We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel RipJack Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel RipJack Inn
Hotel RipJack Inn
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

366 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel RipJack Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 341: English reviews
Frejus, France
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Firstly thanks to jeannette who was very welcoming! For the price(90$ without breakfast it's expensive for Costa Rica) the standard rooms are under kitchen and bar so it was very noisy. Especially the firstr night because there were à wedding over our heads:( However the room is smart and cosy

 Report
Helpful?
Thank juli8382
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Juli, merci beaucoup for your review. We regret hearing that you had a disappointing experience. Due to the wedding during the first night of your stay, the noise level was higher than usual. If we had informed you prior to your arrival, you might have been prepared. We apologize for the inconvenience this might have caused. However, we are...

Fremont, California
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We were browsing for places to stay in tamarindo and playa grande and came across ripjackinn. We were not interested in any place which is in the middle of the town but more of close to nature sort of a deal and ripjack inn is the right place. we were driving from la fortuna to playa grande and had some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soumya L
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Soumya, thank you for your time to write us a review. We are happy to hear that you liked the RipJack Inn. Our standard rooms, the category you booked, do not come with wifi access. There is wifi in our restaurant, however, due to a private function you were not able to use it. We are sorry for the...

Flagler Beach, Florida
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We loved the rip jack inn so much that we didn't want to leave. We stayed a little over two weeks and were, sometimes, the only couple in the whole inn. It was very relaxing during the rainy season. Playa Grande is an absolute gem. Can't wait to go back and have breakfast at the Rip Jack before/after surfing. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshCap28
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this wonderful review and the 5-star ranking!! We love that you loved it! Rainy season is very quiet and there are some travelers that come to Playa Grande during those months and are disappointed by the lack of activity. We are glad you enjoyed the tranquility and having the beach for yourself. Most of all,...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

A stones throw from a big beautiful beach. You can see Tamarindo beach from Playa Grande but its a million miles away in terms of not being constantly harassed by sellers( at least during low season). The hotel itself is very nice, we also got upgraded to a gorgeous suite because of the lack of guests. Breakfast is not included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matsy1
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Especially in low season when very few people are around, we appreciate guests taking the time to share their honest feedback and we are happy to see that your overall experience at the RipJack Inn was good. We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the price-quality value at our restaurant. It...

usa
Reviewed 6 September 2013

As a yoga teacher myself, I'm always grateful for a good class and Annie's yoga is absolutely incredible. She's a wonderful teacher and generous loving person to be around. Class with her in the beautiful studio they've built at Rip Jack Inn is always one of the highlights of our trips to Playa Grande and something I look forward to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanderlustcoasts
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this fantastic review. Annie puts all her heart and soul in the RipJack and its services and facilities. We are so happy to hear that you had such a good and inspiring time at the RipJack. Hearing compliments like this is worth all the work. Pura Vida!

Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Rooms were very good and one of the best in lae reasonable but the bar and restaurants are one of the best in Playa Grande. The location is suoerior and good parking facilities. Easy to find and the character of the building blends into the National Park

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carlos A
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with what the RipJack Inn has to offer. We are constantly changing and improving our business. We would be excited to have you staying with us again and provide us with your feedback. Pura Vida!

Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Although my boyfriend and I did not stay at this hotel, we did visit a couple of times during our stay in Playa Grande. The hotel does look very relaxing and clean. It is steps away from the beautiful Playa Grande. We went there a couple of nights and the service was amazing here. All staff were super friendly, accommodating,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C1006
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

How wonderful to receive yet another review from guests that did not actually stay at the hotel, but were frequent visitors. We are always so excited to see people returning almost every day during their vacation and leaving with a hand shake and bright-eyed saying they will be back soon. This is the best compliment you can give us. Quality...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We were in Playa Grande in late July-early August 2013. We did not stay at the Hotel RipJack, but we were frequent visitors. We found the hotel one afternoon during happy hour. The margaritas perfect. We also had dinner there one evening and they accommodated our group of 23 (11 kids and 12 adults). The food was also very, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHISSYL
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your great review and ranking! It is nice to see visitors returning because they enjoy the atmosphere at the RipJack. We are happy to hear that we fulfilled or even exceeded your expectations at our restaurant when it comes to food, drinks and service. Every hotel and restaurant strives for excellence and it looks like...

Palo Alto, California
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We arrived at the RipJack Inn in the late afternoon -- hot and tired from the drive from Monteverde. It was a pleasure to enter the cool, clean and nicely decorated room at RipJack. A little oasis. The location is excellent - short walk to the beach. The staff is friendly and well trained. Our only disappointment is that breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mari v
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mari, thank you for your time to write us a review. It is great to hear that you felt well taken care of when you arrived. This is one of our main goals and our staff naturally creates a welcoming atmosphere that makes you feel at home right away. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed that...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Me and 7 of my friends spent 5 nights at the RipJack Inn this July and we truly loved it. The atmosphere was super friendly and tranquil. We enjoyed morning Yoga sessions with owner Annie; boogie-boarding/ surfing, sun-bathing and admiring the gorgeous sunset at the beautiful Playa Grande-beach; and chilling-out by the hotel pool or in the many hammocks surrounding...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kine H
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review

Dear Kine, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a true Pura Vida experience here with us - that is what we strive for! It was fun having you here and we would like to thank you for being so loyal to our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you experienced...

449 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (263)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (36)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (127)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (10)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (27)
Viewed
Main Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Second Pool (8)
Viewed
Standard Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Grande
0.3 km away
Playa Grande Park Hotel
Playa Grande Park Hotel
#6 of 7 in Playa Grande
135 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Cantarana
Hotel Cantarana
#1 of 7 in Playa Grande
250 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Bula Bula
Hotel Bula Bula
#4 of 7 in Playa Grande
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.0 km away
La Marejada Hotel
La Marejada Hotel
#2 of 7 in Playa Grande
182 reviews
4.6 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Price Range: ₹ 5,864 - ₹ 11,213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel RipJack Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel RipJack Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We just went to the restaurant and highly recommend it!”
HappyTrailsChicago, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid rooms 2 and three. try to get one in building near pool”
taem111, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Many different room types available depending on your needs”
GForce2012, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room at the pool. all rooms are good in my opinion.”
10Paulette10, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room that is not located under the kitchen.”
337bucks, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5