We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thanda Vista

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Thanda Vista
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 140: English reviews
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2016

What a special treat it was to stay at Thanda Vista. Every room, with it's own theme, is clean , well furnished with excellent quality bedding and towels. The hosts of Thanda Vista really go that extra mile for their guests,. The breakfast, served in the breakfast room with a beautiful view, is 5*****

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 627bettied
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Bettie Many thanks for your kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing Thanda Vista! Kind regards JP and Petro van der Walt More 

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2016

This was their winter period & unfortunately the heating system didn't work for 2 nights. Warm blankets& heater were provided. Electrical pblms happened so we don't fault them. JP & Petra did all the right things and we were very pleased with our stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 305beverlyt
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear BJ and Carmen - New York! Yes, electrical problems sometimes happens at the wrong time but we were able to fix it! Thank you for staying with us and we really enjoyed your company! Hope you have a wonderful trip to Kenya in November. Kind regards JP and Petro More 

ayrshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016

We loved the Thanda Vista. Our hosts JP and Petro were magnificent and couldn't do enough for us during our short visit. A perfect place to stay and would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to all and sundry. Would certainly return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank johnboy56
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear John Bryce Many thanks for the kind review and it was a pleasure having you stay here at Thanda Vista. We look forward to again receiving you here sometime in the future and make your stay comfortable and full of enjoyment. Kind regards JP and Petro More 

Tullamore, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2016

I had the pleasure of staying in Thanda Vista B and B at the end of March 2016. My friends and I were travelling along the Garden Route and stayed here for 1 night. From the moment we arrived, we were extremely impressed with the location, facilities, rooms, owners JP and Petro and the breakfast the next morning really topped... More 

Helpful?
Thank damienshealy
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Damien Reviews like yours just makes us determined to not only maintain the level of service but to also and always seek to improve where possible. Many thanks for staying with us and we hope you can make it again and then for more than 1 night! You were also great guests to host here at Thanda Vista! Kind... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2016

a great location less than 500 metres from the beach in a very quiet and safe residential surrounding. The host JP went out of his way to provide options and ideas for our stay including two great restaurants!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank philiiplawrencew
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Phillip Thanks for your stay with us and the kind review. We are fortunate to have some very good restaurants in Plettenberg Bay and that you enjoyed dining at them. We are also glad to learn that the ideas and options we provided you with were fruitful. We hope to see you again some time in the future. Kind... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2016

well located very friendly people. good quality and good value for your price well maintain house nice view bedroom very clean and well equipped some nice attention like a lint chocolate every day in your room too bad that you can not go to the main beach by walking but you have very easy access to the lagoon people are... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jobgourgck
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Guests Many thanks for staying with us and we appreciate you giving us the kind review. It is also very satisfying when we hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We do serve breakfast earlier if the guest make a request. The 8h30 to 9h30 is the normal breakfast time. We trust that when you again visit... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night in March 2016, everything about the place was fantastic. Amazing detail in everything. JP was a fantastic host. The highlight was the wonderful breakfast, made to order and even with Irish flags placed on the table for us. The choice at breakfast was great from cereal, lovely fruit salad, cold meats and made to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Aoife K
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Aoife Many thanks for your kind review. It was wonderful to have the Irish people staying with us and you were also great guests. We are very satisfied if we learn that our guests enjoy the efforts we put in to make their stay a memorable one. We trust that you also enjoyed the sky dive as much as... More 

Kingersheim, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2016

The reception , the advises of JP to visiting, eating , the attention around the breakfast with our flag all services were perfect and the position near of the sea. No noise for good night Thank you JP and Petro

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rita D
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Rita Many thanks for your kind review and we are pleased that we could assist you in making your stay with us and in Plettenberg Bay, an enjoyable one. Kind regards JP and Petro More 

Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2016

The decor is very fresh and clean. We had a small balcony facing the sea. The balconies don't have any privacy, though, because there is no separation between the balconies for each room, but this was not very important. It's a short walk to the beach and a quick drive to the town center which has restaurants and anything else... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lizabeth H
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth Many thanks for your kind review. We are also very glad that we could contribute to making your stay a pleasant one and that you could enjoy what our B&B and Town presented you with. Kind regards JP and Petro More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2016

All our needs were met including the excellent breakfast and everyone was extremely helpful ordering taxis, explaining about local places to visit booking restaurants wonderful Thank you again Richard and Ruth Hoult

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank richardhL3598RR
ThandaVista, Owner at Thanda Vista, responded to this review

Dear Richard and Ruth Many thanks for your kind review. It is our aim to make sure that our guests are informed how to enjoy their stay with us and the activities presented by this area. We trust that when next you come to our town, you will again stay with us. Kind regards JP and Petro More 

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
1.4 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
463 reviews
3.8 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
590 reviews
5.0 km away
Sea Breeze
Sea Breeze
#9 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Milkwood Manor on Sea
Milkwood Manor on Sea
#6 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
671 reviews
3.2 km away
Bayside Lodge
Bayside Lodge
#3 of 85 in Plettenberg Bay
223 reviews
9.2 km away
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
Arch Rock Seaside Accommodation
#4 of 65 in Plettenberg Bay
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Thanda Vista is a Bed and Breakfast establishment, just minutes away from the white sandy beaches of Plettenberg Bay situated on South Africa’s Garden Route coast.Intimate, exclusive and private Thanda Vista offers 5 luxury en-suite bedrooms ( all with air-con, DSTV, bar fridge, mini safe, tea/coffee making facilities, etc. There is also a guest lounge with library, music centre and desk-top computer (with free Wi-Fi broadband internet access); a breakfast room with magnificent views of the Bay; roof-top terrace for fantastic whale watching; and on-site parking. Your hosts, long-time Plett residents JP and Petro van der Walt welcome you to Thanda Vista and they promise that, with their intimate knowledge of the area, you'll find there's so much to do you'll want to stay forever. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thanda Vista

Address: 8 Susan Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 5,598 - ₹ 8,361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thanda Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thanda Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Thanda Vista staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beach View Room”
 of 5 bubbles haypet13, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are stunning”
 of 5 bubbles 827tinusl, 6 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Request a Sea View Room.”
 of 5 bubbles Wrinkleytraveller, 5 Mar 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are very comfortable but the sea view rooms with patio access would be my first choice . Also provide a large spacious guest lounge so that you have more than just your room to use.”
 of 5 bubbles 07887, 4 Feb 2015 | Read review
“The area is suburban quiet so all rooms will be quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles RobertA105, 28 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay