We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Alaskan Hotel & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 120: English reviews
Corvallis, Oregon
Reviewed 25 July 2016

The Alaskan is an interesting bit of history that you might want to experience but it (as another review said) isn't for everyone. The general state of repair and cleanliness is less than you would find in almost any other hotel available to tourists in the US. In my room the chair leg was broken, the wood work was grimy,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DBH20
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I have looked for a room with a broken chair and have not been able to find it. It does sound like you did not get one of the better rooms. I am happy that you found the staff helpful. It is challenging to keep the oldest hotel in Alaska running at all let alone...

Columbus, Mississippi
Reviewed 25 July 2016

On the night of 14-JULY-2016 my rucksack was taken from room 221 while I was asleep. (POLICE REPORT 2016-029300). I lost my passport, pilot's license, car keys, Swiss army knife, suntan creme, empty bottle of OFF, affinity cards, PARKS CANADA pass, US parks pass, rain coat, clippers, gloves, & other personal items, These were probably of little value to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rwhite1066
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

As I comunicated to you on the phone I am so sorry for your misfortunate experience. I called the police and tracked down the officer in charge ( it had dropped through the cracks) and had her come over and view the tape and do a more thorough report. We did search everywhere even the trash. The cleaning crew comes...

Cape Coral Fl
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Although I don't believe the Alaskan is for everybody, it certainly is an experience on its own. Staying here is like stepping back to the beginning of the 20th century. The hotel is furnished just as I imagine it was in that period of time. Velvet wallpaper, antique furniture and radiator heat. Not all rooms have private baths ( shared...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pennyless2013
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for the 4 stars and our positive review. We have owned the hotel for 40 years and have been restoring ever since. It is on the National Reguster and the oldest operating hotel in Alaska. Thank you aain, Bettye Adams

Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

I was attracted by the chalkboard advertising a bluegrass band later that afternoon & went back to see them. The bar had great atmosphere & the staff were pleasant. I really enjoyed the music & would recommend this place as worth checking out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cwalker71
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positie review and 4 stars. We havebeen voted by the locals as the best music bar in Juneau. Thank you again, Bettye Adams

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We recently stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed. No fan or air circulation in the rooms and very loud. Everything seemed like it was not cleaned very well and the hotel staff seemed very unfriendly. No elevator, just and FYI. Would not recommend this place. Pay the extra money and enjoy a room somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vloverti
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is true that the Alaskan is not for every body. We are the oldest hotel in Alaska and have the lowest prices in Juneau. Also the was the hottest summer in 69 years so normally we are not asked for fans. I did buy extra fans this last week however. Thak yo again, Bettye...

Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Everyone goes to the Red Dog Saloon but on the advice of a local we visited the Alaskan Hotel and Bar for a drink. The place is over 100 years old and it has all the character of a turn of the century watering hole. It's a neat place to visit and certainly not a tourist trap. They have live...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StevenLee13
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. Bettye Adams

NewHampshire
Reviewed 8 July 2016

This is not the hotel if you are looking for modern sleek corporate type of lodging, but if you are into history, funky places and want to live in the history of Alaska, this is the place to stay. Yes, there is no elevator and some of the rooms have to use the hallway bathrooms, but it has a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank highspirits3
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. You really seem to get the hotel. thank you again Bettye Adams

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 7 July 2016

Room was awfull ! Inside room without proper window (window was almost against a dark wall in some sort of big chimney. So no lookout or fresh air. It was very hot and stinky. They gave me an enormous noisy and dirty fan for "fresh air"... Nothing worked properly, or was broken or dirty (mousedroppings in cupboard in bathroom !)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingann2016
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your respnse. I have been looking into the situation you are referring to. We are searching for the room that you were in. Meanwhjils wwe are inspecting all of our kitchenettes to see if they need defrosting. I am sure that it was a stain not mold as the fridges are cleaned with bleach all the time....

Reviewed 29 June 2016

A total scam. Two employees on the phone told us what we cannot get after we checked in. Go somewhere else - not in this town. Hotels are booked. Their excuse, both employees don't know what they are talking about! We were told we could have a kithennett but we would got here it was not available!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John S
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We have individualy wrapped plastice glasses. There is internet, but you need the password for it. We have been struggling with overbooking and were working hard to get everyone into the hotel. We are on the National Register of Historic Places and the oldest operating hotel in Alaska. I just bought some fans for the...

Miramar, Florida
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

PROS-located in downtown Juneau, historic hotel 1913s; close to small shops, plenty of places to eat, Mexican, American, coffee shops. Room was clean, comfortable bed, shower clean, CONS-Hotel smell moldy, dusty, has not been renovated. No elevator so if you are comfortable with going up and down 40-50+ stairs then you are good. Carpet in room looks like it hasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria F
alaskan1913, Owner at The Alaskan Hotel & Bar, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your stay was not as good as you hoped. We are on the National Register of Historic Sites and as such do not have an elevator. I am glad that the desk clerk was polite and friendly. There is non smoking in all the rooms plus the bar. We do shampoo...

177 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (140)
Viewed
201 (20)
Viewed
207 (22)
Viewed
212 (28)
Viewed
322 (20)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Juneau hotels
13.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Grandma's Feather Bed
0.1 km away
Westmark Baranof Hotel
Westmark Baranof Hotel
#10 of 16 in Juneau
393 reviews
0.6 km away
Driftwood Hotel
Driftwood Hotel
#6 of 16 in Juneau
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
Goldbelt Hotel Juneau
#5 of 16 in Juneau
127 reviews
0.7 km away
Prospector Hotel
Prospector Hotel
#8 of 16 in Juneau
155 reviews
11.7 km away
Juneau Aspen Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
The Alaskan Bar
The Alaskan Bar
Cuisines: Pub
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
An historic hotel located in the center of downtown Juneau, the Alaskan is on the National Register of Historic Places. It was opened as a hotel in 1913. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Alaskan Hotel & Bar

Address: 167 S Franklin St, Juneau, AK 99801-1321
Region: United States > Alaska > Juneau
Price Range: ₹ 5,931 - ₹ 5,999 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Alaskan Hotel & Bar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Alaskan Hotel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Alaskan Hotel And Bar
Alaskan Hotel Juneau
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Alaskan Hotel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back”
 of 5 bubbles SHEILSA_12, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room with a bath.”
 of 5 bubbles luv2vacaywt, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for quieter room”
 of 5 bubbles DBH20, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms on the street side of the note due to noise and sidewalk cigarette smokers,”
 of 5 bubbles rwhite1066, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“"standard" room has no bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles highspirits3, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay