We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Emily Moon River Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Emily Moon River Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

402 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 378: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Shades of Hemmingway just a stones throw from the hubbub of Plett. A magical place we always look forward to returning to and are never disappointed. The accomodation in lodges overlooking the river is superior with ample space, all the 5star amenities and a view to savour. The food is excellent and the dining area decor is creatively quirky creating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed our stay, in a generously sized two level family suite with super views over the river and wetlands. The decor is quirky and interesting, and the setting, while only a few minutes drive from Plett, felt a world away - although half of town seemed to come for dinner ! The food was interesting, good but not outstanding,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JonB_SA
EN75AG
Reviewed 1 week ago

we spent 3 very pleasant and interesting nights here in room 4 overlooking the Bitou river and its of bow meanderings. So peaceful it in a large room and comfortable bed one could not help but leave fully re charged. The restaurant is excellent if not a little on the expensive side and it is a bit of a captive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PETERPAMEN75AG
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

WE had 4 nights here in a beautiful suite high up looking over river. Room was huge, big comfortable bed, large bathroom. The breakfasts were amazing. Good home cooked food. The owners and staff were lovely to deal with. Nothing was a problem for them. Loved the pizza restaurant as well. The main restaurant had the best views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kazfang
Pretoria
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful rooms, with a stunning bathroom ( 2 basins, a big bath-tub and lovely shower) and a magnificent view over the river. Really 5 star accommodation. Unfortunately that is the end of the good news. At breakfast we had to endure 5-6 staff members shinning glasses (from the previous night?) right in the breakfast room and talking so loudly that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Josepino1313
emilymoon_sa, Manager at Emily Moon River Lodge, responded to this review

Hi there Thank you for your review - we are so sorry you had such a disrupted breakfast. We will most definitely look into the points you have raised and once again apologise for the poor service you received as this is definitely not the Emily Moon standard.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The place is just outstanding The restaurant has nice views and an amazing atmosphere Good music, great food, great deco and very nice service The rooms were just AMAZING, with amazing interior design like taken out from a decoration magazine Staff very friendly and we are just disappointed that we stayed there for only one night Highly recommended even us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cclemares
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

WOW!! This restaurant has a breath taking setting!! Absolutely beautiful. But it doesn't end there. The food is delicious. Slightly expensive, but worth it. Especially for a family outing or a romantic date (had by us). You can also go upstairs and enjoy a pizza for a more relaxed vibe. Also a lot of fun.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greybuda
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Emily Moon restaurant is fabulous! The food is delicious, the wine list is great, the setting is breath taking, the ambiance is wonderful. We went there 3 times and it was great every time. You have a choice of the restaurant and the pizzeria. Both are great! Once you've eaten you can hang out round a fire and finish your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katie p
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Emily Moon was so wonderful. From the service, food/wine to the views - everything was way above our expectations. We stayed here for our 2nd night driving the garden route and it was so hard to leave. They have two restaurants, two pools, and canoes to go out on the river with, walking trails and beautiful large rooms to relax...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Emily moon was part of our 3 week trip and we are so glad we stayed here. We loved everything about it. The accomadation spot on great facilities fantastic peaceful setting. The morning breakfasts outside relaxing great choice of food, the pre dinner drinks and the meals we had were first class along with the great service. It was our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank henrydoodle

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
4.9 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
482 reviews
7.3 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
624 reviews
9.5 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
212 reviews
1.6 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
67 reviews
5.7 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#3 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Where luxury and peace are to be found in a sweeping river valley. Where the views encompass a wetland, winding river and distant mountains and where the call of the Fish Eagle will forever remind you of the vast skies of Africa. Embracing the southern bank of the Bitou River in Plettenberg Bay, Emily Moon River Lodge is a small, exclusive lodge. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emily Moon River Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 1936 | Rietvlei Road, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 9,549 - ₹ 29,875 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Emily Moon River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Emily Moon River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emily Moon River Hotel Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Emily Moon River Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 7 is a comfortable two level family room with decks”
 of 5 bubbles JonB_SA, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we were in room 4 beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles PETERPAMEN75AG, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 was perfect for us.”
 of 5 bubbles kazfang, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have views”
 of 5 bubbles Josepino1313, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all of them are amazing!!”
 of 5 bubbles TDRoux, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay