We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Arenal Paraiso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs

Save
Share
7 Km Oeste de la Iglesia de la Fortuna, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 10503 Costa Rica
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$114
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Expedia.com
$127
View deal
Free cancellation until 08/12/22
Travelocity$127
Priceline$120
Lol.travel$151
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1345)
360
Panoramas (10)
Room & Suite (535)

About

#38 of 69 hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Enjoy of cozy & comfortable rooms surrounded by tropical gardens, with the best view of Arenal Volcano. Discover the wellness of our hot springs and our Mayin Spa. Taste the Costa Rica flavor, international cuisine and the best steak house in the area. Feel the adrenaline on our Canopy Tour, and take the best shots of Arenal volcano on our horseback riding.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Spa
Parking
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Restaurant
Swimup bar
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Poolside bar
Meeting rooms
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
Sun loungers / beach chairs
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Safe
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish

Location

Full view
58Somewhat walkable
Grade: 58 out of 100
10Restaurantswithin 1 km
3Attractionswithin 1 km
1708Reviews28Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 454
  • 641
  • 364
  • 139
  • 110
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Danielle P wrote a review Oct 2022
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina75 contributions54 helpful votes
Hotel was booked thru a GATE 1 travel agency that I've used in the past. Check in was easy, welcome drink was tasty fresh juice. Great view of the volcano thru out the grounds. The grounds where clean, beautiful flowers that are well maintained. We did see a few animals roaming freely. Most of the rooms are on top of a steep hill, they do have a shuttle if needed. Staff was accommodating and welcoming, gift shop was not staffed when I went to check out. They do offer tours and zip line activities. Several thermal pools on property, two where not open, none of the pools are clean. Only one was warm enough for us to enjoy. Rooms are large, needed to be updated. Our bathroom smelled like foul smelling sewage, black knat bugs on walls and curtains, tint ants on walls. Room 268 Food Breakfast had a variety of fruit, meat and pastries to choose from. The coffee in Costa Rica is always delicious. Dinner was basic, we had empanadas, grilled fish, mixed veggies and bread. I had to ask for salt and pepper at every restaurant in Costa Rica, food isn't seasoned very well in my opinion. Gate 1 travel company used this company for hotel rooms, they have been notified of the incident, they chose not to do anything about it. Stated to me that I needed to take care of it with the hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 2 weeks ago
Greetings, we are sorry not to have met your expectations, this is not usual in our service. What happens is that this type of situation must be notified at the time of the stay to be able to change the room or solve the moment
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Arcee_CO wrote a review Oct 2022
Wheat Ridge, Colorado1096 contributions271 helpful votes
We visited for one night as the middle of an 8-day all-expense Trafalgar package tour. It was a restful and comfortable break after a bad-weather day (washed out roads and unscheduled detours). The visual setting is unforgettable - the huge volcano just outside our room window. The thermal hot pools were a novel mini-adventure - located among isolated individual cabins. Some were warm others barely so, with no map and few signs to assist guest especially after dark. But a fun option. Our included breakfast buffet was fine.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 2 weeks ago
For us it was a pleasure to serve you, we greatly appreciate your excellent references, we are glad to have been able to satisfy all needs. See you soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lemon wrote a review Sep 2022
Spokane Valley, Washington10 contributions2 helpful votes
This was the second stop on our two week Honeymoon in Costa Rica. The location is stunning. You aren't far from the volcano at all nor La Fortuna. Arenal Volcano is the perfect backdrop to your day weather you are driving in, lounging by the pool or hot springs, or sitting on your porch of the room. I highly recommend getting a room with a view, though you can get the view just walking around the property but it is nice to open the curtains first thing in the morning and see what mother nature created. During our time, the weather generally rolled in in the mid to late afternoon. Showers off and on, heavy rain, and the barrage of lightening and thunder. It's still warm and beautiful though. You can watch the weather from your porch or any of the restaurants. The hotel staff is friendly, but definitely on tico time. The restaurant staff is also friendly. This is a gated resort which is nice. There are tours and a spa through the resort too. The resort is in a beautiful scenic location and within 10 mins to town for your needs or souvenirs. The resort hot springs are awesome, late night sessions while it's raining is an awesome way to close out the evening.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Volcano
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 21 Sep 2022
For us, it was a pleasure to serve you, we greatly appreciate your excellent references, we are glad to have been able to satisfy all needs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Barry C wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel Arenal Paraiso Resort and Spa! What a rip-off! This 3* joint of a hotel is soon to a be a 1* property. GM, COMPTROLLER, ASSISTANT COMPTROLLER AND THE MARKETING DIRECTOR should all be fired; wake up ownership group!! Their lack of willingness to dig into why I was charged $3700 for 2 rooms for 4 nights in the off season is ubsurd. How they can say they don't know who the OTA/CCI is on there own website is ridiculous. Boycott this place for ripping off guests, and I was a repeat customer. Shouldn't happen to seniors. I've read about this type of scam!! Shame on you!! Travelers beware!! For the sake our industry this has to stop.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 21 Sep 2022
Greetings, thank you for sharing your opinion, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations, this is not usual in our service.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
nikki j wrote a review Aug 2022
Virginia124 contributions15 helpful votes
When we we arrived at this hotel, we were amazed at the clear view of volcan arenal. Check in was pretty easy and all staff we encountered were friendly. The swim up pool bar was relaxing on the first night. We tried the hot springs, which seem a little spooky at night if you're not used to the animals. But once we got used to that they were nice. We went around trying a few of the springs to find the perfect one. The breakfast was SOOOOO DELICiOUS. It's buffet style but everything was so fresh. The room was comfy. The porch was nice to hang things to dry, and sip some coffee/water while watching the sun set. In the morning, you can hear and see the monkeys on the roofs. They have a lot to enjoy on the grounds, but we didn't get to try everything since we had a packed schedule.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Para nosotros fue un gusto servirte, agradecemos muchísimos tus excelentes referencias, nos alegra haber podido satisfacer todas necesidades. Nos alegra que te haya gustado el desayuno buffet. Los esperamos pronto.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jules W wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We loved our stay! The staff was amazing shoutout to Fabio and Edwin for making our trip extra special. Pura vida 🛩 We also enjoyed zip lining and had so much fun. Definitely recommend visiting this resort and experiencing life long memories!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Saludos, gracias por compartir tu opinión, ¡gracias por tu excelente calificación! Fie un gusto servirles. Pura Vida
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Missty P wrote a review Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
We loved the layout of the hotel with the individual cabins and the cascading hot springs. The grounds have a beautiful setting with a great swim area the kids enjoyed and a swim up bar that the adults enjoyed. Fabio took great care of the entire family from drinks to snacks and Omar did too!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Para nosotros fue un gusto servirte, agradecemos muchísimos tus excelentes referencias, nos alegra haber podido satisfacer todas necesidades.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LauraLL27 wrote a review Jul 2022
Frankfurt, Germany18 contributions15 helpful votes
We stayed here for two nights during our Costa Rica roundtrip in June/July 2022. Positive: The location and complex itself – especially the volcano view – are great. For people having trouble with walking, however, it is only suitable when bringing a car or constantly using the shuttle due to really steep paths uphill. The hot springs are nice too, although they're not really hot - we found the top ones at least comfortably warm. Check in/check out and bookings/requests at the front desk went smoothly. Negative: The concept with many small bungalows close to nature is actually nice. The rooms would urgently need a refurbishment though. Furnishings seemed cheap and very worn. In my opinion, it is completely normal for a few insects to be in the room in such an environment, but in our case there were simply a few too many, especially in the beds. You can stay in the rooms for a few nights, but overall it's not really comfortable. Unfortunately, the food was by far the worst of our two week trip. The breakfast was okay, but the dinner in the main restaurant was really bad in terms of choice and quality. What bothered us the most was the atmosphere – a large, uncomfortable hall with bright floodlights and relatively dirty after a few groups had already eaten before we came. All in all, it seemed primarily designed to get large travel groups through as quickly as possible and with minimal effort. So on the second day we ate by the pool in the evening, which was a bit better but very expensive for the average quality offered. The hotel is not within walking distance of La Fortuna (taxi $10 one way), which limits the options here a bit.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 12 Sep 2022
Greetings, thank you for sharing your opinion, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations, this is not usual in our service. We are going to work on it.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
DianaVredeveld wrote a review Jul 2022
Hillegom, The Netherlands112 contributions91 helpful votes
A lovely priced room/cabin in the centre of Arenal. Clear view of volcano Arenal. On the grounds there are a nice swimming pool and 11 hotsprings with different temperatures. They were a real treat. We also ate at the restaurant, which was good. (Maybe a bit on the expensive side) But all staff were very friendly. Only remark, the cabin could use an update.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good parking spaces near your cabin.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 12 Jul 2022
Greetings, thank you for sharing your opinion, we are sorry we did not meet your expectations, this is not usual in our service. Thank you for sharing your opinion, for us it is very important to take into account working on these aspects.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
HVB wrote a review Jun 2022
San Jose, California8 contributions1 helpful vote
We stayed 4 nights at the resort and loved it. The location is great and the view of the Arenal volcano mountain is great from every one of their rooms. The two restaurants on site have good food. We are vegetarians and ended up eating there all 4 nights as it would start raining around 4pm and we did not feel like taking a taxi back and forth to La Fortuna. They had decent variety of food, good taste and we were able to eat different things each day. The hot springs on the property were very handy after coming back from activity each day. The nice thing about them is 7-8 small pools instead of 1 big hot spring pool. This allowed multiple groups to spread out in different pools and relax and feel private while in there. Since they are in the open and surrounded by so many trees, they do get some tree debris in there. But they are cleaned regularly to keep them clean. In our 4 days stay there, we saw 2-3 different pools being drained out, cleaned and refilled. They do put in effort to keep the property updated. I am not a big fan of pillows at the hotel, but found their beds and pillows very comforting. We loved out stay there and would definitely return if we come back to costa rica.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Valery Córdoba, Marketing at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Responded 27 Jun 2022
For us it was a pleasure to serve you, we are very grateful for your excellent references, we are glad to have been able to satisfy all the needs.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$106 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arenal paraiso hotel la fortuna de san carlos, arenal paraiso hotel resort and spa, hotel arenal paraiso
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of AlajuelaArenal Volcano National ParkLa Fortuna de San Carlos
NUMBER OF ROOMS
118
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARENAL PARAISO RESORT SPA & THERMO MINERAL HOT SPRINGS (Costa Rica/La Fortuna de San Carlos) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs
Which popular attractions are close to Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Nearby attractions include Natura Eco Park Costa Rica (0.8 km), Baldi Hot Springs (0.2 km), and Free Natural Hot Springs River (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a swimup bar, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Conveniently located restaurants include Altamira Restaurant, Surá Bar & Bistro, and Amor Loco Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Spanish.
Does Arenal Paraíso Resort Spa & Thermo Mineral Hot Springs have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.