We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hostel Casa Colon

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hostel Casa Colon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 167: English reviews
Biel, Switzerland
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

This hostel is luxuary comepared to other hostels. We stayed here for one night. On the Internet it said that we have a free breakfast included, although we got there in the morning the unfriendly receptionist told us it was not for dorms. Two in our room got the free breakfast because they booked online and we who were walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukeeey91
HostelCasaColon, Front Office Manager at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

We are glad to hear you liked our hostel and our colonial style. We try to keep it in the more preserved way as possible! In the other hand, the situation you mentioned was a mistake on the web where two guests were booked. You were at reception and we were very clear that it was a mistake. We apologize...

Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica
Reviewed 14 March 2016

We stayed in the room in the back of the hostel. Although the only window showed the sinks of the downstairs shared bathroom area it was very calm and nice to sleep. Breakfast was included and very good. Staff was friendly and helpful. It's just a 10 minutes walk from the city center and close to most of the bus...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alpensteinbock
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your good comment! Regards!

toronto
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The hotel staff (cleaning ladies) stole my clothes when I was not there. I know 100% it was them because I had the stuff before I got to the hostel. There was also an awkward situation before I had realized my stuff was gone where I came back and everything was gone off my bed - travel pillow, pj's book...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank missk11
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

The day that you reported the complaint at the reception you only mentioned that you lost an ear plugs do not mention anything about the clothes and other things . The cleaning staff are very careful of doing cleaning and can not be responsible for objects left in the beds , for that the Hostel provide security services such as...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Excellent location just round the corner from the ticabus terminal. However if you don't need to use this terminal a very average stay. Room was small but clean with a decent shower. Breakfast is included but our bus was too early unfortunately. Only downside really was an unpleasant receptionist which can have a serious impact after a long day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rpatz39
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your comment! We really apologize for the receptionist attitude.

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 February 2016

This hostel is well located, not far away from San Jose center. We had only two nights - one arrival, one departure - and it was perfectly well located next to our car rental company. We 3 shared a room for up to 4 persons and shared bathroom. The room was clean, TV which we did not use, lights and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tweety1876
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

We appreciate you took your time to give us your opinion. Your feedback is a great opportunity to improve some details described. We already made some changes in the cleaning service to provide better assistance in the bathrooms and common areas of the Hostel. It is very important for us that our guests feel comfortable. Best Regards

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This is not just a hostel but also a hotel with rooms with private facilities. Our room for three was cramped. The bathroom sink did not have a plug, the lights were so dingy that it was impossible to read in the evening, and there was no table for my laptop. Worse yet, the reception staff was singularly unhelpful. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EEM88
Wentorf bei Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 11 February 2016

+ good price-quality central location close to everything clean friendly owners and very helpful reception restaurant OK, not as cheap as one might think parking in front of hotel possible but very limited. Cross the road is a 24-hour-car parking. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR CAR ON THE STREET AT NIGHT ! UNSAFE ! - Our room reserved through booking.com had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 232stephana
Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewed 5 February 2016

The hostel looks like a colonial castle. It's situated only 10 minutes walk from the pedestrian zone in the center. Also Tica Bus station is only two blocks far. I went fro. The hostel to the Atlantic bus station to catch the Mepen bus to go to Puerto Viejo Lim on which was also only a 20 minutes walk. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin A
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thanks for your opinion. We are glad to hear your stay here was a good experience because it is very important for us to be a good memory of your time in Costa Rica. As you said Casa Colon is a colonial house and we are trying to keep it the most conserved as we can. About the internet we...

Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

I haven't been to any other hostel in San Jose but this one had everything we needed: a quiet and clean room including breakfast. Nothing fancy but ok considering the price. We were a bit disappointed that the national breakfast wasn't available anymore at 8:30 on a Sunday.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
Charlotte, Michigan
Reviewed 1 February 2016

The pros: Convenient location near a bus station and restaurants. Clean. Good firm comfortable bed. Some employees speak a little English. We stayed in a double room with bath for $50. Cons: The whole place is too dark. Supposedly to conserve energy. But it is dark to the point oF NOT SAFE. Next big thing, the shower ,even though the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda O
HostelCasaColon, Director de Recepción at Hostel Casa Colon, responded to this review

Thank you four your recommendations, we will change this few things. We really apologize for the incoveniences during your stay. Best Regards!

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (119)
Viewed
Deluxe Private Room (23)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Second Deluxe Private Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
1.5 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
921 reviews
1.2 km away
Cocoon Hotel
Cocoon Hotel
#59 of 85 in San Jose
484 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel El Maragato
Hotel El Maragato
#44 of 85 in San Jose
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Colours Oasis Resort
Colours Oasis Resort
#31 of 85 in San Jose
234 reviews
4.3 km away
Isla Verde Hotel
Isla Verde Hotel
#11 of 85 in San Jose
264 reviews
1.3 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hostel Casa Colon is a beautiful colonial house in the 50s, with an architectural design typical of the period, with artisan hand carved cedar. We are a boutique Hostel with excellent quality, higher standards of each of the services Located in an excellent tourist and commercial area with easy access to services (banks, ATM machines, supermarkets, bars, restaurants, gas stations, shops, transport, etc) We offer private and shared rooms, bar and restaurant, security, excellent customer service and tourist information, free parking, TV room with flat screen cable TV. The comfortable private rooms have flat screen, cable TV, wireless internet access and housekeeping. (In addition sofa in Junior Suite) The dorms have bunk beds, free lockers, shared bathrooms spotless. The bar and restaurant offers delicious dishes for breakfast, lunch or dinner. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hostel Casa Colon

Address: Paseo Colon, Calle 24 Norte | Contiguo a Torre Mercedes, San Jose 1255-1200, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 1,166 - ₹ 5,376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Casa Colon 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hostel Casa Colon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Casa Colon Hotel San Jose
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Jose
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and other travellers.
29 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (29)

Questions? Get answers from Hostel Casa Colon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Definitely choose a room in the back away from the busy road”
oxford2017, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a taxi from ticabus, walk! it is about 300 metres away at most.”
tetlstone, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs may get you a quieter sleep :)”
45nikkiw, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“If you are a light sleeper and are in a private room, perhaps ask for a room a bit further from the dorm rooms.”
jricha06, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“if you're booking a dorm ask for one upstairs, you wont get any sleep downstairs!”
F4229JDmattl, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5