We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunset View Resort

Save
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (1)
Overview
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good0%
  • Average0%
  • Poor22%
  • Terrible18%
8 Oct 2014
“Beautiful Wedding, awful business woman”
6 Oct 2014
“Be wary of promises!”
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Suites
Spa
Laundry Service
Breakfast included
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
13
0
0
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
13
0
0
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2014

We held our daughter’s wedding at this beautiful Big Lake resort and although the grounds and homes sound wonderful for a night or weekend stay, we don’t recommend ever dealing with the owner Kathy Giles for booking a wedding. Not knowing in advance how many...More

9  Thank 907WorldTraveler
Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 16 October 2014

August 2 Wedding: I would like to address your concerns: 1. My husband/partner is available when I cannot be on site at the resort or at planned meetings and he was there to show you around the property. You informed him you were pleased with...More

Reviewed 7 October 2014

I traveled from Oregon to attend a wedding at this venue. I booked my room very early and was told I would receive a confirmation email. I never did, even after three additional calls. The owner, Kathy, said she was busy and would send me...More

3  Thank Jonathon25
Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 16 October 2014

August 2 Wedding I would like to address your concerns; 1. I apologize if I did not send an e-mail confirmation upon request. An oversight on my part. 2. The Mother of the Bride was in charge of disbursing which families were to go into...More

Reviewed 6 October 2014

Our Stay-cation Getaway at Sunset View Resort Last month my Mother came to visit. I wanted to do something nice for her while she was here – something Alaskan! Coming from Mississippi, a place with a beauty all it’s own, I knew she would appreciate...More

2  Thank JoshAlaska
Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 16 October 2014

Thank You; It was a pleasure having you stay with Sunset View. This is the second year with us and we enjoy the respect and care you take of our property. Look forward to you coming again.

Reviewed 6 October 2014

This resort is in the most gorgeous setting, and the house and rooms are nice. Unfortunately, you have to deal with the owner, Cathy, who is very deceptive and sneaky. We were there as part of a large wedding party and we had rented all...More

3  Thank MarisaBell
Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 16 October 2014

August 2 Wedding; I will address your concerns; 1. You only rented the Upper Hillside Room, which was a large suite with two queen beds. You were given a verbal confirmation. 2. On the room confirmation you were always scheduled for the Large suite with...More

Reviewed 4 October 2014 via mobile

We were excited to stay in this beautiful location and spend time with family and friends. We stayed in the McKinley House which is very nice. The challenge we had was with the owner Kathy. She was unorganized and unfriendly. To start it took over...More

4  Thank Todd V
Response from AlaskaResort, Owner at Sunset View ResortResponded 16 October 2014

August 2 Wedding Addressing your concern; 1. Check in was supposed to be at 3:00PM and your family started checking in at 1:00PM Your room was not quite ready and therefore you were disgruntled. We were very sorry, however you did arrive earlier than expected....More

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Spa
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Laundry Service
Things to do
Spa
Details
Price range
US$ 199 - US$ 495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 199 - US$ 495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Suites, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (4)
Room & Suite (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Sunset View Resort staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Everyone seemed to be completely SATISFIED!"
Read review
"Rooms on main floor in McKinley View are VERY noisy. Room in ground floor in McKinley View is a fire hazard."
Read review
"There is one room that has an adjoining one that's good for families. The Master Suite is spendy but..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing