We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Robberg Beach Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Robberg Beach Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

661 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 543: English reviews
Start your review of The Robberg Beach Lodge
 Click to rate
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Gorgeous location on the beach. We didn't have sea view but lounge does which is lovely to sit in. No dining facilities but reception recommend restaurants and book a taxi (R85) Try Ndundu African restaurant. All staff at Robberg are helpful. Superb breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen594
Dublin
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here on our honeymoon route of the Garden route. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who talked us through things to do in Plettenberg and recommended places we could go and eat. The view from of the beach from the lounge is beautiful and we were lucky to spot some dolphins. We were in a suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tcgw
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge, and for choosing to make us part of such a special occasion! We are grateful for your feedback on what we are doing right, as well as where you feel we need to improve within our facilities at the lodge. Please...

Edinburgh, Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights & this was an excellent choice. Directly across from a fantastic beach. Suite was huge with sea views. Breakfast was lovely. Wifi...real hit & miss. Only gripe is the honesty bars. This is a strange one... if you are going to have this concept then you need to provide the alcohol. We went to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gyle
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the beachfront location of our lodge and that you were happy with your accommodation during your stay to. Thank you for your feedback on the WiFi signal and stock in the honesty...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the management is absolutely not capable to run a hotel, the receptionist had such a low level of intelligence, it was a desaster to receive the invoice after 3 days. There is no inspection about room safety regarding broken switches, non functionin lamps and dirty floor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 929horsts
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge and for your valuable feedback on where we urgently need to improve within our management and service. Please accept our apologies for these inconveniences and that you have not experienced the 5-star quality we strive for. We hope that you have traveled home safely and...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was the most expensive place we stayed at on our holiday touring around South Africa and was the least satisfactory of them all. The room we had originally booked was described as sea facing, which may have been correct, but the view of the sea was obscured. However, we were given an upgrade to allow a family to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ew25
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us on your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. Please accept our apologies for not receiving the 5-star service and quality we strive for a our hotel. We are grateful that you have brought these details to our attention to work on, to avoid our guests...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you are lucky enough to book one of the rooms looking towards the beach you will be getting a really tremendous view. We were not so fortunate (our fault we did not ask) and found ourselves in the Cottage Pie a slightly forgotten part of the development hidden well below and behind the building set high up. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LordBurnden
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your experience with us at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate your feedback on what you feel we are doing right, as well as where you feel we need to improve on our guests experience in future. We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with your accommodation during...

Buckinghamshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is currently in need of some serious new management. It is clearly not a 5 * lodge as advertised. The location is excellent but the property is looking very tired, the pool is small and the facilities poor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank HartsBuckinghamshire
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. Our management team at The Robberg has recently seen some changes and we look forward to seeing the positive results that will follow. We hope that you will be back to visit in future to experience in how we run our hotel. Best wishes, The...

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we had booked a suite and were quite disappointed with the room, after heavy complaints we managed to get a better room on the day after. This room was spacious and nicely designed with a poor view.The hotel itself is an addition of several buildings surrounding a big parking lot. The outdoor breakfast terrace is charmless with plastic chairs facing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bebedikta12
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at The Robberg Beach Lodge. We appreciate your valuable feedback on where you feel we need to improve to ensure our guests to not leave feeling disappointed in future. We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again in future to experience...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a wonderful restful stay from top quality breakfasts, fabulous staff and service and a luxurious room, we cannot wait to return. A stone throw from the beach and a lovely pool to cool down in,which can be accompanied by a cold drink from the honesty bar. There was round the clock complimentary filter coffee available and water, which is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A6987TXashleyt
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed every second of your luxury seaside experience at The Robberg Beach Lodge. It warms our hearts to hear that our incredible staff and service has been a highlight for you as you look back on your stay, as excellent and friendly service is...

Plettenberg Bay
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a treat to be steps to the water and having breakfast on the front deck in the morning. The breakfast dining was quite good, too! Get the eggs benny full meal. You will no't regret it! Rooms were wonderful. So clean it gives you the cosmopolitan feel at the beach!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stezo_15
100roaringlions, Owner at The Robberg Beach Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed every second of your luxury seaside experience at The Robberg and that you were satisfied with your accommodation too. We appreciate your positive feedback on our breakfast spread too! We hope that we will have the pleasure of seeing you again in future,...

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
2:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.6 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
518 reviews
5.7 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
506 reviews
9.1 km away
Hunter's Country House
Hunter's Country House
#2 of 2 in Harkerville
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
Plettenberg Park Hotel & Spa
#8 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
131 reviews
1.9 km away
Beacon Island Resort
Beacon Island Resort
#4 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
787 reviews
7.4 km away
Plett River Lodge
Plett River Lodge
#9 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set right at the middle of Robberg Beach in Plettenberg Bay, The Robberg Beach Lodge offers twenty-nine rooms in four adjacent villas in a remarkable location. With our wandering garden pathways, two pools, two guest lounges, two honesty bars, and spectacular rooftop terrace, we offer a luxurious and tranquil accommodation experience right on the beach. We welcome children of all ages (book a Suite to enjoy reduced rates for children sharing)and we just love making romantic memories for couples. And don't worry if you've just broken up with your boyfriend: solo travellers get a single-occupancy discount. With its 29 rooms, the Robberg can also cater for larger groups. Our family has been gathering here for nearly twenty years, and we're proud to be able to share our special place with you. Set at the heart of the world-famous Garden Route, Plett is a must for all travellers in South Africa. Its ever-changing sky and seascapes, the unspoilt beauty of its lagoons and beaches, its great restaurants & coffee shops and fabulous nature reserves and sanctuaries will soon have you booking your return trip. Look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Robberg Beach Lodge

Address: 89 Beachy Head Drive, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 3,665 - ₹ 16,625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Robberg Beach Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Robberg Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Plettenberg Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Paisley, United Kingdom
Spokane, Washington
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Robberg Beach Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not all rooms have beach views so ask on arrival”
  • Bedroom in our suite
  • Balcony area, beware of the ants
  • Lounge area in our suite
 of 5 bubbles tcgw, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“seaview might be okay, the poolside garden rooms are very run down”
  • puplic toilette at the pool
 of 5 bubbles Bebedikta12, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The two suites in Cottage Pie are very nice but no sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 619mrss, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a sea view”
 of 5 bubbles janetony2015, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No lifts, some rooms have sea views.”
 of 5 bubbles vap88, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5