We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

26 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 24: English reviews
Cambridge
Reviewed 19 May 2015

We stayed two nights and used it as a great base to tour the area from. We had a separate chalet room etc from the main house. Breakfasts were awsome and plenty of it. The lodge itself has a great history with lots of rooms full of original family items. We had one evening meal there where every guest sat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scoobyCambridge
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Very neat, clean and had all what was necessary. Lovely and close to shops, beach and town. Only downside was that the DSTV and gate weren't working. Otherwise, definitely recommend Luna Lodge!!!!!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicci W
Gauteng
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The worst place in Plett - A backpackers is better ! For the amount paid (R1500.00), the 4 star status was a shocker! We waited to be checked in by incompetent youngsters. Our TV /DSTV didn't work and was removed the next day! The fan never worked until we asked. There was NO cold water! Try a scalding hot shower...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlexiNorvall
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked this room only viewing the rating on booking.com - BIG mistake. A quick look on the ratings here on TripAdvisor would have helped us make the decision Not to book Luna Lodge. It is NOT value for money (we payed 1500 rand per night) during peak season... For a family room with shared lounge, kitchen and terrace. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johannajaakola
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We arrived at Luna Lodge, only to wait 15 minutes for the owner to arrive. He was extremely rude! He informed us that a clearner would come to clean the place the next morning - never pitched. When I called him he put the phone down on me. For the amount we paid, was the worst place to stay. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Don P
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Maputo, Mozambique
Reviewed 5 January 2014

You need to have something in mind when going to Luna Lodge: you will be on your own. We only saw the manager once, when we arrived. But the apartment is big and well equipped. The location is also very good for those who wants to explore the Garden Route, as it is very close to N2, and also close...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LigiaLr
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

kzn
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

It started of by hooting at the gate and no one answering , then finding out that unit did not lock .then no one came to clean unit for 2 days that i stayed . The was no one at the unit to complaint to .and when i phone the owner to complaint he only had excuse for every thing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roadtripper003
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Chennai, India
Reviewed 27 November 2013

It really depends on what you are looking for. In Luna Lodge we had great privacy, a studio apartment kind of room with a kitchen and a spacious bath room. However during our stay we never saw the host. Even when we checked out we just left the keys in the room and drove off. But for the amount you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohit_1801
Cape Town
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On arrival the luna lodge was all locked up and no-one there . Tourist office rang the owner who I spoke to but he rudely put the phone down mid sentence.finally gained access to our rooms at 5 p.m. No sign of the owner or an apology. Broken floor tiles in both rooms. No key for one room. T.V. not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard H
Karin B, Owner at Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay, responded to this review

As owners of the property, we apologise for the bad experience you had at Luna Lodge. The property had been rented by Mr Thys Badenhorst, who managed the property as a Lodge for his own pocket. A thorough background check prior to signing a contract with him did not ring alarm bells and we had no control over his deplorable...

Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Good day, We found the room quite nice and the self catering idea was what we wanted - but after all the smell of the room was terrible and the floor was dirty..... The gas hob was not clean at all.... Regards,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jaap D

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
6.4 km away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
470 reviews
1.1 km away
The Plettenberg Hotel
The Plettenberg Hotel
#2 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
464 reviews
3.2 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 14 in Plettenberg Bay
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
The Dunes Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Keurboomstrand
308 reviews
12.8 km away
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
Hog Hollow Country Lodge
#2 of 9 in The Crags
583 reviews
10.5 km away
Tamodi Lodge
Tamodi Lodge
#1 of 9 in The Crags
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay

Address: 6 Leslie Street, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 10,210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Luna Lodge Plettenberg Bay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room on the upper floor to obtain sea view. But really, rather go somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles johannajaakola, 6 Jan 2014 | Read review
“Make sure you leave nothing in your room when you go out for the day!”
 of 5 bubbles 860walterd, 26 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Try to stay on the top floor as I am sure the views are better.”
 of 5 bubbles KirstyD664, 14 Apr 2013 | Read review
“dont book the Family Room - due to the shower. I think the other room on the floor (not family room, only double bed) had a shower. :)”
 of 5 bubbles vmizorov, 3 Mar 2013 | Read review
“Book elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles JamesP551, 27 Nov 2011 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay