking and we hope you spent some time by the pool relaxing!! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and please visit again soon!! Kind...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A clean, comfortable room with a small self-catering section. We had two small balconies, one overlooking the pool and the other a partial view of the sea and main road area. A fairly small backpackers with a nice atmosphere. Cool little bar and lounge area. We didn't spend too much time at the backpackers itself.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doriannem2015
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. Glad you found the room clean and comfortable and enjoyed the sea view :) We hope you enjoyed your stay with us even though it was a short one! Please visit us again soon. Kind regards, Lungile Lodge

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I am an ex restauranteur and Food and beverage manager and I've worked in hotels with 4 and 5 Star awards and this place deserves a 2 Star. It's not worth the money. Stay somewhere else. It's very noisy, not very clean so don't waste your money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonathanpN5840ZZ
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Such a ovely place to stay in... it is chilled and peaceful. had a chance to tour the city. it is very convinient, close to the beach,close to the airport and in beautiful city of Port Elizabeth. I loved Lungile Bakpackers and thank you for your great services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Veracious G
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the chilled vibe and managed to go on a city tour, a highlight when visiting Port Elizabeth! We hope your stay with us was a memorable one:) Please visit us again soon. Kind regards, Lungile Lodge

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When it comes to backpackers, I rely on friends'/colleagues recommendations (because you never know what you'll get!) and a lot of friends recommended Lungile Backpackers for a recent road trip to PE. Great location, clean rooms and amenities, wonderful staff, and the backpackers' organises a range of activities for you while in PE (if you're keen.) We did a walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella B
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review! Happy to hear you found the location good, the staff friendly and helpful and that the amenities at the lodge were to your liking!! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us as much as we enjoyed having you! :) The walking city tour is one of the highlights and a must when visiting...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We had a very pleasant stay at Lungile Backpackers! We had a really cool city tour with Afroventures which is the tour company of the hostel. we got to see the really cool hidden gems Port Elizabeth has to offer, who would've known that Port Elizabeth was such a stunning European like city. We visited via the Baz Bus but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chante_Nicole
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that you enjoyed our free city tour which does show case the hidden gems of Port Elizabeth!! We are situated just a short distance away from the airport, beaches and bars/restuarants and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Beeryard, a favourite...

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2017

It's the second time that I stayed at Lungile and I really like this place! It's really close to the beach and restaurants and clubs. The swimming pool is so cool to relax after a long day in summer and the lounge area around the fire is also nice in winter: you just want to stay in the comfy couch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoebranche
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Thank you for choosing to stay with us again!! Glad the amenities at the lodge were to your liking, whether it be relaxing by the pool on a sunny day or curling up on our comfy lounge couches on a chilly day! Happy to hear that you enjoyed the city tour, made all the more...

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 27 February 2017

My group of 13 friends arrived late after a really hard night. We were honestly not sure where we were or what we were going to do once we got there but Freddy, the employee at the front desk, was so helpful and did whatever he could to find us accommodations at the last minute. Staying at this hostel was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank claudiahaak4
Clare-Amber, Administrator at Lungile Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. So happy to hear that Freddy was friendly, helpful and able to accomodate you all. We hope your stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you had time to just relax for a couple of days!:) Kind regards, Lungile Lodge

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

The lungile lodge claim is " it's all good". After three nights i can say "it's all horrible". The room was very used, dark and noisy. The staff tried to be friendly and helpful. But most time they were playing pool, watching tv or using smartphones. The kitchen was the ugliest one i've seen in the last two weeks between...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tschakse

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Elizabeth hotels
3.2 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airport
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth Airpor...
#24 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
50 reviews
2.7 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Port Elizabeth
1.0 km away
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
Road Lodge Port Elizabeth
#26 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Kelway Hotel
Kelway Hotel
#17 of 33 in Port Elizabeth
225 reviews
3.0 km away
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
Island Vibe Port Elizabeth
#2 of 7 in Summerstrand
185 reviews
3.3 km away
Treetops Guesthouse
Treetops Guesthouse
#3 of 223 in Port Elizabeth
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Lungile Backpackers Lodge

Address: 12 La Roche Drive, Port Elizabeth 6001, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Port Elizabeth
Price Range: ₹ 1,427 - ₹ 2,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lungile Backpackers Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Lungile Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lungile Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Lungile Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a dorm on the ground floor as the dorms on the first floor gets a bit hot on the hottest days.”
Bakoyma, 25 May 2017 | Read review
“Don't sleep near the reception. Can get a bit noisy”
TerryBanda, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“just ask for what you want”
ConnieG69, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“avoid double room just off the main common room if you want to sleep”
mmmp4cj2, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“the room upstairs is bigger and have more ventilation”
AnastasiaLeeHL, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 31* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$ 31
Orbitz.com
CancelonUS$ 37
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates