We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Plettenberg Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Plettenberg Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

519 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 460: English reviews
Start your review of The Plettenberg Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel goes beyond 5 Star the staff are just wonderful and the location stunning, at the edge of a peninsula looking over a bay, where you see dolphins jumping the waves. The restaurant is great food stunning and the staff can't do enough for you. If you get offered the extended new part of the hotel take it it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona K
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fiona K Thank you for your review. I am delighted to to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to make each of our guest experience unique and it is lovely to read that we have managed to do that for you. We are very privileged to be situated in this glorious area...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night at The Plettenberg - too short - but we were on a whistle-stop tour to the area. Wow! What a memorable visit. From the minute we arrived the staff service was outstanding from the porter who took our bags to the friendly receptionist who greeted us. Our room had a beautiful view over the Bay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sallynewman958
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sallynewman958 Many thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us. One night is certainly not enough, but we are glad that you included us in your visit to the beautiful Garden Route area. It really means the world to us to receive such positive feedback about our teams. That surely motivates them to deliver...

Surrey,England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love this place. Sitting on the terrace looking over the bay is one the joys of life for us. We stayed for three nights, enjoying beautiful weather, in an environment that we love. From the moment of our arrival staff could not do enough for us. Their friendliness and good humour manifested itself in happy guests. Our room, overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spencer007
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spencer007 Thank you for writing a review for us. It was lovely to welcome you back. Everyone was happy to see you again and I am sure you were delighted to see the familiar faces. It is always great for our return guest to see our long service team members whom we value a lot. They love taking care...

london
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for 3 night whilst touring south Africa. We did change rooms as first room was to small. Second room was much more spacious. We paid another £250 extra but was worth it. The view from our room was spectacular. Over looking the beach. We were even lucky enough to see dolphins. The food was very good. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfarkley
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sfarkley Thank you for writing such a lovely review. All guest feedback is very important to us. It helps us to monitor our standards and to enhance our service. We are so lucky so be situated in this location. Our views are amazing. We offer various room type categories and I am glad we were able to accommodate you...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous room, large comfortable bed, free mini bar and wifi. Food was excellent as were the staff. The views of the ocean and beach were stunning. Lovely walks along the beach and a great bar/restaurant nearby called the Lookout. A nice walk into the town or short taxi ride, where you will find various shops and restaurants

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sharonmmr
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sharonmmr Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It was our pleasure to look after you. Our aim is to make every guest experience special and we want you to leave with fond memories. Many thanks for your lovely feedback about the team, our service, our beautiful rooms and the rest...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on our recent visit through the Garden Route. The hotel was amazing, beautifully decorated with very attentive staff. We ate at the hotel one night and had room service on another as we were so tired after a trek across the Robberg Nature Reserve (would recommend) and on both occasions the food was exceptional...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah G
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Leah G Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. I am delighted to read that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. The Garden Route is still very much undiscovered, so please tell your friends and family about this beautiful part of South Africa. Plettenberg Bay is beautiful and boasts with pristine beaches and...

Christchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had booked a sea view room in this hotel and were not disappointed. The room on a corner had magnificent views of the beach and because it was on a corner then had extra windows which let the light in. The large room had a sitting area plus bedroom area which was spacious and very comfortable. The light furniture...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SRFlyer
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SRFlyer Thank you for writing a review for us. It is lovely to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We want every guest of ours to leave The Plettenberg with the most wonderful and unforgettable experience. Our rooms are beautiful, we are very proud of our product. Every room is individually decorated. It is decorated to...

Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights and totally loved this hotel. It was great as it wasn't too big and we were made to feel very welcome on arrival with a grootbos iced tea. Our room wasn't quite ready so we decided to sit out by the pool for half an hour - and, the view didn't disappoint - WOW! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catmoo
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Catmoo Thank you for writing such a glowing review for us. I am delighted to read that you had a good stay with us. Our little gem has the perfect location in Plettenberg Bay. There are panoramic views from most places. The views are breathtaking. It looks onto the most beautiful beaches on the Garden Route. Rightfully so as...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I have stayed here a couple of times before over the past 5 years. We had 3 nights there this time and this hotel never seems to deviate from the high standards that it sets itself. It was our wedding anniversary (39) and I booked a super room in the suite section across the road from reception...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian B Thank you for writing such a glowing review. It was lovely to look after you and thank you for choosing to share your special occasion with us. I am sure more memories were created and that it will encourage you to keep on returning to us. Our little gem is very special and has the perfect location....

Bedfordshire, England
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for three nights at the end of February. On arrival we negotiated an upgrade to a suite, which was wonderful, but even our initial room was beautiful. We had a fantastic view of two beaches and the staff could not have been better, everything was spot on. The manager, Mr Birch could be seen each morning circulating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anon-Beds
MJBirch, General Manager at The Plettenberg Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anon-Beds Thank you very much for writing such a glowing review. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The Plettenberg has the most stunning views in the area. The Garden Route is a special place. We are fortunate enough to be situated closely to two of the most pristine beaches in the area....

244 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (228)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.9 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
507 reviews
2.6 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
665 reviews
1.7 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
791 reviews
9.4 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
Grand Africa Cafe & Rooms
#6 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Plettenberg - situated on a rocky headland in Africa's most spectacular coastal resort - is the ultimate escape. The 37 luxury rooms and suites, showcase the most breathtaking vistas in Southern Africa. With views of the ocean, mountains and endless stretches of golden beach, The Plettenberg is situated in the heart of the adventure-rich Garden Route, world-renowned for its excellent selection of outdoor activities. From regular dolphin and whale sightings to bungee jumping, treetop canopy tours and other more daring pursuits in the surrounding countryside. The Plettenberg is the ideal place to both relax and unwind - or recharge and reinvigorate - through a series of sensational endeavours. At The Plettenberg the charming service, exceptional cuisine, which is overseen by The Collection by Liz McGrath’s Grand Chef, Peter Tempelhoff, and the setting combine to create the ultimate story, one of a South African seaside property unlike any other. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Plettenberg Hotel

Address: Garden Route 40 Church Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 12,702 - ₹ 31,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Plettenberg Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Plettenberg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Plettenberg Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Wyoming

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Plettenberg Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a sea view room, corner rooms have great space”
 of 5 bubbles SRFlyer, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view!”
 of 5 bubbles Catmoo, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the ground the ground floor open are at the side of the pool”
 of 5 bubbles 722elainem, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get the best you can afford, the best views are from the blue wing. If you can get room 56, it's brilliant”
 of 5 bubbles annebgg, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“choose a room in the original hotel for space.”
 of 5 bubbles rosemarykelly2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5