We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Thanda Vista

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Thanda Vista
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 142: English reviews
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. They offered a very personal touch with great attention to details. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and served in a wonderful dining room overlooking the lagoon. As we were arriving on New Years Eve, they kindly recommended and booked a nice restaurant on our behalf.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicole K
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Nicole Many thanks for the review and we are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at Thanda Vista and Plettenberg Bay. Please come again some time in the future and make sure you book a room with a sea view! Kind regards JP and Petro

East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Top class property and hosts. JP and Petra you could not have made our stay in Plett any more pleasant. The service you both provide is undoubtedly above and beyond what we would have expected. JP your knowledge of Plett and the surrounding area is second to none and made our choice of what to see on our short visit...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Tom Many thanks for your kind review and we take proud in serving our guests to the best of our abilities. Very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and please come back again some time in the future! Kind regards JP and Petro

Centurion, South Africa
Reviewed 25 September 2016

What a special treat it was to stay at Thanda Vista. Every room, with it's own theme, is clean , well furnished with excellent quality bedding and towels. The hosts of Thanda Vista really go that extra mile for their guests,. The breakfast, served in the breakfast room with a beautiful view, is 5*****

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 627bettied
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Bettie Many thanks for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing Thanda Vista! Kind regards JP and Petro van der Walt

New York City, New York
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This was their winter period & unfortunately the heating system didn't work for 2 nights. Warm blankets& heater were provided. Electrical pblms happened so we don't fault them. JP & Petra did all the right things and we were very pleased with our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 305beverlyt
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear BJ and Carmen - New York! Yes, electrical problems sometimes happens at the wrong time but we were able to fix it! Thank you for staying with us and we really enjoyed your company! Hope you have a wonderful trip to Kenya in November. Kind regards JP and Petro

ayrshire
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We loved the Thanda Vista. Our hosts JP and Petro were magnificent and couldn't do enough for us during our short visit. A perfect place to stay and would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to all and sundry. Would certainly return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnboy56
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear John Bryce Many thanks for the kind review and it was a pleasure having you stay here at Thanda Vista. We look forward to again receiving you here sometime in the future and make your stay comfortable and full of enjoyment. Kind regards JP and Petro

Tullamore, Ireland
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I had the pleasure of staying in Thanda Vista B and B at the end of March 2016. My friends and I were travelling along the Garden Route and stayed here for 1 night. From the moment we arrived, we were extremely impressed with the location, facilities, rooms, owners JP and Petro and the breakfast the next morning really topped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank damienshealy
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Damien Reviews like yours just makes us determined to not only maintain the level of service but to also and always seek to improve where possible. Many thanks for staying with us and we hope you can make it again and then for more than 1 night! You were also great guests to host here at Thanda Vista! Kind...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016

a great location less than 500 metres from the beach in a very quiet and safe residential surrounding. The host JP went out of his way to provide options and ideas for our stay including two great restaurants!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank philiiplawrencew
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Phillip Thanks for your stay with us and the kind review. We are fortunate to have some very good restaurants in Plettenberg Bay and that you enjoyed dining at them. We are also glad to learn that the ideas and options we provided you with were fruitful. We hope to see you again some time in the future. Kind...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 4 April 2016

well located very friendly people. good quality and good value for your price well maintain house nice view bedroom very clean and well equipped some nice attention like a lint chocolate every day in your room too bad that you can not go to the main beach by walking but you have very easy access to the lagoon people are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jobgourgck
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Guests Many thanks for staying with us and we appreciate you giving us the kind review. It is also very satisfying when we hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We do serve breakfast earlier if the guest make a request. The 8h30 to 9h30 is the normal breakfast time. We trust that when you again visit...

Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in March 2016, everything about the place was fantastic. Amazing detail in everything. JP was a fantastic host. The highlight was the wonderful breakfast, made to order and even with Irish flags placed on the table for us. The choice at breakfast was great from cereal, lovely fruit salad, cold meats and made to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Aoife K
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Aoife Many thanks for your kind review. It was wonderful to have the Irish people staying with us and you were also great guests. We are very satisfied if we learn that our guests enjoy the efforts we put in to make their stay a memorable one. We trust that you also enjoyed the sky dive as much as...

Kingersheim, France
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The reception , the advises of JP to visiting, eating , the attention around the breakfast with our flag all services were perfect and the position near of the sea. No noise for good night Thank you JP and Petro

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rita D
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Rita Many thanks for your kind review and we are pleased that we could assist you in making your stay with us and in Plettenberg Bay, an enjoyable one. Kind regards JP and Petro

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
478 reviews
3.8 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
618 reviews
3.8 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
694 reviews
3.2 km away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
235 reviews
5.0 km away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#12 of 84 in Plettenberg Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 5,665 - ₹ 8,787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thanda Vista staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach View Room”
 of 5 bubbles haypet13, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are stunning”
 of 5 bubbles 827tinusl, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Request a Sea View Room.”
 of 5 bubbles Wrinkleytraveller, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are very comfortable but the sea view rooms with patio access would be my first choice . Also provide a large spacious guest lounge so that you have more than just your room to use.”
 of 5 bubbles 07887, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The area is suburban quiet so all rooms will be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertA105, 28 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay