We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Los Apartamentos del Backpacker

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio National Park
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Los Apartamentos del Backpacker
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Raglan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here in the Terraza Apartment for three nights at $55 per night and it sounded really nice when we booked it. The room was unclean, the sheets were too small for the bed and it was not equipped for cooking - little cutlery and we had to use a plastic lid as a second plate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zimmer30
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My boyfriend and I had a bad experience trying to book a hostel in Manuel Antonio through a travel company. We wrote to Los Apartmentos del Backpacker and right away they were incredibly accomadating and helpful. We stayed in the Floreal Apartment for three nights. We loved being able to cook our own food in our own kitchen and then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M0za
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewed 31 May 2011

The room wasn't clean and the linen had a little dirty on it. The bathroom stinks and we've found two big cockroaches (or cucaracha if you like) about 2 cm each. I understand it's cheap, but that unclean!? About security, it was pretty secured, but we've been on the same floor with the reception.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MariusW
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I dont understand the last two negative posts. Someone perhaps expecting the amenities of a $100 night for the price of $10? I originally planned on staying three nights in the dorm rooms but liked it so much I stayed for a month in a private apartment above the pool (which was kept clean while I was there). In both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spbdave
Toronto
Reviewed 14 February 2011

We checked in at 2pm and checked out at 3pm. Key issues: lack of security, unsafe showers, and dirty pool. Doors to 2nd and 3rd floor rooms lock on an outside gate, but if you got the 1st floor rooms like I did, the gate does not lock. When we asked for a 2nd floor room, we were told no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason670
Basilio2682, Manager at Los Apartamentos del Backpacker, responded to this review

All the gate has the look. The room without look is a shared dormitory with a safe closer with lookers, that room is situated into the main house with a regular door looked and two gates before to arrive here! The cancellation policy of the hotel and of hostebooker (where the room has been booked), is the 1st night of...

Brisbane
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The mattress looked like it had been bought second-hand from another hotel. There were cockroaches coming out from behind the bed. The windows were just screens and the doors had no screens. There was also construction going on next door. All this was fine if we had expected very average rooms. But we explained that we weren't comfortable staying there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travl5
MPLS
Reviewed 24 January 2011

This place was def adequate. Private room was pretty big, kitchen was clean (not a lot of utensils, cookware etc) close to super market and short bus ride to Manuel Antonio (50 cents). It is a hostel but not a part one. Breakfast is merely fruit (cut your own), coffee and toast but for the price what can you expect?...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teebz5rubicon
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 January 2011

The hostel is very well situated, just next to the supermarket, and to the bus stop. The hostel has a good kitchen size , and well clean. Our dorm was ok, just few people can be there, max.6 people, which is nice. It's not a place to make party, but it's easy to meet people and it'squiet by night. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellenwestman
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We found Los Apartmentos to be adequate. In a location where the accommodations are grossly overpriced, LAdB was reasonable. We stayed in the dorm room which is right on a noisy street. It was so loud that you almost couldn't carry on a conversation in the room if a truck or motorcycle went by. But earplugs made the nights tolerable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TropicGirl55
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 16 October 2010

really cool place! clean fun and really easy to hang out with the other travellers! the staff is really friendly and helpful whatever u need! close to the supermarked and 10 mins by bus from the main beach! i would recommend it and stay there again! HAVE FUN THEN!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FELIXMOR77

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,332 reviews
0.0 km away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
840 reviews
0.0 km away
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Rainforest Resort, Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Arenas del Mar Beachfront and Ra...
#4 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
1,339 reviews
0.0 km away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
959 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Parador
Hotel Parador
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are situated in Manuel Antonio downtown on the main street (school zone / football field) close to the Supermarket and Liquor Store Super Joseth. Very close from here you will find a bank, drug store, car rental, bars, disco-bars, cafeteria, restaurants, pizzeria, casino and the bus stop is only at 50 mts. The bus will bring you to the beach and to the national park for only $ 0.40 (possibility to go there by walk). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Los Apartamentos del Backpacker

Address: Zona de la Escuela, Manuel Antonio National Park 311-6350, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range: ₹ 681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Los Apartamentos Del Backpacker Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Los Apartamentos del Backpacker staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?