We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aldea San Jose

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Aldea San Jose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aldea San Jose
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 13 October 2016

If your looking for a decent place, clean, but not 5 star, this is the place. The staff was helpful and they have hot water shower. You save $10 if you book online and there is 10%off at the attached restaurant, the corner..pizzeria. You will need this extra help as it is expensive as everything in San Jose. The chicken...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Volcanclimber
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Volcanclimber, We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and appreciate your feedback. We are also glad you made the most of our great location like many of our guests. Our attached Restaurant "The Corner" is definitely a proud part of hostel and it´s good to hear you enjoyed it during your stay here. The personal pizzas...

Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Reviewed 30 September 2016

No screens on the windows, so mosquitoes were a bit of an issue. The ceiling fan was seriously gross. Overall decent place, but definitely nothing to write home about. Location was pretty good. Not the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel A
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Daniel, Thank you for your feedback and we are glad that you have liked our location. We are sorry that you had problems with your stay.Mosquitoes usually aren´t much of a problem here at our hostel, but we will consider getting new screens, so thank you for your input. We are also sorry that you found the rooms to be...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a double room for only one night. The room was very dirty, with blood on the bed. The bathroom was dirty as well, i saw at least three big cockroaches in the bathroom. The staff was also unfriendly, not helpfull at all. It is definitely not the best choise in san jose, but one of the cheapest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathijs v
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Manager at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Mathijs, We are very sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your stay! We are not sure why or how there may have been blood present, but that is definitely not a usual problem. We are glad you gave us feedback, though, so we could know. It seems that perhaps our rooms were not cleaned well enough when...

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I Just stayed here for 1 night and to be honest could be better , I saw 3 bugs on my bedroom , and even reception is "24/7" the person in charged was sleeping so I had to walked to the door and ring the bell 3 times clean !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dellop21
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Dellop21, We are sorry to hear you didn´t completely enjoy your stay and we aim to make every guest´s stay here as great as possible so we appreciate the feedback in order improve where necessary. We will be sure to speak with our external cleaning company regarding the bugs you mentioned and they will take the necessary steps in...

Reviewed 23 August 2016

I've stayed in Aldea hostel for 1 night, transferring to Nicaragua. This is perfect because of the close location of Tica Bus. In the rush I completely forgot my glasses, which I found out 8 hours driving away. I left them in the great quality dorms. When I contacted Aldea, they immediately helped me by sending me the glasses to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvo H
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Recepción at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Yvo, Thank you for this, it is always nice to receive feedback regarding of our prime location and a job well done thanks to our staff here. We often find Aldea is a popular choice for travelers that use the Tica Bus station due to our close location. We are also very happy to hear you enjoyed our high...

San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 5 July 2016

big colonial building, friendly guy at the desk, big double room away from the noise as requested, big fully kitted out kitchen for public use and a little connected restaurant next door. very close to small supermarket and a short walk to western restaurants, central market, museums, parque sabana etc. our light didn't work so the guy worked extra hard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

We are glad you had a great stay here at Aldea and thank you for your feedback! we can not wait to see you next time!

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 26 June 2016

First, the hostel itself is clean and the staff friendly. That said, I feel it is grossly unprofessional advertise the room as female only (and charge a couple of extra dollars) and allow a man to use the room. He, by the way, was brought in with a couple of other females in the middle of the night while I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idarey0u
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Gerente at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

We appreciate that you felt as thouoh the hostel was clean and we had a friendly staff. We are so very sorry that this happened to you during your stay here. Your situation is a mistake that we will make sure will not happen again and we haved addressed the situation with our staff member who was working at the...

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Extremely accommodating for a number of reasons I'll let you figure out yourself. They went out of their way to help me with genuine enthusiasm and care. Stayed there one night on the way to Sámara and had such a good experience we stayed there on the way back. The Corner is fantastic too with amazing staff. Was recommended by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rjnd
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Yayy thank you for giving us such great feedback! We are happy that you had such a great experience here and we love our staff and apreciate them for all of their hard work they put into each guest to make them feel at home here. We hope to see you again very soon right here at Aldea Hostel!

Narbonne, France
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 night at the beginning of my trip to Costa Rica. The place is fairly priced for the country. The open, outside kitchen is quite nice to cook in and there are welcoming common places to sit and talk, read, chill in. The down part : the dorm's bathroom lacks some renovation and its windows proper curtains. Also, receptionists...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Estelle N
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure that our staff is able to assist all of our guest the best way possible with confidence. We will be ready to help you out in any way possible when you see us next time here in San Jose!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I stayed here for two nights and found it a very comfortable and clean place to stay. Comfy enough beds and the staff helped me out with everything I needed, including calling taxis for me and advising on the best bus station to go to for my next destination. Fully functioning kitchen and I could walk into town. It also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly L
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We are so glad that you had a great time and experience here at Aldea. We work very hard to make sure we can help our guest in any way possible and we are glad that we were able to assist you in all that you needed. We would love to see you again...

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.3 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
276 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 85 in San Jose
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 85 in San Jose
823 reviews
0.6 km away
Parque del Lago Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 786 - ₹ 3,666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aldea San Jose staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Aldea San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think we were in room 107.. In the back ..,away from the street ..good room!”
 of 5 bubbles Volcanclimber, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great for transfers to Nicargua, due to closely situated near TICA busses”
 of 5 bubbles yvoh878, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dorms had 6 beds in them and in June, my room wasn't full.”
 of 5 bubbles carlylawton7, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“103 behind the main desk!”
 of 5 bubbles hcarmich42, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I wanted an all-female room and got one!”
 of 5 bubbles bjstarx, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5