We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Highliner Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelican
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Highliner Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

6 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 6: English reviews
Indio, California
Reviewed 23 May 2016

My group of 4 have fished Highliner 3 times ,each year the service at the Lodge Was exceptional. Clean rooms and great meals . The fishing operation is highly professional,great boats,captains who want to put you on fish and work hard to make your trip a trip to remember. The cutting and handling of your catch and freezing guarantee you...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gordonhadfield
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Very misleading experience. While the lodge is fine, the town is very remote with zero to do beyond fishing. The business cards left in your room from Steve and Jill portray a lot of services that are not available, such as wireless cafe, etc. While some of these services are available, they are not available at the lodge, such as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ezmall
Steve D, Owner at Highliner Lodge, responded to this review

The reviewer is correct. We have worse than third world internet, no cell phone service and there is very little to do in the boardwalk village of Pelican. However, saying that we mislead anyone in this regard is an egregious misrepresentation by the reviewer. I never said we are "Closest to the Internet!" or "Closest to a Cell Phone Tower!"...

Brooklyn
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

First all the people are lovely - very nice, just attentive enough, your captains are all extremely skilled and knowledgable. I have a freezer full of lovely fish - the highest quality - your hand smells lightly of the sea after handling it - nothing like fish. But my salmon was not descaled - and descaling is a difficult challenge...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hitchdovar
Steve D, Owner at Highliner Lodge, responded to this review

I am not sure why the reviewer felt compelled to give the Highliner Lodge such a low rating (Poor). He noted that he had a "freezer full of lovely fish - the highest quality ..." but the goes on to complain, "I have been robbed of one of the nicer aspects of freshly caught salmon." I don't know if his...

Fruita, Colorado
Reviewed 27 July 2015

This lodge in my opinion is first rate. Top notch accommodations, rooms, food, service and especially the fishing. Beautiful location. Fly in on sea plane, you're met at the dock by either the owner (Steve - smart dude, piece of work and very funny)) or his staff. Fun to mingle with the guests. In the evening you stroll along the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Steve D, Owner at Highliner Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks a lot David! Way to raise people's expectations... "Steve - smart dude, piece of work and very funny".

Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Reviewed 10 March 2015

I lost my$ 2000 deposit and and $1400 in airfare* Nine days after my deposit was received at Highliner Lodge, I had a one day change of plans for a fishing vacation at HIghline Lodge three month into the future, Mid June.. Too bad reported Steve Daniels , the owner, we have your deposit no changes. So read the words...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Phillip77945
Steve D, Owner at Highliner Lodge, responded to this review

I count 52 emails between myself and the reviewer between October 4, 2013 and June 5, 2015. It was getting very difficult to place his group of two as we were booking trips very fast at that time and had very limited availability. In fact, three times the dates we offered him were taken by others because he procrastinated. In...

Aspen, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 1 June 2013

First class all the way. Greatest captains, fishing, food and overall customer service. Jill and Steve you are the best, we are already planning our return trip next summer.Everyone makes you feel like family.

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank James R

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Highliner Lodge, located "Closest to the Fish!" Best king salmon catch rates and largest halibut in all of Alaska (Alaska Dept. Fish & Game). All-inclusive, fine dining, peerless care for your catch, 30' fast boats, 4 guests per boat, average 8-20 guests, stunning beauty, uncrowded fishing grounds."Highliner": He who catches the most fish! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highliner Lodge

Address: 239 Salmon Way, Pelican, AK 99832
Region: United States > Alaska > Pelican
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highliner Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Highliner Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not go here if you don't want to be in an incredible fishing lodge,”
 of 5 bubbles gordonhadfield, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“No internet - which is great - nice to disconnect from the world”
 of 5 bubbles H52CEdavidc, 27 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Just be very care”
 of 5 bubbles Phillip77945, 10 Mar 2015 | Read review
3 of 3