We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Balmoral Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 85 Hotels in San Jose
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Balmoral Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 657: English reviews
Davidsonville, Maryland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food is okay. Service is okay. Rooms are okay. Everything works and is fine. But location is incredible. Right on pedestrian street in center of town. Close to national museum, jade museum, gold museum, and a lot of shopping and food. Gym is not good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brannon W
Alessandra G, Guest Relations Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review. Glad to hear you took advantage of our unique location. We hope to see you again. Best regards, Alessandra

Miami, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff courteous. Pillows thick and hard. Shower head leaked and there was no hot water one evening. Besides for the shower to give slightly warm water, the volume and force of the water was of so intensity that it hurt.. The card system to open the door to the room, malfunctioned almost every day, and we had to go down...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank federico711
Alessandra G, Guest Relations Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

So very sorry you had a bad experience with us. Would you be so kind as to let me know which room you stayed in so I can have everything fixed as soon as possible. My email is agraziano@balmoral.co.cr We very much appreciate your feedback. Best regards, Alessandra

Venice, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We only stayed one night so that we would be close to the airport for flight home. It was very clean! Room was quite small but had what we needed. I just was happy about the cleanliness for being "downtown in the heart of things". We stayed in more expensive places where we could not walk out the door and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lorileeclark
Alessandra G, Guest Relations Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Very much appreciate your feedback. We are glad you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed your meals at the restaurant. Thank you! We look forward to hosting you again. Best regards, Alessandra

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The room was comfortable and clean, the parking spots are few, but the personal here is very helpful, the low point is the restaurant, it is dirty, the attention is regular, and the food is terrible, if you like to taste the real food in Costa Rica, don't eat here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David A
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are glad to here you were satisfied with your experience at the hotel. It worries us your experience at the restaurant. Can you be more specific what was dirty? What plate did you eat that was so terrible? It would really help us make sure these issues are taken care of as it is...

Vienna, Austria
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location was great. Out the front door and in the heart of everything. The room was neat and clean and the hotel staff very friendly. Meals were served in the adjoining restaurant which is a separate entity. Breakfast and dinner were good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rudi M
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your experience here with us both your stay in the hotel and the meals at the restaurant. We hope to host you in a near future again. Best regards, Alessandra

Coral Gables, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed due to not got a room at Marriot or Hilton, only in Balmoral. Located in downtown San Jose, 4 star. But the truth is that it is remarkable its service, incomparable, 5 stars. Really worth it, a very good bar and menu. Not everything is as it seems on the outside. It is like its interior, its service, its...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo J
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Very happy that you were positevely surprised at our quality of service and that you enjoyed our restaurant ,as well. It is true we are a hidden gem in downtown San José. Now that you have discovered us we hope to host you again. Best regards, Alessandra

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I very much enjoyed this home away from home, the grounds were clean and not noisy of course when any activity going on, rooms were clean, the bed could be better, the breakfast buffet was delicious. The. Reception staff were great and accommodating kudos to the staff

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lviola68
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

We love to make our guest feel at home. Very pleased to learn we were able to transmit that to you. Thank you for posting your review. Glad to know our staff was specially helpful and that everything was spotless clean. And of course that you were able to enjoy our restaurant too. We look forward to hosting you soon....

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

He has to pick up phone, check in guest, check out guess, receive complain, etc. I would not recommand any one for this hotel unless they are looking for inconvinience for themself. Location is fantastic thought and for me that is the only benefit

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank OoiST
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry for the inconvinience you had to put up with, it so happened that one of our staff members was on vacation and this was the exception. We usually have at least two people in reception, who are particulary helpful and go out of their way to make our guest feel welcome. My apologies. I hope you will...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not a bad place, had one of the best cups of coffee while there. Breakfast was good. No hot water for showers. Let the front desk know and they just said, sorry. I have to believe that this is a normal occurrence.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mosquitoman471
Alessandra G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for bring the issue out. We would love to know which room you stayed in and I will try to talk with reception. No it is not a usual thing, it is an older building and it might in very few rooms take a bit longer for the water to warm up but of...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have reviewed the Balmoral before.. And again no disappointment All the Staff from the reception to the maids Fantastic. Keep it up !!!! The night life around 1 block away. so no disturbance is lively .....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chippy13
Alessandra G, Guest Relations Manager at Balmoral Hotel, responded to this review

We are grateful to our loyal clients and specially if they leave nice comments like yours. Thank you! Very happy to learn your experiences with us have kept up with your expectations. We look forward to hosting you soon again. Best regards, Alessandra

645 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (148)
Viewed
Dining (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Amenities (40)
Viewed
Deluxe (30)
Viewed
Family Suite (53)
Viewed
Junior Suite (37)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Standard (23)
Viewed
Standard Plus (20)
Viewed
Standard Plus (Accessible) (23)
Viewed
Superior (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (198)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (80)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
911 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#5 of 85 in San Jose
1,355 reviews
2.9 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
1.9 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.9 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Full of Life, Where Everything is Within Reach! The Balmoral is a lively, full service, landmark hotel located on the famous Central Avenue in the historical and vibrant heart of downtown San Jose, Costa Rica and only 10 miles away from Juan Santamaria International Airport (SJO). The Balmoral is ideal for both leisure and business travelers. Within walking distance of the hotel, you will find San Jose's main art, cultural, financial, government and historical landmarks, as well as some of city's best entertainment, shopping, and healthcare facilities. From the hotel, you can also take a wide variety of one-day tours to discover Costa Rica's natural beauties. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Balmoral Hotel

Address: Central Avenue between 7th & 9th Street, San Jose 10110, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 5,892 - ₹ 9,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Balmoral Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Balmoral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmoral Hotel San Jose
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Jose
#14 Business Hotel in San Jose
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Balmoral Hotel staff and other travellers.
22 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (22)

Questions? Get answers from Balmoral Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Service and cleaning”
 of 5 bubbles ricardoj437, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bed could be better”
 of 5 bubbles lviola68, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Inner atrium facing rooms were well priced. nothing scenic but that was okay by me.”
 of 5 bubbles 245anneo, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room where there is no work being done”
 of 5 bubbles almo52, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room's window faced into a shaft. Small twin beds in a supposedly standard double room. In attentive front desk. ”
 of 5 bubbles lindagG378VO, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5