We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Tortuga Lodge & Gardens

Across from the airstrip | 1 mile north of the Town of Tortuguero, Tortuguero 6941, Costa Rica
Special Offer
Free Nature Walks
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Show Prices
Close 
  • Sea Turtle Conservancy
    3.1 km
  • 3 star hotel
  • Pool
Reviewed 1 September 2015
The best shower I've ever experienced
Wonderful staff, great restaurant and many guided activities... more
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

924 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tortuga Lodge & Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Showing 695: English reviews
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 September 2015 via mobile

The lodge overall is great. However, I did mention that it was my honeymoon while booking our reservation, and they decided to assign us a room with two tiny full sized beds instead of one of the rooms with the king beds. Since we didn't specifically request a king size in the comments section of the reservation, they said we...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank AhRickA
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear AhRickA, Congratulations on your wedding, we are delighted that you decided to celebrate in Costa Rica! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your tours as much as you did, you’re right, our guides are the best in the region and well worth spending more than you would in town. I’m sorry that you weren’t able to have a...

Santa Clarita, California
Reviewed 2 September 2015

This place is a carve out of the rain forest. So, you have to remember that. There are bugs, noises, weather....all of that and it was wonderful. We stayed in the Penthouse and it was perfect for us and our adult son as it has 2 bathrooms and is really big with a very nice view of the water and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue1009
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Sue 1009, I want to thank you for is your “wake up call” and constructive criticism. I am delighted that in spite of the things you mention below, you say that you would stay with us again. Food: I’m sorry that you weren’t prepared for the type of food service that we provide. Our website describes it as follows:...

Evanston, Illinois
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

Wonderful staff, great restaurant and many guided activities available. We had an upstairs unit that afforded more privacy. No air conditioning but screened windows on three sides of the room and there was always a gentle breeze that kept it cool. Plenty of wild life right on the premise and more in the Tortuguero park. Our room and I assume...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank l0kkwan
Camila R, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review! We obviously agree with you about the great advantage of leaving air conditioning, phones and televisions out of the room design. I hope you enjoyed falling asleep and waking up to the sounds of the tropical rainforest. Given the time of year, I’m betting at least once or twice you listened to a tropical rain...

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Spectacular place. Full of charme. A great and wonderfull place for a lovelly and very long week-end. No excesses. You get what you expect from a full of charme place to stay with your couple. A good set of nature activities are available. Enjoy it has we did.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antonio N
Camila R, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Anotnio N, Thanks for this detailed review - it sounds like you had an amazing stay and really took advantage of what Tortuguero is. We’re delighted to read that Tortuga Lodge’s is a spectacular and full of charm place. It’s our goal to create a lodge unique enough to surprise even in Tortuguero, which is really unlike any other...

UK
Reviewed 24 August 2015

We stayed at Tortuga Lodge for 4 days in August. I can't say enough good things about this lodge... everything is though through, for a relaxing break. The grounds are well kept and lush. Just on the hotel grounds we saw a boa constrictor, iguanas (different types), lizards, Tiger herons, spider monkeys, spiders. We went in the rainy season, so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Padiy
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Padiy, Thanks for this detailed review - it sounds like you had an amazing stay and really took advantage of what Tortuguero is. It also sounds like you had great luck with wildlife. Of course, I’m not surprised if you had Willis as your guide. He’s a recent addition to our guide team, but brings multigenerational knowledge and a...

Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Reviewed 15 August 2015

The only real unfortunate thing about our visit to the lodge was that we began our trip to Costa Rica here. Every other visit paled in comparison. The staff was kind and attentive. We really enjoyed our accommodations, but one has to remember that when you visit this location, you are in the jungle. If you are looking for someplace...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Th0mas67
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Th0mas67, What a great review! Thanks a lot for sharing it. You are absolutely right in your characterization of Tortuga Lodge as a place ‘in the jungle’. Sharing and being part of the remarkable setting of Tortuguero has been our goal right from the beginning, and thus the decisions to leave out air conditioning or television (of any size...

Roosendaal
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Imagine a room with balcony overlooking the riverside in tortuguero national park; big Iguana's strolling the lawn, with the sound of howler monkeys in the trees nearby. Simply amazing. .. The rooms have no windows but screens so you can hear all the jungle sounds while a fresh breeze blows through the room; never needed the provided earplugs; we all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rawrawraw
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Rawrawraw, 
Wow! Thanks for the review, I couldn’t have written a better description of what’s special about the Lodge, and I’ve known it for a long time. I’m not going to try and elaborate on the description you made, but I did want to add on that given the Lodge’s remote location and the number of unique activities to...

Europe
Reviewed 14 August 2015

Tortuga Lodge is surely an amazing place in a unique location and the staff is very helpful. I think the other contributors wrote a lot about the positive aspects of the lodge and Tortuguero. Just 2 complaint and the reason for the 4 points. We missed a fridge in the room and I don’t like the invoicing system for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cpandrea
Camila R, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear cpandrea, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Tortuga Lodge on Trip Advisor. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our unique location and that you found the staff to be so helpful. You mentioned missing the fridge in the room, I hope you didn’t read somewhere that we have them, we have never had...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

This lodge gives you an overall wonderful experience. The rooms are lovely, we had an upstairs balcony room which gave a nice breeze. It's a wonderful experience to have just screen and no glass between you and nature. The food was excellent and the boat tour of the national park area is fantastic. Overall a great experience to remember.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Catzontherun
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Catzontherun, Thanks for the review. It’s great to read that you enjoyed your all screen windows - hope you had some nice jungle sounds to listen to as you fell asleep, and again as you woke up. You mentioned the national park, and I thought I’d elaborate on what a boat trip entails a little, in case any of...

Reviewed 12 August 2015

Our experience was amazing, from the moment we arrived until we left, the staff was very helpful and welcoming. The rooms have a great atmosphere and are very clean. The hammocks on the balcony are a great addition and the food is remarkable, we had the chance to meet Federico, the chef, a very nice, talented and humble person. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elo G
Natalie E, Guest Relations Manager at Tortuga Lodge & Gardens, responded to this review

Dear Elo G, I’m really glad to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Tortuga Lodge. It sounds like you hit a lot of the high points - meeting Federico, good wildlife, our welcoming team of staff, and of course a hammock! Thanks for the review, and I hope you can visit again someday. Vacation Time is Precious! Natalie...

785 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (715)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (167)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (54)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
3:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (340)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (58)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tortuguero hotels
4.2 km away
La Baula Lodge
La Baula Lodge
#3 of 9 in Tortuguero
245 reviews
4.2 km away
Manatus Hotel
Manatus Hotel
#2 of 9 in Tortuguero
420 reviews
3.2 km away
Evergreen Lodge
Evergreen Lodge
#1 of 33 in Tortuguero
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Mawamba Lodge
Mawamba Lodge
#3 of 33 in Tortuguero
935 reviews
6.3 km away
Turtle Beach Lodge
Turtle Beach Lodge
#5 of 33 in Tortuguero
444 reviews
3.9 km away
Rana Roja Lodge
Rana Roja Lodge
#9 of 33 in Tortuguero
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
11 River View Downstairs Terrace Rooms. 12 Upstairs River View Balcony Rooms. (A little more expensive, but worth it. See what reviewers have said by clicking on "room tips") 2 River View Downstairs Junior Suites, with connecting door. 1 River View Upstairs Penthouse Suite with 2 baths. 1 of the Downstairs Rooms is Wheelchair Accessible with 2 baths • Beds: 4 Downstairs Rooms and 5 Upstairs Rooms have 1 King Bed. 6 Downstairs Rooms and 3 Upstairs Rooms have 2 Double Beds. 1 Downstairs Room and 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. 1 Downstairs Room has 1 King and 1Double Bed. 2 Upstairs Rooms have 1 Queen and 1 Double Bed. The 2 Junior suites have 1 King and 1 Double Bed • All rooms have: In-room safe, hot water, ceiling fans, reading lamps, hair dryer, free wireless internet and large screened windows so you experience the sounds of the rain forest. • All rooms don't have: TV, AC, or mini-bar. • Service Style: Personalized, informal, caring. • Restaurant: Cuisine: What a Costa Rican Grandmother would cook if she was also a creative and contemporary professional chef. Caribbean themed cocktails, and no we don't mean pina coladas, although we'll make you one of those too. •Atmosphere: Quiet, laid back and with an emphasis on the natural surroundings - most buildings are open air. • No background music. • Suggested activities at hotel: Palm and Orchid Gardens. Plan on 1 or 2 hours. Award winning Riverside Pool. Plan on at least 1 hour per morning or afternoon per day. Hammocks everywhere. Plan on losing track of time in one. 2 computers with internet for guest use at no charge. Spend as little time as possible. You're on vacation. • Tortuguero can only be accessed by boat or by domestic or charter plane. • Tortuga Lodge offers complete packages including round trip transportation, lodging, meals and excursions. • Suggested stay: 3-5 nights. • Owned and Operated by Costa Rica Expeditions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tortuga Lodge & Gardens

Address: Across from the airstrip | 1 mile north of the Town of Tortuguero, Tortuguero 6941, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Limon > Tortuguero
Price Range: ₹ 10,032 - ₹ 17,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tortuga Lodge & Gardens 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tortuga Lodge & Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tortuga Lodge And Gardens
Tortuga Lodge & Gardens Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Hotel Tortuguero
Tortuga Hotel Gardens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tortuga Lodge & Gardens staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Tortuga Lodge & Gardens staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was clean and very spacious.”
 of 5 bubbles 901yvettem, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“2nd Floor Riverview Suits are preferred!”
 of 5 bubbles mozarts381, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We loved being on the second floor, beautiful views.”
 of 5 bubbles 670NancyK, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The end balcony room offers more privacy if you want to leave the curtains open to enhance the feel of being in the jungle”
 of 5 bubbles cvirlaes, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The only disturbance was one of the transfer boats that made some noise when the wind was blowing. I think any room would be great.”
 of 5 bubbles Ivor_and_Sally, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5