We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Aldea Hostel San Jose

Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Parque La Sabana
    0.7 km
  • 2 star hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviewed 27 March 2015
Second time still improved
There has been some improvements since my last visit. Not only... more
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

190 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aldea Hostel San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Showing 141: English reviews
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 27 March 2015 via mobile

There has been some improvements since my last visit. Not only have they renovated some of the rooms now they even have a bar and a delicious pizza. Great value for the price. Great location also. The only negative is that it can get laud sometimes.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Istanbulapt
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Thanks for your second great review! I am glad to hear you liked our improvements (the tasty bar and pizza!). Our staff work hard every day to respond to suggestions and improve the experiences of our guests, as well as the warm feeling of our hostel. We are located in an old mansion, and the recent renovations have greatly improved...

Reviewed 24 March 2015

I returned to San Jose during my trip simply bc I knew that I could stay here. This establishment attracts guests who are eco conscious, warm, and open, yet the hostel still allows for privacy and comfort. All of the employees are sincere and helpful. One evening a guy was playing guitar outside and I joined him with a big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leia F
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us again! It is great to hear that you could count on our hostel and staff for an amazing time! We are glad that you liked our balance of privacy, comfort, and a welcoming vibe. The courtyard is truly an amazing place to meet other travelers (and to play drums, guitar, or whatever is around)!...

Reviewed 21 March 2015

This Hostel is one of the best I've ever been in my trip. The people who work there are Always nice and open to help you anytime ! One big thank you to Kevin, the guy at the desk, who make your day better playing songs with his guitar ! The rooms are very clean and they have a beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FrancescaRiccione01
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hola Francesca! It's great to hear you were so pleased with our staff and our service!! It is so rewarding to the staff to get such great reviews, as we are always working hard to make our hostel more inviting and to give our guests the best experience possible, putting many hours in per day to make sure it is...

Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2015 via mobile

This is a sweet little midway spot for your travels. My mate fell through the bed so be careful getting into the bunks. Cool looking place with sweet kitchen area. Wifi slow as less than 1mb download get a sim card for $3 from down the road Oh.. and i recommend not going out at night. IG @world_nate

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lifestyle-Preneur
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed the location and feel of our hostel. A sweet, midway stop with a close-knit community is exactly what we are aiming for, as community is one of our top values! Great to hear that you spent some time in our kitchen as well - it is a great place to meet other travelers (and of...

Loveland, Colorado
Reviewed 11 March 2015

My experience at Aldea Hostel was amazing, Amir, Andrea, Kevin & the rest of the volunteer staff were amazing. At the end of the day, if you are expecting a 4 or 5 star experience in another country, you should stay at a hotel. If you are seeking exceptional value, and friendly & hospitable service at a hostel, this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for leaving such amazing feedback about Aldea! We are very pleased that your experience at Aldea was fantastic and we are happy to know that you enjoyed our outdoor kitchen, the service from our stafff and your overall stay with us. We are constantly improving our facility and we will be upgrading our kitchen appliances We look...

Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2015 via mobile

The negative reviews on this place seem strange, as it's a charming little place, friendly staff, really useful spot to walk into town. The best place to stay if you're looking to hire a car. Acoustics are standard for a hostel. Cool kitchen, fridge space, and it's secure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lovelace5
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Public Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hola! Thank you for rating and leaving feedback about Aldea! We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to have you again at Aldea.

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 21 January 2015

I stayed in Aldea hostel for only one night after I landed and stayed in the private room to which I payed more than $30. The staff was nice but I didn't like it because the acoustic is horrible. I could hear everything that happened around in the other rooms. People came in the middle of the night and sat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mwallenst
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you, we appreciate your feedback! We're sorry that your stay with us was less than exceptional and your feedback has helped us to plan our next phase of improvements. We apologize for the noise, lack of working electtrical plugs and hot water. We are a 100 year old mansion and still have more upgrades to complete and we...

Nicaragua
Reviewed 4 January 2015

Very cold at night. Bathroom stank. WiFi drops in and out. Noisy in the morning if you sleep in the dorm off the common area. Only 2 power points in the room for 4 guests. Hot water only a few hours a day (the afternoon or very early in the morning). Reception staff were unfriendly and rude. I emailed the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director General at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hi Amanda, Thank you for your comments, we really appreciate your feedback. We apreciate that you have liked our location, the interior of our hostel and the restaurant next door. Unfortunately, we did not meet your expectations and we would like to apologize for this. Your feedback is very useful as it will help us to improve the quality of...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 3 December 2014

We stayed for two nights and were disappointed with this hostel. The worst hostel we stayed in during our time in Costa Rica especially for the price. The customer service was terrible, the staff on the front desk were unfriendly and not interested in helping at all. They also were unable to provide maps or suggest what to see in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donna D
Aldea_Hostel_Team, General Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hey Donna, Thank you for choosing Aldea hostel and providing feedback on our service. We would like to apologize for the poor customer service at the time of your stay. Due to having many guests and demands, our staff can be over-burdened and not provide the best customer service that all of our guests deserve. To solve this issue, we...

Medellin, Colombia
Reviewed 6 November 2014

This was a perfect hostel for what we were looking for. It was fairly noisy but it's in a great area, and a super convenient walk to supermarkets and the bus station, scotia bank etc. I would recommend this hostel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClayEstewart
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Aldea Hostel San Jose, responded to this review

Hey Clay! Thank you for providing feedback! Unfortunately, due to our proximity to the main street of San Jose and being in a popular location, we do have to contend with traffic and pedestrian noises at times. Sorry to hear that this affected the quality of your stay. We are extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and...

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#30 of 84 in San Jose
270 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#5 of 84 in San Jose
873 reviews
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#3 of 84 in San Jose
760 reviews
0.6 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aldea Hostel San Jose

Address: Avenida 2, Calle 28 100m sur Pizza Hut Paseo Colon | Frente a la Sala Garbo, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 819 - ₹ 3,753 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aldea Hostel San Jose 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Aldea Hostel San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aldea Hostel San Jose staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Aldea Hostel San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think we were in room 107.. In the back ..,away from the street ..good room!”
 of 5 bubbles Volcanclimber, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great for transfers to Nicargua, due to closely situated near TICA busses”
 of 5 bubbles yvoh878, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dorms had 6 beds in them and in June, my room wasn't full.”
 of 5 bubbles carlylawton7, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“103 behind the main desk!”
 of 5 bubbles hcarmich42, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I wanted an all-female room and got one!”
 of 5 bubbles bjstarx, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5