We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Hill Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sunset Hill Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

249 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We called Gerard from the ferry at the airport and he was waiting for us upon our arrival to the main island of Bora Bora. He was very helpful in showing us were to rent a scooter and local markets to visit. We found the room very modest but clean and well taken care of. We enjoyed sitting out on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kas N
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gerard offers free pickup from the harbor and he even washed or clothes (one load) for free, I don't think you get this elsewhere in Bora Bora! Its a 15 min walk to the town center, ~ 7min to the nearest supermarket. But all tour operators pick you up in front of the lodge. We did snorkeling with Tohora Bora...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stef K
San Diego, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent two weeks on Bora Bora and it was one our best vacations ever. The first week was in the upstairs waterfront apartment at the Sunset Hill lodge. We were very happy with the accommodations which were clean, spacious and comfortable. We were happy to be within walking distance of the town, grocery store and bank. We enjoyed beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcclegg52
Germany
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed in one of the apartments up the hill for four nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Our host Gérard was extremely helpful, picked us up at the ferry and offered to take us (and pick us up again) to Matira Beach. The apartment is fully furnished with a great kitchen. Great and comfortable terrace with view to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dreiumdiewelt
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed in the downstairs waterfront apartment which was very clean and quite large. Gerard was great...he arranged for a scooter rental as well as a fabulous lagoon tour. He picked us up at the ferry and dropped us off when it was time to leave. He also gave us restaurant recommendations. Beautiful sunsets every night from the patio. Great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert P
Bruges, Belgium
Reviewed 17 October 2016

The owner is friendly but lives "high in the sky". He told us to pick us up in the morning at 11.30 H to catch our flight. At 10.00 H I was taking a shower and he told us that he was ready to go and that we had to leave the house. We took our suitcases but unfortunately in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nomadedelux
SunsetHillLodge, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

I think that this comment does not apply to our business, never this kind of situation arose at Sunset Hill Lodge ... To find € 80 of food in a refrigerator can not forget ... !!! (Bora Bora is not that expensive and the fridge should be well filled ...)

Reviewed 2 August 2016

I was lucky enough to stay in the first floor waterside apartment in July 2016. Gerard was very helpful - picked me up at the tourist bureau (and took me to the ferry when I left) and showed me around. It is very comfortable and fully equipped accommodation, bang on the waterside and close to all facilities - the yacht...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Chris, Franzie,... P
Reviewed 29 July 2016

At first a big thanks to Gerard and his lovely accomodation. We spend three nights in two different bungalows. It was a good and budget option to stay here. Big space, good beds, nice kitchen and nice view over the ocean. We heard some complaning about bugs and cockroaches. Overdone! We had a small encounter, but really no worries about...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Coen V
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I had done research prior to arrival and by the rave reviews of others I opted for this pension. Gerard was great with communication - absolutely no complaints about him - very accommodating. But, I'm sorry, my studio was crawling with bugs: Bathroom, walls, ceilings, BED...I did not feel comfortable here whatsoever. I have stayed in hotels ranging all budgets,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Katy N
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

I keep in the garden a little modest bungalow because there are customers who can not afford a stay in the hotels in Bora Bora 1000 € per night or more ...So for 40 € you have a small but very clean bungalow with every comfort, just have look to other comments.... That said, we have to do with a...

Finland
Reviewed 16 July 2016

I stayed in Studio #3 for 8 nights. This particular studio had recently been rebuilt totally so it is light and bright and fresh. Nice little kitchen (well equipped with kitchen utensils etc), bathroom with a nice shower and really comfortable bed. The studio is located on the upper floor so the views were across the lagoon and Vaitape area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pia_at_seas
ggdebora, Propriétaire at Sunset Hill Lodge, responded to this review

Not so fair...

184 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bora Bora hotels
4.7 km away
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
Maitai Polynesia Bora Bora
#10 of 17 in Bora Bora
1,000 reviews
4.1 km away
Sofitel Bora Bora Marara Beach Resort
5.2 km away
InterContinental Bora Bora Le Moana Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Blue Heaven Island
Blue Heaven Island
#15 of 17 in Bora Bora
106 reviews
5.6 km away
Le Meridien Bora Bora
Le Meridien Bora Bora
#7 of 17 in Bora Bora
2,308 reviews
6.0 km away
Four Seasons Resort Bora Bora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Furnished accommodations close to Vaitape's village. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Hill Lodge

Address: BP 58 Vaitape | Lewards Islands, 98730, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Price Range: ₹ 6,816 - ₹ 9,354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sunset Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bora Bora
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Hill Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Hill Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for the second floor room, it has the best view”
 of 5 bubbles 161kasn, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We liked the waterfront rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mcclegg52, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“You might want to make sure when booking if you'll be in the house next to the lagoon or up on the hill with the seaside views.”
 of 5 bubbles dreiumdiewelt, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room, bottom floor, was great!”
 of 5 bubbles robertpU7225UZ, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“the rooms at the water have a view”
 of 5 bubbles Nomadedelux, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay