We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aldea San Jose

Booking.comUS$ 29*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 45*
US$ 29*
Great Deal
US$ 40*
US$ 45*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Aldea San Jose
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 147: English reviews
Start your review of Aldea San Jose
 Click to rate
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

Excellent price for what you get. We booked a double room which was very big and nice. Breakfast served by the bar beside the hotel was really nice. If I were to visit San Jose again I would probably stay there.

Thank Inca2012
Aldea Hostel C, Director de Recepción at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

What a wonderful review, thank you. We love hearing feedback like this! We couldn´t be more pleased that everything was to your liking. Glad you enjoyed our great restaurant. We hope to host you soon again at Aldea! Safe travels!

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

I was here in Feb with my couple and we had an excelent time, very friendly and helpful staff and they have a nice pizza restaurant right next to the hostel with good food and service. Good location just a short walk from Mercado central, supermarkets and Ticabus!

Thank Fernanda F
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Fernanda, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the local sights that we have just within walking distance of the hostel! The staff here at Aldea Hostel would love to welcome you back any time you return to San Jose! Muchas gracias, Aldea Hostel

Reviewed 2 February 2017

We just had a very nice experience at this place, the rooms are very comfortable, and clean, also the hostel's next to a very nice restaurant where you can eat delicious pasta, and pizza that will make you feel like if it was homemade.

Thank Donovan V
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Donovan, Thank you so much for choosing to spend your stay in San Jose with us here at Aldea! We are pleased to hear you found your accomodations comfortable, clean and inviting. Thanks for the favorable review of our restaurant as well! We´re glad you enjoyed the delicious food and we hope to be able to serve you again whenever...

Playa Samara, Costa Rica
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

I spent one night here, in a private room with bath. It was clean, affordable, and centrally located. A inconspicuous sign in the room indicated that hot water is only available until 9am--staff might want to mention that at check in. Hip decor.

Thank MeganEKennedy
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Megan, We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration going forward. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the hot water; our staff have been notified and hopefully when you return to San Jose you will take notice of improvements! Safe Travels, Aldea Hostel Team

Santiago, Chile
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Good atmosphere, friendly staff and clean. It's ubication is specially convenient if you're catching a bus, since it's very close to the main transport companies. There's an outdoor kitchen as well, and free coffee every morning.

Thank PabloFdz
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

This hostel has one of the best locations in San José. Near to the TicaBus terminal, also near to the downtown, a pizzeria next to the hostel.... and more! The staff was friendly and helpful, all the decorations in the hostel are amazing! The kitchen is the weak point of this place... the stove doesn't work very well, but you...

1Thank Darío L
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Darío, We´re happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here and we will share your congratulations and compliments with the staff! We´re glad you found your accomodations clean and comfortable and took advantage of our great location within San Jose. Welcome back any time you return to San Jose! Thanks, Aldea

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Booked the hostel on Hotels.com The place has a lot more of character and overall good. I loved the staff, and the discount at the restaurant for guests (sangria is sooooo good)! I first stayed in a private room w/bathroom on 2nd floor. It was pretty good - only main issue was the low shower head and strange trap door...

Thank balamuedzi
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Staff at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Esteemed Guest, We would like to thank you for your review and are glad that our staff were able to make you feel welcome! We apologize however for your experience during the second night. We recognize the frustration of only having one bathroom for a room of eight, however the limitations of having a historic house makes it difficult...

Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

I stayed in a female dorm for 2 nights, and it is a nice hostel. The staff is helpfull, the restaurant next door is good, and the hostel is clean. That said, I would love to see this place go up to the next level. If they would offer for example free breakfast, that would already be a big step...

Thank Nanda S
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Recepción at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Dear Nanda, Firstly, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your high praise of the hostel, the restaurant and the staff. All are delighted to hear the praise. Secondly, we are also glad to hear your recommendations for how we can improve our service. We hope that you will return in the near future, to continually...

Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

I am very surprised that this hostel reviews so well as regard my 3 stars as generous. We stayed for 1 night in a mixed 8 person dorm. The room was very noisy being only feet away from a busy road. There was only 2 power sockets for 8 beds, the toilet door lock was broken, the locker doors could...

Thank ReviewBarracuda
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director General at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Esteemed Guest, We are sorry to hear that your brief time with us at Aldea was not all you hoped it might be. We are, however, glad to hear that our staff were helpful and friendly – we hope we will be able to welcome you in the future, and show you the improvements since your stay! Since you have...

Jaco, Costa Rica
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I stayed in Aldea hostel for a week. The hostel has really good location only 5-10 minutes from the centre and bus station. The staff was super nice with lots of good advice. Especially thanks for Andrea and Kevin they were really nice and helpful. The dorm was spacious and comfy. If I go back to San Jose I am...

Thank Adri U
Aldea_Hostel_Team, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Aldea San Jose, responded to this review

Hello Adri, Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convinience of the location and that you made the most of the local facilities.We are also glad you enjoyed your stay and we will be sure to let Andrea and Kevin know that you appreciated their help. If you do find your self in...

71 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (28)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Room/Suite (4)
View from Room (2)
Dining (1)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (43)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Room/Suite (5)
Family/Play Areas (3)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (5)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Other (19)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Jose hotels
0.2 km away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 84 in San Jose
282 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Grano de Oro San Jose
1.7 km away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 84 in San Jose
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#6 of 84 in San Jose
1,397 reviews
1.1 km away
Apartotel La Sabana
Apartotel La Sabana
#2 of 84 in San Jose
865 reviews
0.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Flying in or out of San Jose? Don't miss the opportunity to see the city!! At Aldea, we are perfectly situated to allow our guests to experience all the best the city has to offer while staying in a hostel of hotel quality. Located just off Paseo Colon, we are within walking distance of the Costa Rican Art Museum, National Museum of Costa Rica, National Theater, and central market, where you can experience the authentic hustle and bustle of locals shopping for food and goods. If you'd rather spend your time outdoors, we are a short 5 blocks from the large La Sabana Metropolitan Park. Here you'll find beautiful mountain views, a small lake, playground, and plenty of open space and walking paths, as well as the National Stadium. You may even get lucky and have the opportunity to watch a futbol game! The accommodations at Aldea match the luxuries of the city, too. Located inside a stunning Victorian mansion, we offer private rooms and dorms where you can relax in style. Each private room features a vaulted ceiling and ceiling fan, full bathroom with hot water, small closet, TV, and free wifi. Dorms include lockers and a shared bath inside the room, and free coffee is available for all guests each morning. For those who want to socialize with travelers from around the world, there is an outdoor kitchen and garden, spacious lobby with plenty of seating, and an attached restaurant and bar. With so much to see and do, you don't want to miss San Jose. So book your stay with us today! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aldea San Jose

Address: Avenida 2 | Calle 28 100m south Pizza Hut Paseo Colon, in front of the Garbo Room, San Jose 10101, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Petit Victoria)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > San Jose
Price Range: ₹ 842 - ₹ 3,629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aldea San Jose 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Aldea San Jose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Aldea San Jose staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Aldea San Jose staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I think we were in room 107.. In the back ..,away from the street ..good room!”
Volcanclimber, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Great for transfers to Nicargua, due to closely situated near TICA busses”
yvoh878, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Dorms had 6 beds in them and in June, my room wasn't full.”
carlylawton7, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“103 behind the main desk!”
hcarmich42, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I wanted an all-female room and got one!”
bjstarx, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 29* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 40
TravelocityUS$ 45
Agoda.comUS$ 40
View all 7 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates