We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Topas Ecolodge

Show Prices
#9 of 64 Hotels in Sapa
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Topas Ecolodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

686 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 566: English reviews
Start your review of Topas Ecolodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we have spent two night 3 days in topas ecolodge and everything was perfect , the pick up and drop off service , and the tours it was well organized even when we had to cancel one tour from three the manager gave us free 45 minutes massages.. even the ladies stading outside from ethnic group they walked with us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nagham B
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Unfortunately when we stayed 1 night as part of a 4 day spa tour, we could not see more than 2metres. We were looking forward to magnificent views, but only swirling clouds. We spent the afternoon napping, then had a good dinner in the restaurant. You need to be reasonably fit to walk into the lodge and then to your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Mary D, Thank you for your positive feedback and we feel sorry that you couldn't fully appreciate the beauty of the place with this cloudy weather. Nevertheless, you rated us 3 star, and I would be very open to feedback to know more. Do not hesitate to contact me. Kind regards, Hubert de Murard Lodge Manager.

Claremont, New Hampshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After the fierce hustle and bustle of our visit to Hanoi, which we enjoyed immensely, we took a night train into the mountains of the Sa Pa region of northern Vietnam. We were ready for some quiet down time, and the Topas Ecolodge delivered. The individual stone cottages that surround the main lodge and dining room are comfy and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Edward C, This is a very pleasant review to read. We are glad that you fully enjoyed your stay with us. For your information, we also offer a limousine service from Hanoi to the Ecolodge, door to door. We invite you to have a look at Topas Mountain Express . com . We have options for everyone, heavy treks,...

Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My family (2 adults and 2 children) decided to go all in and booked the 3 days/2 nights mountain getaway for which we paid a staggering USD 850. We had very high expectations which, unfortunately, were not met. The mountain getaway gives you 2 nights in an executive bungalow, including breakfast, and a return trip from Hanoi in the mountain...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christian K A A
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Christian K A A, Thank you for sharing your experience in details with other travelers. We are glad that you have appreciated our Ecolodge, its rooms and the lounge / restaurant. The red Dao ladies are on their lands and are very friendly but pushy and overwhelming for some. Indeed in winter it could be cloudy and it is...

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Only a couple of nights spent at TE but a great experience, wonderful trekking and views and welcoming people. Food and drink good value and impressive quality. The ladies at the entrance are a daunting gauntlet to run and the access road from Sapa is pretty awful. We'd love to come back for a longer stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingedward1
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Kingedward1, Thank you so much for your kind review. It is a pleasure for us to receive comments like yours. We would be very happy to host you for a longer stay next time, and I am sure you will appreciate the new pool coming by June 2017. Sincerely, Hubert de Murard Lodge Manager

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

-> The Hotel is overpriced -> The staff working in the hotel is not motivated and unfriendly -> Towels are dirty -> Toilet looks extremely dirty and unhygienic (photo).Every airport toilet is cleaner !!! -> Mold in the bathroom (photo) -> Yellow shower curtain -> Extra Charge for drinking water (3$) -> Breakfast includes artificial colored orange / apple juice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andreas K
TopasDirector, Direktør at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Andreas K. I do not like to see your pictures and the lodge manager has already completed his investigation. The bungalow will now be fixed. I do however note, that our cleanness is normally something clients mark as very good. Please contact me direct if you have more you would like to share with me. Best Regards Asger General...

Glarbo, Ry, DK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Back again! Amazing How the place develops - with greater food and Nice friendly staff. Did some Nice trailrunning just starting from the hotel! Have Been here many times and still amazed by the views!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Simon G
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Simon G, It was a pleasure to have you back with us. We are glad that you fully enjoyed our property and its surrounding. See you again for the Vietnam Mountain Marathon in September. Kind regards, Hubert de Murard Lodge Manager

Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed a couple of nights at the lodge (took the very comfortable shuttle from Hanoi to and from) and overall had a good time. The bungalows are comfortable (although pretty cool even with max heating) and the food was very good and reasonably priced. There is a nice seating area next to the reception with a cozy fireplace and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Sam J, Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing our property and we take good note of your comments. We are adding some new bungalows and a swimming pool by May, we are very excited and we hope that guests will enjoy as well. If you wish to return, let us know and we will give you...

France
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Stunning location. 5 hour drive from Hanoi with a good driver. We had an excellent guide - Nam- on the first day. He went out of his way to help and made fabulous chips. We spent our second night in the topas eco lodge which had very comfortable rooms. The hotel Manager Hubert de Morand and his assistant manger were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bugatti62
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Bugatti62, Thank you very much for your nice words about our bus, guide, room and about our service. Nevertheless, you removed 2 star from your review for a problem which is not related to our lodge as on public road. The Red Dao ladies could be indeed pushy but they are very nice and we are on the land...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

This is an incredibly lovely place that can be a great base to visit the surrounding Sapa area without having to deal with lots of people (hotels in the city of Sapa). The rooms are very comfortable, and the service and food excellent. All in all, highly recommended. I m pretty sure I ll visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bel_alcat
Topas-LM, Manager at Topas Ecolodge, responded to this review

Dear Bel_alcat, Thank you so much for this very kind review. Indeed, Topas Ecolodge is the best spot to start exploring the surrounding mountains and the colorful tribes. We appreciate your comment regarding service and food, thanks a lot. We look forward to host you again in the future. Kind regards, Hubert de Murard Lodge Manager

846 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (819)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (139)
Viewed
View from Room (58)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (76)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (506)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sapa hotels
4.5 km away
Eco Palms House
Eco Palms House
#5 of 64 in Sapa
151 reviews
0.4 km away
Victoria Sapa Resort and Spa
0.5 km away
Sapa Dragon Hotel
Sapa Dragon Hotel
#1 of 64 in Sapa
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sapa Unique Hotel
Sapa Unique Hotel
#8 of 64 in Sapa
592 reviews
0.2 km away
Sapa Paradise View Hotel
0.3 km away
U Sapa
U Sapa
#6 of 64 in Sapa
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Bungalow stay at Topas Ecolodge is the perfect way to experience the remoteness and quiet of Northern Vietnam, its landscape, fresh air and ethnic minorities. Set deep in the spectacular Sapa valley, Topas Ecolodge has a panoramic view of the surrounding mountains and across the scenic valley. As our guest you will enjoy all the comforts of a pleasant stay in an environment that is making a responsible and sustainable commitment to the nature and people of Sapa Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topas Ecolodge

Address: 24 Muong Hoa, Sapa 12345, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Lao Cai Province > Sapa
Price Range: ₹ 10,594 - ₹ 12,229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topas Ecolodge 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Topas Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topas Ecolodge Sapa
Topas Ecolodge Hotel Sapa
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sapa
#5 Spa Hotel in Sapa
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Topas Ecolodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Topas Ecolodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“executive banglows have ac and the rooms in the middle down the hell are the best”
  • sunset view from our room
 of 5 bubbles 610naghamb, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2 choices, the more expensive rooms had air-con and we slightly better furnished but all have the views”
 of 5 bubbles sambF6356SA, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All cottages seem to have terrific views!”
 of 5 bubbles jgvt_10, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“They are doing some building work which starts early in the morning, check before you book”
 of 5 bubbles Erylis, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All of the rooms are similar and when no fog, a great view. Some are a much greater walk from the main hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles rrknef, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5