We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Liberia

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Liberia
Hotel Liberia
Panoramas (5)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 178: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed one night in Hotel Liberia before flying home. It was $25 US per night then and a very good deal. basic room but clean. Staff were warm and friendly and I felt safe as an older woman. The taxi for the airport was early and the hotel arranged that for me. I am thinking of booking again in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy D
Kalispell, Montana
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff was very friendly. We asked if we could leave our bags in a secure area prior to check in so we didn't have to take them to the beach, and they did this, On one night of our stay they had to move us to a different room, they said they would move everything for us while we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brucewhite2015
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Stayed here the night before a morning flight out of Liberia. The staff was friendly, the room was clean, the restaurant food was surprisingly tasty, and their airport shuttle was on time. Courtyard was cute and the facility is nice and quaint despite its central location. Only downside is lack of A/C, but the room's ventilation was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Central location, yet quiet courtyard. Nice property, restaurant on location may not look like much, but the food was surprisingly good! Only 3 beds in shared dorm, fairly spatious. Dorms with shared bathroom are very basic. Showers could use a bit of a facelift! Cleanliness was not an issue though.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IWanderAr0und
Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here one evening after arriving late to Liberia. Wifi only available in the lobby area but our room was right next to the lobby so we got wifi in our room! Very simple room. Clean enough. There's parking available but you'll need to alert someone to unlock the gate and let you in.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marissa M
The Netherlands
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The hotel was in my Lonely Planet, saying it was a budget option, which I couldn't believe when I saw the website and entered it one in Liberia. We arrived quite late in the evening and decided to just try and see. Since we had a price in mind, we asked to place our own matrass in one of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion_124
Manly, Australia
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night in a dorm, which was clean and tidy. It was in a good spot close to shops and the bus station not a far walk away. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Restaurant had really delicious food at a reasonable price. The place is really lovely and has a nice courtyard.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Innes G
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The position of the hotel can't be beaten - only a 2 minute walk from the city centre. However the rooms are very basic, especially where we were at the back of the hotel in the new area. The manager didn't want to know when we mentioned our lack of wardrobe... apparently 2 shelves are a wardrobe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex1871
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Dear client, Thanks for taking the time to write your review, as you saw we are a small family hotel and our main market is usually travellers staying one or two nights during their way to Nicaragua border or when they are using the LIR airport as we as strategically located just few minutes away of the airport and offer...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 17 August 2016

There is no AC unfortunately but since we just needed a place to stay one night after getting in at the airport at 11pm we thought we could handle it. I didn't sleep at all. Hottest night I've ever spent... On another note... place was clean and staff was friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sierra316
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Hola! We are totally aware of the urgent need of A/C in rooms and are working hard in a project to have it fixed as soon as possible. Thanks for your comments, guest opinion will always be important for us to improve.

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel after seeing the cute pictures and good reviews. However, when we arrived we found the room to be disgusting. The floor was concrete and cracked with many holes. The door to the bathroom could barely be called white there was so much dirt on it. Visible finger marks in dirt. The bathroom sink was cracked and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brandon S
KatadeSanCarlos, Owner at Hotel Liberia, responded to this review

Hola Brandon, We are sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay with us. We don´t offer A/C in rooms in any of our advertizing or website description, although we are totally aware this is an urgent improvement we need to fix as soon as possible. I´m wondering if you ever asked to Front Desk to change your room, we definately had...

188 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (99)
Viewed
Casona Two Double Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Tower Room (Double and Single Beds) (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liberia hotels
11.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
0.6 km away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
1.0 km away
BEST WESTERN El Sitio Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Las Espuelas Hotel
Las Espuelas Hotel
#3 of 16 in Liberia
160 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Rincon del Llano
Hotel Rincon del Llano
#11 of 16 in Liberia
64 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel El Bramadero
Hotel El Bramadero
#5 of 16 in Liberia
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer the oldest 'bed & breakfast " accommodation in Liberia city, capital Guanacaste province. Located on the main street (Calle Real), 75 meters South of Central Park and the main Catholic church, rowed in a line of old houses, hotels, restaurants and cultural elements characteristic of the history of this legendary beautiful city. The hotel has an old house with thick walls and high bahareque (centuries-old technique of building with mud and grass) and decorated mosaic floors, where there are 6 rooms of the Casona and the main dining room.The hotel offers close proximity to the bus station, taxis, supermarkets, banks and shops, and it is located in the heart of the city being the oldest street in Liberia. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Liberia

Address: Calle Real | 75 mts sur del parque central, Liberia 50101, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Liberia
Price Range: ₹ 953 - ₹ 4,492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Liberia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Liberia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Liberia staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Liberia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms at the back. Central Liberia, so traffic can be an issue but you can walk to all amenities and great restaurants.”
 of 5 bubbles , 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with tall ceilings in front building are cooler.”
 of 5 bubbles ren_eh947, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The main building is worth paying extra for but the rooms on the street can be a bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Mar186525, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms will be noisy as directly on street.”
 of 5 bubbles JillyfB, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a window that opens. The fans work.”
 of 5 bubbles lauramV3207YF, 22 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay