We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Santo Tomas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

853 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 755: English reviews
Waverly, Iowa
Reviewed yesterday NEW

HST is located close to shopping and restaurants. Tom, the owner takes personal interest in making sure your stay goes well. In my recent experience in late November, everything was really perfect: Parking is safe and secure, rooms are clean and large. The pool is beautiful, and the exercise room was surprisingly well-appointed. I usually stay a day or two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BE665
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is located within walking distance of many central attractions: Jade Museum, National Theatre, Art market, and Central Market. There are plenty of near by restaurants and even some vegetarian ones. The hotel is a converted old mansion. If you are expecting modern or upscale, this isn't the place for you. It is, however, clean and convenient. Hotel owner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ArchanaSharma
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Archana, Yes you are correct our location is really central and we are located on Avenue 7 just before it goes steeply down hill to avenue 9 and 11. For anyone aged, with physical problems or just lazy climbing that hill in the sun is a killer ! Restaurants close by : Egyptian, next door , Columbian in front,...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Boyfriend and I stayed the night in the economy room for a Guns and roses show. We didn't expect much for the price. Seriously blown away and plan on booking here in future. Tom is wonderful and welcoming. Gentleman who works desk in day is extremely helpful and personable. All staff friendly. Breakfast provided is excellent and a bonus. Ground...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola Kristen C, Yes, that was a good concert ! I had at least 5 other travelers that had came for the show, just in my little hotel. The day man is Omar and he is a sweet heart. I will be sure he sees your post. Great having you stay and I look forward to your return for a...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

To tell the truth, I was a bit put off by their pre-arrival communication - no dirty bills, no early checkouts, beware of unlicensed cabs (but no pick up service offered) - and by the front desk's near refusal to change a bill for the taxi. BUT - the minute I saw the rooms all was forgiven. I did opt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CARLYE P
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Carlye P, The email we send three days before your arrival is to provide the travelers with useful information on how things work in Costa Rica , nothing more. You would be really mad upon arrival to try and pay your bill here with bills that would not be accepted in the banks and all other establishments. As we...

Norway
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were supposed to stay for two nightswhen we arrived in Costa Rica, but due to bad weather we had to layover in Panama. We only stayed one night and it was OK, we did not get that much of an impression of the place. It is a short walk to the shopping street. We left early and did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindri
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Lindri, Yes that hurricane Otto played havoc with travel plans. As you left early on a tour I am sure they provided you with a breakfast. We don't do take away breakfast. How much more do hotels have to give away free. Oh and by the way, none of this that we give away is free for the hotel...

Reviewed 1 week ago

We just got back from a family trip to Costa Rica and our route had us staying in San Jose on 3 times during the vacation. We stayed at the Hotel Santo Tomas every time and it became our home base. The staff recognized us, and accommodated all of our needs. We have two children and they had a wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug K
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Doug K, We have lots of families stay with us and it was great meeting you and yours, something I always try to do every morning.. I really like it when guests enjoy all of the facilities, especially the children. Your said: ( If you want some modern comfort with some quaint Latino charm this is your place.), I...

Prince Rupert, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was hard to see from the road but the taxi driver know exactly where it was. The hotel staff was great and gave us any information we needed and spoke good English so that was a plus for us and the rooms were a good size but they said we had a up grade so maybe that was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rikki D
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi RikkiD. Yes, as we have been open now for almost 27 years, most taxis know where we are. I highly suggest always taxi in upon arrival and allow us to assist you with your rental car that can be delivered here to the hotels parking lot the next morning after your Free Breakfast and returned here as well when...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did not have an opportunity to see the hotel before we checked in the night before we were to go back home. We rented a car and had been pretty successful in finding our way. It was so very difficult to find this hotel. The GPS kept telling us that we had arrived at our destination on the right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Camille D
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi Camille D. Your phrase of ( had been pretty successful finding our way ) indicates that you as many other travelers find in Costa Rica that the GPS, along with Google Maps doesn't work the way you want. I just finished a 17 days driving trip to Portugal and found the exact same thing. I think by the time...

Key Largo
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Love this hotel-very Spanish architecturally and super clean -incredibly impressed with Keylor who not only cooked delicious breakfast but kept pool and exterior spotless All the staff friendly and helpful -rooms nice size with large shower and kept clean daily by the lovely Rocio not to forget the welcoming smiles every morning by Carlos Desk staff (David et al) very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzannah53
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hola Suzannah53, How wonderful it is you mentioned my staff by name, most have been with me for years and are an important part of our team. Yes, there are just tons of places to eat close by and most are really good, just a few examples, Columbia Restaurant across the street, Egyptian next door, full vegetarian around the corner,...

Mumbai, India
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here as we used San Jose as our base and with a toddler didnt want to change locations and instead chose to do various day tours originating from San Jose. PROS : -The location is great - walkable distance to the city center and some of the sight seeing points . Easy access to shops, banks , malls...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SFZZ
AdvisorHST, Owner at Hotel Santo Tomas, responded to this review

Hi SFZZ, Yes, you rented our least expensive room, the economy, $57.99 plus tax including the free breakfast for three, which by the way is not free for me. That room is designed for only two max and of course with a toddler it was full. We allowed you to stay in that room. For $12.00 dollars more you could...

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (216)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (74)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (370)
Viewed
Amenities (41)
Viewed
Deluxe Balcony Upstairs Room (35)
Viewed
Deluxe Plus Upstairs Room (29)
Viewed
Economy Room (35)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool and Hot Tub (29)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Standard Room (29)
Viewed
Superior Plus Upstairs Corner Room (30)
Viewed
Superior Plus Upstairs Room (27)
Viewed
Superior Twin Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
2.7 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#4 of 84 in San Jose
724 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#7 of 84 in San Jose
1,233 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#9 of 84 in San Jose
246 reviews
2.6 km away
Aranjuez Hotel
Aranjuez Hotel
#8 of 84 in San Jose
890 reviews
1.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great downtown location in San Jose, Costa Rica. Hotel Santo Tomas provides free hot cooked to order breakfast, FREE Wi-Fi 10 Mbps, security box, swimming pool, hot Jacuzzi, gym, secure on site parking. Only four blocks from San Jose, Central Avenue and an easy stroll to most local attractions. Offering 30 non smoking rooms and has been newly renovated and expanded. Also available 24/7 : tour, travel & car rental services, currency exchange and laundry for our guests. Come and enjoy our wonderful open air gardens, flowers and covered terraces all to enjoy the volcano views here at Hotel Santo Tomas in San Jose, Costa Rica. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Santo Tomas

Address: Avenue 7 Between Streets 3 and 5 | Barrio Amon, 250 meters west of INS Building, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 4,345 - ₹ 7,399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santo Tomas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Santo Tomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Jose
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Jose
#6 Family Hotel in San Jose
#8 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
#11 Business Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Santo Tomas staff and other travellers.
51 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (51)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Santo Tomas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had room #9 which we liked a lot. Another time we had room #2 which was a little noisy (upstairs guest had an early flight...).”
 of 5 bubbles 979dougk, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room”
 of 5 bubbles JimfromCC, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Each of the rooms are very nice, however my favorite rooms are the upstairs units.”
 of 5 bubbles 381eugenec, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Down stairs with exterior hallway entrance”
 of 5 bubbles egil7erik, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the upper deck”
 of 5 bubbles Paul_Dayton, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay