We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Springs Resort and Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
Panoramas (36)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Springs Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,051: English reviews
bend oregon
Reviewed 24 January 2015

I really wanted to love this place, but it wasn't worth the $700 a night. The property was nice, rooms were clean. I guess if I had gotten a Groupon coupon I would be stoked, but I just don't think it was worth the price. We had just stayed at tabacon for 3 nights and I enjoyed there natural setting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sofistka
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear sofistka, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our property, rooms, and springs. I apologize that your experience was anything but perfect. I see you traveled in January, which is our peak season, so this may have been the reason for the crowds. We have 28 pools on property...

long island, Ny
Reviewed 20 January 2015

I first saw this hotel on groupon back in 2013 and even wanted to change our honeymoon to this place but the future hubby said no lol... skip ahead to 2014 and I was planning our 1 year anniversary for 2015 and I saw this on groupon again :) so got the 3 nights and it was an amazing deal....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank poisonivy918
John P, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and review our property. It is always great to hear when our guests have a memorable trip here. Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary, and thank you for choosing The Springs Resort & Spa for this memorable occasion. We hope to have you back soon. John Picart...

Reviewed 17 January 2015 via mobile

If your wallet allows it, spend at least one night at this resort. First class all the way. I would recommend a massage and then a nice steam in the men's locker room followed by some tea in the locker room lounge area. Words and pictures can't describe the beauty of this resort. Side note, if your are going to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank najarb
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear najarb, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. Our staff works hard everyday to ensure that our guests receive the best care and are able to go home with unforgettable memories of their vacation in Costa Rica. Our on-site Sancturary Spa offers a full service spa menu including facials, wraps, massages,...

Boulder, CO
Reviewed 17 January 2015

I was fortunate to be afforded a 4 nt stay to The Springs a week short of it's official opening a few years ago. This property is stunning, and yes, the pools are "all that". The resort is situated so there is a direct & close view of Arenal. Fortuna is close, quaint and enjoyable. Lee & Cindy also own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank upgradeplease
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear upgradeplease, Thank you for your kind review of our properties. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you back with us again soon. From all of us at The Springs Resort and Spa... Pura Vida! Warm Regards, Melanie Marsell Guest Relations Melanie@thespringscostarica.com

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 16 January 2015

We arrived at The Springs Resort and Spa, La Fortuna, Costa Rica on Friday December 26th 2014 and stayed for 4 days. There’s no other way to say this - the resort is absolutely fabulous. In terms of location it’s easy enough to find if you approach from La Fortuna. Unfortunately our Nuvi GPS system took us on a route...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank TimWandMelG
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear TimWandMelG, Thank you for your detailed and extensive review of our property. I am sure that many Trip Advisor users will appreciate all of the tips you have provided in this review. As you mentioned, our guest rooms are very elaborate. Our ownership takes great pride in all of the details found throughout the property. Note that most of...

Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 15 January 2015

We'd been conducting training in San Jose when, for an end-of-week treat, the group headed to Arenal for some local colour and atmosphere. A few headed of into the clouds to try and see the volcano proper; the more sensible of us parked in the spa for the afternoon and felt no pain at all. A wonderful variety of temperatures,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mick W
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mick W, Thank you for choosing to spend your weekend retreat with us at The Springs Resort and Spa. Our resort is the perfect place to relax as we have over 20 hot spring pools, 5 bars, 5 restaurants, and a full service spa ready to cater to your needs after a long week! I hope that the rest...

Reviewed 14 January 2015

We were soo excited about staying here! When you pull up its a show stopper for sure! Its gorgeous , but the food was terrible, expensive and not up to par with a 5 star resort. We had 2 bathrooms in our room one the shower was broken and never fixed. The housekeeping was great, but other than that staff...

 Report
Helpful?
13Thank Markonewton
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Markonewton, I would like to begin by thanking you for your recent stay with us. That being said, I truly apologize that your stay was anything but perfect. Our management team has been made aware of your situation and are taking your comments very seriously. I can assure you that your situation was out of the ordinary and not...

Reviewed 14 January 2015

My husband and I spent 3 nights in the Arenal Volcano area at the Lost Iguana Resort and did the Multi-Adventure package at The Springs Resort for $99/person. I can't say enough about how lovely both of these resorts were! The weather was a little misty and rainforest-like which was actually kind of magical. Even if you don't stay at...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank aaspencer85
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear aaspencer85, Thank you for your recent review of our resort. I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the many amenities we offer at our resort, including our Club Rio Outdoor Center. As you stated, the multi-adventure package is a great option for those not staying at the resort but want to come see what we...

Pittsburgh
Reviewed 10 January 2015

we had an amazing experience at the springs. we stayed here with our two boys (4 and 8). the springs are luxurious and relaxing. my kids had a great time relaxing at all the different pools. we were there for 6 nights and there are so many different pools we didn't even get to try all of them. club rio...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank achaudry
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear achaudry, Our goal is to provide each and everyone of our guests with a unforgettable experience, and I am thrilled to hear that we met our goal with you. Our outdoor center, Club Rio, is very special to us and I am happy you enjoyed the tours we offer. That being said, I am disappointed to know that you...

Doylestown, Ohio
Reviewed 9 January 2015

The Springs is an expertly designed and attended full service 5 star resort property in the heart of Volcano land with spectacular panoramic views of active volcano Arenal. The enormous property is a North American owned resort along with La Paz waterfall gardens and reflects many details of luxury hotels found in the United States. Incredible gardens and sculpted pools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capt_of_Adventure
Melanie M, Manager at The Springs Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear CostaricaMe, Your feedback is very important to us and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We put a lot of time and effort into making sure all of the details of our resort are perfect for our guests, and I am happy to see that you were able to see this hard...

2,771 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1993)
Viewed
Dining (97)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (60)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (146)
Viewed
Room/Suite (256)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
View from Room (182)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (425)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (792)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (697)
Viewed
Amenities (172)
Viewed
Other (350)
Viewed
Dining (104)
Viewed
Standard Room (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arenal Volcano National Park hotels
1.8 km away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,096 reviews
2.0 km away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,216 reviews
2.2 km away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,044 reviews
1.8 km away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
636 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A World Class Luxury Resort featuring Spectacular Hot Springs, Picture Perfect Views of the Arenal Volcano from every guest room and Four Restaurants including our famous Ginger Sushi Bar and Las Ventanas fine dining. Enjoy our 28 mineral laden, artesian Hot Springs and our 14,000 square foot Spa and Fitness Center. All of our amenities make The Springs Luxury Resort & Spa a great destination for Costa Rica vacations, weddings, or a honeymoon. Our 27,000 square feet of event, convention and meeting space have also made us the leading Costa Rica conference hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Springs Resort and Spa

Address: | 9 Km Oeste y km 4 Norte del centro de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park
Price Range: ₹ 25,875 - ₹ 57,127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Springs Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Springs Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Resort And Spa At Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
The Springs Hotel
The Springs Resort And Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Spa Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Family Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#3 Luxury Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arenal Volcano National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Springs Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
72 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (72)

Questions? Get answers from The Springs Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Honeymoon suites have their own spring fed hottub”
 of 5 bubbles sicandtired, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have volcano view.”
 of 5 bubbles Dougo8, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“its mid ranged to luxury budget... depending what luxury budget means to some..”
 of 5 bubbles kbenson9, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have Volcano view, so they are all good!”
  • volcano view 2
  • volcano view
  • bed
  • bath
 of 5 bubbles F7715RNcarolined, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“As far as I can understand, all views are great.”
  • Sunsetting view from our room!
  • Our children loved the elephant on their bed!
 of 5 bubbles 269suzanneb, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5