We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Nothando Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 139: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 January 2017

The staff here are great, they are friendly and make you feel like family. Food options at the lodge are good value and the accommodation is nice. Conveniently located just above the main road and within walking distance of the beach. Good cooking facilities too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank DannYB010
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Wow!!! Thank you so much for your fantastic review of Nothando. We always appreciate feedback. We hope that you have enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards The Nothando Team.

Hamburg
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Good food, friendly staff, clean rooms, nice athmosphere in the "living room" with games and drinks. A nice south african lady offers south african dinner, it was very tasty. I would come again to this friendly place

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 731lidias
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed with family of six. Two rooms were really spacious, with coffee/tea making facilities and a couch/chairs. The third was smaller. The laundry service is nice. It's an easy walk to the shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mirjam205
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mirjam Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We really appreciate your feedback. Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your travels. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Nothando is well located - a short walk from the beach and restaurants but in a quiet neighborhood. Staff are super friendly and informative, and the lodge is well run - clean, everything works as it should, and it has all the facilities you need for a comfortable stay. My double room even had a hairdryer! There is plenty of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 185tammyf
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Tammy Wow!!! Thank you so moocher your wonderful review of Nothando. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you have enjoyed the rest of your travels and if possible, please visit us again in the near future. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Nothando is a great place to stay for backpackers in Plettenberg. Very well organized, friendly staff, nice and clean dorms (they even provide towels), central in town. There is nothing to complain about. I would have liked to stay longer... Unfortunately, they were fully booked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneOnguma
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Anne Wow!!! Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando. We are so happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We only stay there for a night and we enjoyed it, we slept comfortably. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. There is a safe parking space which is very important. They also serve good breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lexter0536
Deios, Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. It is great to get feedback. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and always welcome to stay with us again. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights as a base for exploring the Garden Route, it's ideally located for it. We stayed in a double ensuite room and it was absolutely perfect for our needs. Spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable bed, secure - all of which made it great value for money. Staff were friendly and helpful and breakfast was excellent. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sander P
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Wow!!!! Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. Much appreciated and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team

Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Brilliant hospitality would have loved to stay longer, will definitely be back, and make our stay longer thank you for receiving us so warmly and for the kind and friendly service, this is indeed one of those places where you meet, and make new friends

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Regenald Jacque... S
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Wow!!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards. The Nothando Team.

Reviewed 13 November 2016

Exceptional backpackers - loved every minute. Great facilities, helpful and friendly staff and nice vibe around the fire place in the bar. Well situated in central Plett. The rooms are fantastic, much better than usual backpacker standards. Ended up staying a lot longer than planned and will definitely be back in the future. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SAtraveller592
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Wow!!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. Happy guests make us very happy. Hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

Cape Town
Reviewed 12 November 2016

I have been traveling for four months and this is one of the best backpackers/hostels I've stayed in. Very clean and comfortable dorms rooms, lots of space, great kitchen, bar and hang out areas. Walking distance to the downtown area. I would definitely come back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank J8701DVjenniferg
Deios, General Manager at Nothando Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Nothando Backpackers. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest regards The Nothando Team

28 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.3 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
659 reviews
0.7 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
518 reviews
6.1 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bayview Hotel
Bayview Hotel
#11 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
97 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
357 reviews
3.7 km away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#10 of 68 in Plettenberg Bay
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Nothando Backpackers Lodge

Address: 5 Wilder Street, Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 783 - ₹ 4,450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nothando Backpackers Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nothando Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Nothando Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 is the best - on suite, roomy, nice double bed, away from bar/late night noise,”
 of 5 bubbles MJV9, 17 May 2015 | Read review
“Splash out a little and get a room with an ensuite bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles SuzanneMeier, 18 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Both the 8bed dorm and the private double were excellent - can't go wrong here.”
 of 5 bubbles katiem227, 4 Aug 2014 | Read review
“The shared room is very nice! The privetes even better!”
 of 5 bubbles AndreMiyashiro, 17 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Dorms seem vibrant & full of life for a quieter stay book a private room all are great value”
 of 5 bubbles babooshkaphillips, 12 Feb 2014 | Read review
5 of 5