The Bannister Hotel

The Bannister Hotel

9 De Beer Street, Braamfontein Johannesburg, Braamfontein 2001 South Africa
Traveller (46)
Dining (26)
Room & Suite (19)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#1 of 2 hotels in Braamfontein
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Bannister Hotel is an independant, luxury-budget hotel in Braamfontein, Johannesburg. Across Mandela Bridge from the inner-city, the district is one of the most exciting area of Johannesburg for artists, foodies (we are opposite The Neighbourgoods Market), hipsters, musicians, academics & many of Joburg's corporate and government head offices. The hotel and our restaurant and bar are casual, warm and welcoming, a second home to our regular guests. If you are seeking the exciting experience that Johnnesburg and it's people can be, The Bannister Hotel is the key to unlocking the true vibrancy of the Africa's most 'woke' city. There are a number of great bars and places to eat in the immediate neighbourhood. We are also close several galleries, theaters, museums & the cities transport networks.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Bicycle tours
Evening entertainment
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Walking tours
Nightclub / DJ
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Walk-in shower
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
City view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Afrikaans, Portuguese and 2 more

Location

9 De Beer Street, Braamfontein Johannesburg, Braamfontein 2001 South Africa
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 77 out of 100
77
Johannesburg Intl Airport
22.5 km
See all flights
Lanseria Airport
30.4 km
See all flights
274Reviews8Q+A13Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 52
  • 91
  • 75
  • 29
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
ranton453003 wrote a review Dec 2020
Johannesburg, South Africa
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The beds were very comfortable, but a bit too high for a short person.
The R25 service charge from the hotel's restaurant when you order food from your room is ridiculous.
The breakfast is underwhelming and service is very slow. Other than that, the hotel served its purpose for my stay.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
carolh wrote a review Mar 2024
Kenya
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The reception and the staff are wonderful. The breakfast is also great considering that it is part of the accomodation costs. This is a no frills hotel in the middle of a very vibrant part of the city. The noise levels are high during the night due to the surrounding area. Very close to the hop on hop off bus stop. If you are a tourist, you could consider this. I loved my stay at the Bannister.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Bannister, Owner at The Bannister Hotel
Responded 24 Mar 2024
Good day Thank you very much for the review , we really appreciate it. We hope to be of service to you again on your next visit in SA.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
honesty708 wrote a review Apr 2023
Johannesburg, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Great hotel to live in, friendly staff, and a lovely breakfast offering.

However, your toiletry offering can be improved with the addition of a toothbrush and tooth paste: had to visit the neighbouring Pick 'n Pay for these.

Have the complete 'hotel' experience.

Lastly, supply the relevant info in regards to contacting the reception, can you get food/beverages from the bar brought to your room - this was not communicated by the friendly staff.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alice Rowe, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel
Responded 11 Apr 2023
Thank you so much for your review: we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your advice: We will certainly look into having emergency toiletry supplies available at the reception. You should definitely have known you could order room service - I will take this up with staff. We look forward to hosting you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sonnia W wrote a review Feb 2023
Cape Town Central, South Africa
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I would recommend The Bannister Hotel to anyone. The staff and service is brilliant. We booked 3 rooms.
I kept on emailing one of the staff members, Amin, to make sure if everything is in order before flying from Cape Town and he was always helpful.
When arriving the lady at front desk, Nomonde Manci, welcomed us. We were very early for check in but she assured us that our rooms will be first priority. In the meantime she kept our luggage safe while we took a drive to Gold Reef City that about 8minutes away from the hotel. Later when we checked in she got one of the staff members to help us with the luggage. The hotel and rooms was very clean. Beds, bedding and towels was clean too. Each room has a TV. Later the evening we sat in the courtyard surrounded by plants. Quite peaceful. The bar at restaurant played music. It didn't bother me because it was quite pleasant and maybe because I was tired. I slept very well thanks to the wonderful beds. The next morning Chef Trinity came to our table and chatted to us to say that he will prepare us breakfast which we also enjoyed. Just a pity our stay was short but I will definitely go back for stay soon. Maybe just something small that I can recommend is that the hotel must maybe get a bar fridge in each room. Thank you so much for your excellent service Bannister Hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ppt04022016 wrote a review Oct 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
To the manager?

Can you please try to put even a small fridge in each room, sometimes we bought our drinks but still don't know were to put our beverages. I personally don't hang around in the bar. Otherwise, Bannister employee are friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tour26568094844 wrote a review Mar 2021
Pretoria, South Africa
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The Room was very clean and well decorated, just feels a bit too cramped. The bed was very comfortable. Great bar/club and a great location. The breakfast was good. The parking needs an easier access to the hotel, and maybe needs guards. But overall a great stay at the Bannister hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
tramgo245208 wrote a review Jun 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Small room with the beds very high. I cancelled my stay but i was not refunded. I even asked for 1/2 the amount and the said no. The reason being they have to pay booking.com. There was no jug in the room, but they did bring one. I did not really feel safe and my mum being a pensioner could not even climb on the bed it was so high.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Alice Rowe, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel
Responded 26 Jun 2023
You chose a cheaper, smaller room rather than a more expensive, larger room. Our front desk manager showed you the room before you checked in. You and your mom made yourselves comfortable, and after about an hour or so you told our manager that your mom was ill and you needed to check out. You were offered another night's stay instead of a refund, since you had used the room. You were collected, it seems, by friends or family. You took all the complimentary tea/coffee/sugar from the coffee station provided to you. No mention of bed height was made by you. No mention of feeling unsafe. Please be accurate when reviewing - it's the right thing to do!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
markspita2 wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I received the best service. The stuff was OK. However, I was disappointed to see many foreigner national employed by the hotel. I would like to see South Africans working in the hotel because those jobs are not specialized.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Petersferns wrote a review Oct 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Overall good staff, friendly and helpful. Being a weekend stay, we could not sleep well due to the local weekend celebration. Would request for electric kettle in the room for preparation of tea or coffee.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Andrew Bannister, Owner at The Bannister Hotel
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Hi Peterferns Thank you very much for staying with us and taking your time to write your review,We appreciate. We would like to apologize with the weekend celebration ,We do provide coffee station upon request if you booked a room with no coffee station. Thank you very much once again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
szulu334614 wrote a review Mar 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I think there is a lot of improvement expected start from the rooms and going to the kitchen the breakfast was not nice .Bathroom as well need to be improved I wasn't comfortable to spend three more nights after the first three nights I spent. My stay wasn't great at all .In photos yes it looks great but when I arrived I saw something else .
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: February 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Caesar Ndivhuho N asked a question Nov 2022
Johannesburg, South Africa
R there escorts around there
a0bakwe asked a question Apr 2017
Gaborone, Botswana1 contribution
how do guests react to delayed check in caused by the hotel its self
Answer from andrewb-6
Johannesburg, South Africa2 contributions
Hi Thats not a problem we normally have. It has happened when the laundry was delivered late. If it happens the front desk should explain and offer them a coffee. Did you have such a problem?
Answer from mondemanci
Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Morning John We have Newtown Junction a kilometer away, however I would recommend Rosebank Mall, which is 7.4km away. It has a wide variety of shops catering to all needs. We dont have our own airport shuttle, however you can download the Uber app, which is very reasonable and reliable. Alternatively, we can give you the number of a reliable cab driver.
michellejD3704TD wrote a tip Apr 2019
Durban, South Africa13 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and request a middle room away from the noisy street below"
Read full review
SriniShenoy wrote a tip Oct 2018
Bengaluru, India298 contributions60 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go higher!"
Read full review
sammy_atta wrote a tip Nov 2016
Tema, Ghana1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"choose Room 210 or rooms on the second or third floor"
Read full review
Imogen S wrote a tip Sept 2016
Sunnyvale, California4 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a room in the quiet zone if you are noise sensitive"
Read full review
Accomplishment wrote a tip Aug 2016
Lagos, Portugal71 contributions31 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Great location for backpackers"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Braamfontein area.
PRICE RANGE
₹3,091 - ₹3,842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
South AfricaGautengGreater JohannesburgBraamfontein
NUMBER OF ROOMS
43
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE BANNISTER HOTEL (Braamfontein, Greater Johannesburg) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Bannister Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Bannister Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Playground (0.05 km), The Joburg Theatre (0.5 km), and Neighbour Goods Market (0.07 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Bannister Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at The Bannister Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a refrigerator, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at The Bannister Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Bannister Hotel?
Yes, secured parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Bannister Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Galata Bakery, The Smokehouse and Grill, and The Raj.
Is The Bannister Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Braamfontein.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Bannister Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Bannister Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Bannister Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, Portuguese, Afrikaans, Zulu, and Xhosa.
Are there any historical sites close to The Bannister Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Constitution Hill Human Rights Precinct (1.0 km), Johannesburg Fort (1.4 km), and Nelson Mandela Foundation (5.5 km).
All Braamfontein HotelsBraamfontein Hotel DealsHotels near The Bannister Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire