We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Peaks Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peaks Motor Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Peaks Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 157: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Nice clean motel, good facilities, great views. Loved the outdoor spa which looks at the mountains. Good kitchenette and spacious living area. Friendly and helpful staff. A nice distance from the main part of town, so very quiet and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alanh453
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks!

Rosebud, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Beautiful clean room with a full kitchen! After traveling on the road for 10 days it was great to cook a meal in our room. Bed the best we had slept on in our travels, soft, warm so comfortable. Bathroom roomy and with all facilities you need. Lovely outside sitting area with lawn and views to the mountains. Walking distance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helken2014
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for such a descriptive review, and the comment on the beds: they are an upgrade on the usual motel beds which many people comment favourably on to us. We installed a new VDSL wifi system in March which seems to be working well, no complaints so far, so I presume you were here before that as we don't have...

Reviewed 19 April 2016

The room was spotless and the bathroom was very clean and fresh. Bedding was spotless and the kitchen had all the essentials. The paintwork was in a very good state throughout-not tired or scratched as you often find in motels. The spa was basic but did the job, and spa towels were provided. Good location. The owner could have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne T
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, we would love to see you again and promise to be a bit more cheerful by then, as we are taking regular breaks after this extremely busy summer.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I booked this motel attracted by the 'mountain views from all rooms' and a mention by a reviewer of a cooked breakfast being served in the room, Oh, and the spa poor. We got there late because of a crash on the Taupo road which left us queuing for two hours. Altho I had phoned ahead, there was no one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 450frances21
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Many of the points you have raised are simply not true. - We have never advertised 'mountain views from all rooms", only from some. Often the mountain is wreathed in cloud and nobody sees it at all so we don't make a big deal of mountain views, in order to avoid disappointment. On the other hand no rooms look out...

Germany
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The Peaks Motor Inn is just between the 2 major parts of Ohakune. You can take a beautiful stroll along the little stream towards the village with restaurants etc. The room is comfy, you have an outside sitting place - so just fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank doroPfalz
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review, which sums up the attitude of most people as they leave every morning nicely.

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We booked 2 nights at this Inn in the mountains and were so glad that we made this choice. Our room was cozy and clean, we had a full kitchen to work with making breakfast and dinners to enjoy outside on our little patio. Location was great but the VIEW was amazing. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would book this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MommyCville
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for writing us a review. Yes we never tire of looking at Mt Ruapehu, it is a stunning mountain.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

This place was ideal for our short stay in Ohakune. Jenny at reception greeted us and made sure we knew what to do in the local area, she was keen that we got out and about and pulled up weather reports and mountain camera live videos. The room was a good size, very clean. The bed was a little soft,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughbdo
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your comprehensive review. We are in the process of promoting more walks around this side of Mt Ruapehu so yes I think you should come back!

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 26 February 2016

We stayed here for 1 night on the way south a week after we had spent 1 night across the rd at the court motel on the way north. The other motel was fine and the friendly owner deserves your business but the Peaks had a much nicer room, definitely a class or two above. We drove into town at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shortripeople
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, yes tourists are starting to discover that Ohakune has a big range of accommodation and also very good restaurants and cafes, so we're a good destination to explore this region from.

New Zealand
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I arrived here after cycling from Wanganui and couldn't believe my good fortune to have a great ground floor unit with a spa bath! - I thought I'd arrived in heaven - and the next day had a great cooked breakfast delivered to the room, what more could you ask for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Narziss
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

After cycling here uphill into a northerly wind all the way from Wanganui, you definitely deserved it all - pleased you survived to write us a review.

Reviewed 20 February 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Peaks Motor Inn, its was very clean and comfortable and office staff was very helpful. Close to the Old Coach trail which we did on our mountain bikes. Would stay there again .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judy S
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for doing a review Judy, yes the Ohakune Old Coach Road is about 3 kms of country road away from The Peaks.

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ohakune
1.0 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
26.0 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,360 reviews
26.1 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Tussock Grove Boutique Hotel
26.5 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
445 reviews
0.8 km away
Ruapehu Mountain Motel & Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Price Range: ₹ 6,283 - ₹ 7,501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peaks Motor Inn Ohakune, North Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peaks Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Peaks Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a mountain view!”
 of 5 bubbles 450frances21, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a mountain view”
 of 5 bubbles hughbdo, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“By main entrance with a spa bath!”
 of 5 bubbles Narziss, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“ask for the room with bath tube”
 of 5 bubbles PHG1811027, 21 Jan 2016 | Read review
“All looked good to us.”
 of 5 bubbles 186Steve, 5 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay