We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Three Monkeys

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Three Monkeys
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

45 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 29: English reviews
Start your review of Three Monkeys
 Click to rate
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 9 nights here. Really didn't want to leave! Location-out of the main town so quieter, but next to the main road so could be noisy at times. A steep walk downhill to the town but would recommend that you get a taxi back up! Very steep and dangerous to walk up-and no lights in the dark. Cost...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julia H
Canada
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Very clean rooms, private villas with private parking right in front. A little far from the main town (tough uphill walk and a bit risky in the dark) but great stay overall. The wifi barely worked in our villa however.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachvibesonly
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Our second trip to Three Monkeys this time with our adult children...be sure when you are there to make the trip for sunset to Mal Pais. Not fancy but really clean and great hospitality. Thanks Wolf and Cecilia for everything! Amazing pool and whatever we needed was there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpwils0n
Watford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Stayed for 2 nights, good welcome from owner. I am guessing they have had problems with break ins in the past as he warned to leave any valuables with him for safekeeping. Room was good although the A/C wasn't great and was quite noisy so had to turn off sporadically, maybe need updating. Rooms were fine although there were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arttrip90
Reviewed 2 February 2016

If I could rate Three Monkeys a zero, I would without hesitation. It was so awful (for a combination of reasons I will describe later in detail) that I left day 5 of a planned 8-day stay. I would have left sooner, however I paid in advance as part of a retreat my three friends and I were attending about...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Michele D
Ceciliamargareta, Owner at Three Monkeys, responded to this review

Hello Tripadvisor! These people didn't stay in Three Monkeys, they rented a house on the property next door. The 4 ladies came from Chicago and was joining a retreat for rehabs. Very strange people, that is the only comment we can do. Unfortunately we couldn't choose who to take as they were attending the retreat. The main thing is though...

Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Rooms are perfect clean and spacious, very comfortable beds. Shelfs and beds are made from beautifull wood. Owners are very friendly and helpfull. Nice view from the porch. Best things for me: hammocks on the porch, big deep pool. I would recommend Three monkeys to anybody.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhiteSands_cf
Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We planned to stay 5 nights at Three Monkeys and left after one! The welcome was terrible. The woman who we still don't know who she was or her name brought us to the room and was absolutely unable to give any information on activities and local transport! She couldn't speak a word of English and was really not helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Eve J
Ceciliamargareta, Owner at Three Monkeys, responded to this review

To all travelers! Montezuma is a charming little town with a lot of wildlife and several beaches. The hotels are not at all run down. We doubt that this couple ever even stayed at our hotel. However, we hope they had a good stay in Santa Theresa. BR Cecilia

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

Had a lovely week in Montezuma in the three monkeys. Such a warm welcome and the owners were super nice to us all the time we were there. So relaxed, quiet and yet you have everything you need. If you need anything there's always someone to help and advise. I'd definitely stay again. The walk down is easy and it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

Wolf is a very interesting man once you get him talking and Cecillia is very kind. They aren't set up for breakfast yet, but their cabins are well maintained clean, spacious and simple. White walls, comfy memory foam mattresses and the most important part - air conditioning and a pool. We spent 2 nights here and would stay here again....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aublivious
Flores, Guatemala
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Nice small hotel run by a friendly austrian/swedish couple. Large, pleasant rooms with a/c and terasse with a view on the garden, the trees and a may be glimpse of the ocean between the trees. Pretty pool.About a (steep) mile from the village center & the beaches. Wifi is not very stable. Parking on premises.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FransC0

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montezuma hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel El Jardin
Hotel El Jardin
#6 of 20 in Montezuma
315 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Celaje
Hotel Celaje
#1 of 3 in Cabuya
161 reviews
0.0 km away
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
Cabinas Mar y Cielo
#8 of 20 in Montezuma
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
El Sano Banano Village Hotel
#10 of 20 in Montezuma
203 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel El Tajalin
Hotel El Tajalin
#11 of 20 in Montezuma
78 reviews
1.8 km away
Nature Lodge Finca los Caballos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Three Monkeys

Address: 500 meters above Montezuma, Montezuma, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Montezuma
Price Range: ₹ 3,996 - ₹ 5,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Three Monkeys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Three Monkeys staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Three Monkeys staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Hotel has cottages, each with two rooms. each room its own entrance. You can choose any, all is good. Some are single bed, the other has two double beds.”
  • hammocks at every room
  • view of the ocean, the very sunny days may be overlooked
 of 5 bubbles Laurensija_S, 11 Feb 2014 | Read review
“Costa Rican rooms do not come with wash clothes and seldom with glasses. Often only a sheet on the bed”
 of 5 bubbles WorldWonderer77, 22 Feb 2012 | Read review
“There are some rooms that are right by the road, you may want to ask for one furthest away from the road.”
 of 5 bubbles JimGaudet, 18 Dec 2011 | Read review
3 of 3