We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Mono Azul

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Mono Azul
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 295: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel Mono Azul
 Click to rate
Grimsby, Canada
Reviewed yesterday NEW

All of the positive things said about Mono Azul in recent reviews are spot on. I'm a single F "baby boomer" who stayed here for 3 nights and am so glad I did. The location is perfect, and there are local (modern) buses which stop just a few steps away about every 15 minutes for the 15 minute ride to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doodle20142014
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

John and his wife, (Minnesota Transplants) Have a wonderful, centrally located hotel, my wife daughter and I spent two nights with them and were satisfied based on the price. We had 3 meals a day at the restaurant with zero complaints, the monkeys visited daily the 2 small swimming pools were quaint and refreshing. Rooms are sparse, simple, clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike s
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you Mike, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Mono Azul! Please come back soon.

Hilo, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A clean, comfortable room set in a well-groomed, garden-like environment that resembles a mini-Costa Rica rainforest, with two clean pools, macaws flying into the trees and white-faced monkeys crossing above the road on a rope -- that's Mono Azul. I was in town for scuba training and my wife for private Spanish lessons. Mono Azul was ideal for us both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us Jeffrey and the great review. We believe going that extra mile for our clients and glad you recognize that. We do hope you come back to stay with us again soon.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the hotel in our way to Manuel Antonio National Park for one night. Booked it based on this hotel being number 1 in the area as per trip advisor. Far from it....... Over priced. Broken bed. Noisy fan. No hot water in the shower or sink. Worst of all, when my son tried to adjust the shower head...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irfan A
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Hello Irfan, I am sorry you had a bad experience here at Mono Azul. The showers in our basic rooms, like many hotels here in Costa Rica, are called Suicide showers. They have electricity to instantly heat the water. They are not meant to be touched just for safety precautions because water and electricity don't mix well. We have since...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Solo female traveler. I booked a last minute deal for this hotel through a third party online that ended up being incorrect. I called the hotel and they were very accommodating to me. I was able to cancel through the third party and book through mono Azul directly for the same price. The owners were very sweet and helpful. Tom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Nancy N
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit! Please come back and see us again!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Its a cute place with friendly staff and a nice little pool to chill. The hotel is a good option, if you want to stay close to Manuel Antonio and rather want to relax for a night, but not pay too much. Rooms are great for a good sleep, other than that I would not spend much more time in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanny T
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! You are right, Manuel Antonio is a place you want to explore and not spend much time in your room. We are in a great location and have great service for a good price. Thank you for your stay and we hope you come back to visit soon.

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

The rooms were clean and tropical without being tacky. The staff was extraordinarily friendly and pura vida. Food was great. We are simple people and don't need much. Probably too much for the rugged backpack traveler and not enough for the posh ones. We loved it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James G
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are spot on in your description! We offer friendly service, comfortable accommodations and good food in the restaurant. We do hope you will come back to see us soon!

Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Although we weren't staying in the rooms (our adventure tour had us staying at a different hotel), the restaurant was great! American owned, with a Costa Rican kick ;) If you're looking for great, friendly, family-like atmosphere with great food, go to this place! Next trip to Costa Rica, we will be staying here, as the staff, the owners, everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah d
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant! We offer good service and great food, for a really good price! We do hope you come back and stay with us, or just enjoy the restaurant, soon!

Reviewed 3 February 2017

Hotel Mono Azul is on an uptrend after friendly new owners have taken over the business a few years back! We stayed for three nights & really enjoyed our visit. All the staff were very friendly & prompt with any answering any of our questions & spoke excellent English. The air conditioned room we stayed in was very spacious &...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Erik V
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Hello and thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love for you to come back and visit again and tell all your friends!

Poolesville, Maryland
Reviewed 31 January 2017

My fiancé and I stayed at Hotel Mono Azul for 10 days in January, and all I can say is--wow! The owners, Paige and Jon, are the most accommodating hotel/restaurant owners I've ever met. They exceeded every expectation we had, and we are SO grateful for all that they did to make our time in Costa Rica so incredible. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ljameskain
HotelMonoAzul, Manager at Hotel Mono Azul, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words! We enjoyed your stay and so glad you spent this special time in your lives with us. Please do come back on your next anniversary! We will be happy to give you a repeat client discount if you book with us direct. Pura Vida

125 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (102)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quepos
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Kamuk Hotel & Casino
3.4 km away
La Sirena Hotel
La Sirena Hotel
#2 of 16 in Quepos
294 reviews
0.7 km away
Las Cascadas
Las Cascadas
#19 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#7 of 16 in Quepos
112 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
533 reviews
3.6 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Mono Azul is a comfortable, environmentally-friendly oasis in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. We are also closely related to Kids Saving The Rainforest (KSTR). Our hotel has 2 swimming pools, a full service restaurant with breakfast and dinner and bar, free WiFi, and tour booking. We offer a wide range of lodging options. Hotel Mono Azul is under new management as of December 1st, 2014 and continues to be owned and managed by Americans and has been a pillar in the Manuel Antonio Community for over twenty years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Mono Azul

Address: Manuel Antonio Road | On The Road To Manuel Antonio National Park, Quepos, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Quepos
Price Range: ₹ 4,777 - ₹ 6,479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mono Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mono Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mono Azul Hotel
Mono Azul Quepos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Mono Azul staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Gateshead, United Kingdom
3 months ago
4 months ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Mono Azul staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“some rooms have A/C some not...”
 of 5 bubbles 815mikes, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2nd level rooms receive better lighting.”
  • Rooms have nice outdoor seating.
  • Bathrooms have hot water & good water pressure.
  • Rooms are spacious & comfortable.
 of 5 bubbles DIYWorldTravel, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The room on the 2nd floor has no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles , 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to look at the different room options. Ours wasn't great but there may have been other, better options.”
 of 5 bubbles 280ethanb, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Simple rooms, but great atmosphere, lots of wildlife to be seen!”
 of 5 bubbles N2325OWfionam, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5