We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 163: English reviews
East London, South Africa
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Such a chilled, relaxed and friendly environment. The rooms are clean and the staff go the extra mile to look after the guests. The shared entertainment area and kitchen are well equipped and are great for meeting other guests or just chilling on your own. Will definitely be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 486rosea
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Thanks for the pleasant comments. I will pass this on to our staff who will be pleased to know that their efforts are appreciated. Regards Dave Swart

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Hi, The set-up and location of your place is right. We stayed in the Tradoux place. When we got there, the first thing I saw was a cockroach on the wall, not nice at all. The bedding was dirty(dirt marks on the pillows and sheets), the cupboards especially where the bin was in....filthy to say the least, the utensils and...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brandelinew
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Brandeline All I can say is that I am shocked! I certainly hope that you pointed it out to the staff that were on duty. I wish that you had called me at the time - my number is displayed in a sign asking guests to call me with any issues. This room should not be in that state...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Of all the places we stayed this was the quietest by far. This could have just been because those two mid-week days or because of its slightly outdated nature. However rooms are big, warm and clean. Staff are friendly and the beach / Main Street 5-15 min walk so location is good. A fire is lit in the afternoon /...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Ben Thanks for your comments. Please clarify for me what you mean by 'dated' and what you would like to see that is different. The reason for this question is that during the course of last year we made a number of changes to the rooms and 2 months ago painted the main house so would like an indication...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Lovely friendly staff. Very helpful. Great apartment. Great discounts on activities. Our weekend away was very relaxing and calm just what we needed. Amakaya backpackers was definitely a great stay. Would definitely recommend it to everyone. Great price as well. Thumbs up guys

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank alyssas458
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Alyssa Good to hear that the break with us was relaxing as you expected. Look forward to hosting you again. PS - next time try our wine tour accommodation packages on our specials page of the website. Regards Dave Swart

Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

My girlfriend and I have just spent the last three nights at Amakaya Backpackers. The overall experience was amazing. The cleanliness of the place was good. The staff were so so welcoming and accommodating. Olivia, Jason and Donoa (Hopefully spelled that correctly) were so friendly. Last minute bookings were not a problem, Olivia took it into her own hands and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
DaveSwart1, Manager at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Darren Thanks for all the accolades and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experiences in Plett. The early morning 'staff chatter' has been addressed with them. Sometimes in getting started with the daily routine it can happen that they do not realise that some of our guests may still be relaxing. We appreciate this feedback because...

Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Outstanding service and staff very friendly and very helpful. Will definitely recommend Amakaya to anyone looking for accommodation in Plett . Thanks to all and will definitely be using Amakaya in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank designingcabinets
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for the encouraging comments. Look forward to hosting you again. Regards Dave Swart

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Me and a couple of friends headed up the Garden Route for a road trip, and stayed at Amakaya for two nights. This is probably THE best backpackers in Western Cape - if not all of the East Coast. Very affordable, friendly staff, central location and all around great atmosphere. One thing I would mention is that the should look...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Reinhardt9108
DaveSwart1, Owner at Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, responded to this review

Hello Reinhardt Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand that you stayed in out Groot Rivier dorm. We have not previously had complaints about the water pressure in this in this dorm but will check it. Thanks for letting us know about this. Regards Dave Swart

Cape Town
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Beautiful place set in the heart of plettenburg baai. The bunk rooms are equipped with their own bathroom. There is a common room with TV and fireplace, and a bar upstairs attached to an open deck. Affordable for groups and families. Free breakfast. Beautiful views of the bay from the deck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannahk191
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We had a really nice 2 night stay here, wish we could have stayed longer. They cater for backpakers really well with clean shared bathrooms, good kitchen facilities and good communal area and wifi. Also great that they supply a free simple breakfast of eggs, toast and tea which is perfect to start the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We stayed at Amakaya the night before and after the trail. Amakaya organised transport for us as part of the package to and from the trail. The package was decently priced (the transport was not particularly cheap but was still good value, and the drivers were friendly and helpful) The staff at Amakaya are very friendly and helpful. They are...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jordan B

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
4:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plettenberg Bay hotels
2.3 km away
The Robberg Beach Lodge
The Robberg Beach Lodge
#5 of 13 in Plettenberg Bay
676 reviews
0.3 km away
Albergo for Backpackers
Albergo for Backpackers
#16 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
105 reviews
0.2 km away
Backpacker Apartments
Backpacker Apartments
#51 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
Nothando Backpackers Lodge
#8 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
184 reviews
3.6 km away
African Array Lodge
African Array Lodge
#11 of 67 in Plettenberg Bay
233 reviews
0.9 km away
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
Plett Beachfront Accommodation
#22 of 81 in Plettenberg Bay
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments, your 'home away from home.' We will make your stay as comfortable and as enjoyable as possible and help you with as much information as we can about the local activities and attractions. Exchange experiences with fellow travellers and keep in touch with family and friends. Enjoy a complimentary wi-fi and internet facilities,coffee and tea at both Amakaya Backpackers and Amakaya Backpacker Apartments. Amakaya Backpackers is not perfect, however is a clean, friendly and homely place where you can relax after an exhilarating day in the area. We have hot showers (electric and gas), relaxed atmosphere and comfortable beds. Sip on a drink at our upstairs bar while you relax on the veranda and take in the view of the Tsitsikamma Mountains, the lagoon and the sea. We are a 300m walk to the shops, restaurants and bars of Plettenberg Bay's Main Street and 800m from the popular Central Beach (beware of the steep uphill walk back that will certainly build up an appetite and thirst!). For the 'private' traveller or those who want some 'me' time, our range of double and twin private rooms (each with its own TV) and 2 sleeper private dorm is just what you need. For those who do not mind sharing we have a selection of standard and en-suite dorms that sleep 2, 4, 6 and 8 guests respectively. All guests have the use of our fully-equipped kitchen facilities, free tea & coffee, wi-fi, a sitting room to read or watch TV/DVDs and an upstairs bar with outside balcony. Parking is on the premises and is accessed by an electric gate. Amakaya Backpacker Apartments - situated 200m from Amakaya Backpackers and 100m from Main Street. Each apartment has its own entrance, kitchen, bathroom, satellite TV, free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments

Address: 15 Park Lane, Plettenberg Bay 6600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Plettenberg Bay
Price Range: ₹ 1,491 - ₹ 2,788 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Amakaya Backpackers & Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The 8 bed dorm with the kitchenette was suitable as a family room”
KarinSmidt, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Staying one of their Apartments gives you a sense of privacy which you don't experience in every backpackers.”
ionacharter, 9 Jun 2016 | Read review
“They have spacious dorms, we stayed in a twin bedroom though as the price was just great.”
klinkie, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“all was good for stay, dstv, bar, central”
islandstyle2014, 23 Dec 2014 | Read review
“We chose the double suite for 30 us a night, private deck, private bathroom, tv, view! Excellent value!”
878ianj, 2 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5