We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Britannia

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Hotel Britannia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

47 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Britannia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 43: English reviews
San Diego, California
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I liked this location a lot because I could walk to many of the central San Jose parks, museums, and shopping areas in 10 to 15 minutes. There are unique features to this property that gives you a sense of a change of pace, without making you feel unsafe. The rooms are cozy, the restaurant (I only ate breakfast there)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoNick
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your comments We are glad that your stay was enjoyable. Atte concierge

Los Angeles
Reviewed 1 August 2008

My wife and I stayed at Brittania on our first and last day of our vacation in Costa Rica. Brittania is pretty central to the downtown area, Mercado Central, museums, Jade museum, all within walking distance. Our first night we came in and the check-in was quick and easy. Our room 203 was small dark and like another traveler said,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swingkidsnow
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest: We are so sorry for the inconvenience;Costa Rica is a tropical country, so we are often exposed to this type of plagues, sometimes really hard to eradicate, but nowadays and for more than a year we have not any problems like you mentioned or another. we appreciate your comments and apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay,...

Falls Church, VA, USA
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Our family group of three adults stayed at the Britannia for nearly two weeks in July 2008. The hotel is located six blocks north of the city center in the part of San Jose known as Barrio Amon. In the immediate neigborhood, fine residences alternate with nondescript buildings. Around the corner from the Britannia are the Clarion and Inca Real...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foxfire3568
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your detailed comments Att, Concierge

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2008

The Britannia looks beautiful, a stylish and well kept building, in a charming area of old houses only a few minutes walk for the centre of San Jose. (And yes there are some working girls a couple of blocks away, by night but I saw none on the main street into the centre.) It looked far more appealing, to me,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeBristolUK
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review
Google Translation

Dear Guest Thanks for you comments we really appreciate it Att : Concierge

Springfield, Missouri
Reviewed 4 July 2008

Booked hotel through CheapTickets.com. Used a shuttle bus voucher and the hotel staff had signs with our names on it when we walked through immigration. This was really handy to not have to find a taxi when we got off the plane. Hotel was very pretty however decorations did not seem to keep with the antique feel. The majority of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andrew041488
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your comments, sometimes the travel agents do not include breakfast, however we give a complementary service . Att: Concierge

desert town, USA
Reviewed 30 May 2008

I booked the Hotel Brittania through their website, which had a slightly better rate than the one quoted on Orbitz. We only needed a place to stay for one night after landing in San Jose at around 9 PM, and we were certainly pleased by this hotel. Although there are, as someone else has said, the ugliest prostitutes you've ever...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank footloose06
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your feedback, we are glad to know that our hotel like you. Att: Concierge

Germany
Reviewed 18 May 2008

In April I stayed two nights at the hotel Britannia. The stay there was very nice. The hotel is very comfortable and beautiful. To my mind it has a very good location near the city center. San Jose has many unsightly districts, but Britannia is located in one of the beautiful areas. I was amazed at the unique ambiance of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank worldtraveler645
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your comments, We are glad to now that your stay in Britannia Hotel was nice and comfy Att: Concierge

New <York
Reviewed 14 March 2008

We stayed at the Britannia during our trip to Costa rica. It is a good hotel with very large rooms. The hotel is very close to the downtown but is located near a very shady area. We saw a lot of prostitutes hanging around in the area. It is not safe to go out of the hotel after 9 pm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jambus
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for you comments Its really hard for us eliminate prostitution in the area ,because unfortunately many of the tourists who visiting Costa Rica its with this purpose, anyway we always keep working on it. Att: Concierge

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 28 January 2008

The hotel was great aside from no a/c but atleast there is a TV unlike other places in La Fortuna or Monteverde. The restaurant is a little pricey but expected being part of the hotel. The staff were also very helpful. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenkiki
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your positive Comment, Att: Concierge

Arcata, CA
Reviewed 22 January 2008

We had been warned by co-workers not to spend any time in San Jose, Costa Rica, but because of its location and our schedules we spent 3 nights there during our 3-week vacation. Hotel Britannia was clean and spacious, with a decent restaurant. Staff were very helpful in booking buses, giving directions, and helping us organize our day trips. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Soilsaver
HotelBritannia, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Britannia, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your comments, we hope see you soon Att: Concierge

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.1 km away
Taormina Hotel and Casino
Taormina Hotel and Casino
#16 of 85 in San Jose
365 reviews
0.2 km away
Kekoldi Hotel
Kekoldi Hotel
#35 of 85 in San Jose
152 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#45 of 85 in San Jose
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
923 reviews
0.6 km away
Vesuvio Hotel
Vesuvio Hotel
#44 of 85 in San Jose
88 reviews
0.3 km away
Holiday Inn San Jose Downtown Aurola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
No more endless searching for a hotel in downtown San Jose. Get form Britannia Hotel's services the best of lodging and tours to Costa Rica. Britannia's convenient spot is well known for getting out the best of your romantic, adventure, natural or relaxation trip to Costa Rica. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Britannia

Address: 3rd Street Between 9th and 11th Avenues, San Jose 3742-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 4,176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Britannia 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Britannia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Hotel San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Britannia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates