We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Hill Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Hill Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunset Hill Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 110: English reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I had done research prior to arrival and by the rave reviews of others I opted for this pension. Gerard was great with communication - absolutely no complaints about him - very accommodating. But, I'm sorry, my studio was crawling with bugs: Bathroom, walls, ceilings, BED...I did not feel comfortable here whatsoever. I have stayed in hotels ranging all budgets,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Katy N
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

I keep in the garden a little modest bungalow because there are customers who can not afford a stay in the hotels in Bora Bora 1000 € per night or more ...So for 40 € you have a small but very clean bungalow with every comfort, just have look to other comments.... That said, we have to do with a...

Finland
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I stayed in Studio #3 for 8 nights. This particular studio had recently been rebuilt totally so it is light and bright and fresh. Nice little kitchen (well equipped with kitchen utensils etc), bathroom with a nice shower and really comfortable bed. The studio is located on the upper floor so the views were across the lagoon and Vaitape area....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pia_at_seas
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

Not so fair...

Gjakova, Kosovo
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Staying on Sunset Hill Lodge was really a good experience and I am happy that we have chosen it. Everything was perfectly clean and in order like I want to be. Really adored that the staff took care of us and were so polite and kind. Thank you for the good services.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dafinakajtazi
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 June 2016

We just got back from our trip and were so happy that we stayed at Sunset Hill Lodge. The apartment is spacious with a kitchen, bedroom, and patio right on the lagoon. The apartment was extremely clean, and decorated with bright paint and Polynesian accents. We felt completely safe and well taken care of by Gerard the owner. He picked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin080
Reviewed 16 June 2016

This isn’t your average luxurious, exclusive Bora Bora resort. But in my eyes it’s much better. It’s run by Gerard who is extremely helpful and friendly with whatever you need - nothing is too much trouble and his little dog Fifi is adorable. We stayed in one of his apartments by the water which had everything we needed, including a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Reviewed 27 May 2016 via mobile

We were picked up from the warf by Gerard and his friendly dog. We stayed two nights in a bungalow on the hill side. There is a kitchenette and an outside shower corner with a very nice design. The panoramic view is gorgeous. The lodge is very close to the warf and to the shops. We used the free bikes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniella D
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 May 2016 via mobile

I only stayed there one night to load up on snacks and alcohol before going to one of the resorts in Bora Bora. Gérard is an awesome host. Picked us up from the ferry station and drove us to the hotel. He is a genuine, caring man that goes out of his way to help his guests.he took us to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MichelleATL2013
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 26 April 2016

The houseis well equiped and allow the guests to live as in home . The location is good, in front of the ocean, close to the Marina , supermarkets, restaurants and even some local food trucks. Some bicicles are available for he guests free of charge. Mr. Gerard is very friendly and help the guests to find the best attractions...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roberto M
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 5 February 2016

We spent three days in a nice, simple apartment right on the waterfront. Gérard was very friendly and the recommended full-day lagoon tour was a great experience. The complimentary use of canoes and bikes was a nice feature. The apartment was very clean, comfortable and the well-equiped kitchen made cooking easy. Sunset Hill Lodge is located in walking-distance to Vaitape...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rattlesnake_ch
New York City, New York
Reviewed 28 January 2016

Fantastic hotel, nice food, price good. This is second time we chose this hotel and really we love it. Can feel like stay at home, freely, comfortable and happy. Its a very nice hotel when travelling with families. Its great!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mateusz G

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.7 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
4.4 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
5.6 km away
Blue Heaven Island lodge
Blue Heaven Island lodge
#15 of 17 in Bora Bora
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
5.6 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,461 reviews
5.9 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Furnished accommodations close to Vaitape's village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Lodge

Address: BP 58 Vaitape | Lewards Islands, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range: ₹ 6,533 - ₹ 9,800 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunset Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bora Bora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Hill Lodge staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Hill Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the second floor room, it has the best view”
161kasn, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We liked the waterfront rooms”
mcclegg52, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You might want to make sure when booking if you'll be in the house next to the lagoon or up on the hill with the seaside views.”
dreiumdiewelt, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room, bottom floor, was great!”
robertpU7225UZ, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the rooms at the water have a view”
Nomadedelux, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5