We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Eco Arenal Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Eco Arenal Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Eco Arenal Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 80: English reviews
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

The hotel is not very special. It is not bad, just basic. We had a room in a double house. The layout of the room is a little odd. There is a lack of places to put things on, like a table. Only for suitcases and a rack. The bathroom is small, with only the shower and toilet. The handbassin...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Olaf V
Laura P, Propietario at Eco Arenal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to thank you immensely for taking the time to leave us your feedback according to your recent stay in our hotel. At this time the rooms are basic and this is because the hotel was taken under new management just two months ago. We have many short-term goals to offer a pleasant room, it means some...

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 6 January 2016 via mobile

I Stayed with my family at Villas Eco Arenal on Dec 30th and when we left to Loberia we forgot my son's stuffed teddy bear in our room. Natalia and the staff of the hotel sent the bear to San Jose, the city from which we departed on January 4th. We were able to recover the bear which was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank llambrano
Laura P, Propietario at Eco Arenal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to thank you immensely for taking the time to leave us your feedback according to your recent stay in our hotel. Honestly, it was a pleasure to have served you and your family, for us as a company our priority is guest satisfaction and we are honored to know that we were part of your memorable...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 30 December 2015 via mobile

Warm showers! Clean rooms with air conditioning. Breakfast was great! The staff was real nice. I would stay here again. There is a kitchenette with a refrigerator, sink and standalone with 2 gas burners. The bathroom was bigger than others we stayed at and we had a porch. Five of us stayed and it was plenty big enough. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wheniamnothome
Laura P, Propietario at Eco Arenal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to thank you immensely for taking the time to leave us your feedback according to your recent stay in our hotel. We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay in our hotel, and also we are glad to hear that our staff treated you kind, it is what you and all our guests...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Pros : Nice property with good estate views , palms tree and really good showers with lots of water force ..You need that trust me when you are taking 3 times in a day shower due to the rain or waterfall or just heat !! Every morning break fast was made which we love it as no waste with limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faz2121
Laura P, Propietario at Eco Arenal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to thank you immensely for taking the time to leave us your feedback according to your recent stay in our hotel. I am very pleased to know that you had a nice stay in our hotel, every day we try to better our gardens and our services to make your vacation perfect. As you mentioned in...

Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Very good customer service experience and friendly staff. Nice and well kept grounds. You can explore the river that runs through their property. I would suggest they have an area to relax and hangout outside of the pool area. The basic room we stayed in was just for sleeping and watching TV and at times i would have preferred a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank USA P
Laura P, Propietario at Eco Arenal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to thank you immensely for taking the time to leave us your feedback according to your recent stay in our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that our staff gave you a very good customer service, we like being kind and helping in any way we can, to make your trip to Costa Rica very...

Reviewed 16 December 2015 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, nice "tico" breakfast is included, beautiful setting, nice pool, great location and views. Great prices too. We stayed here 3 nights and want to come back again soon. Outside of town so it is quite. I would recommend a rental car because there is so much to see and do in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
Laura P, Gerente at Eco Arenal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to thank you immensely for taking the time to leave us your feedback according to your recent stay in our hotel. I am very glad to know that you liked our Hotel, our staff does its best to make sure you feel at home, our goal is to make your stay with us memorable. Thank you...

St. Gallen, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights to visit the Arenal area and it was good. Breakfast is a mix of fruits (watermelon, pineapple and papaya), some eggs and cheese. Daily all the towels where changed and the room was cleaned. If you want to stay in this hotel we recommend to have a car because it's about 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rp_mar
Laura P, Gerente at Eco Arenal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We want to thank you immensely for taking the time to leave us your feedback according to your recent stay in our hotel. We really appreciate your comments, it is very important for us to know how your stay in our hotel was, in order to improve each day and provide the best experience for our guests. Thank...

Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2015

The hotel room was large with air con and a decent size bathroom. You have everything you need except a safe in the room and sometimes the wifi would cut out. The grounds are beautifully kept and the pool is clean and a good size. Breakfast was what let the hotel down as a whole - although it was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lopalop7
Leawood, ks
Reviewed 13 August 2015

The rooms were very basic with two full beds, a bathroom, a small fridge and a small TV. The air was not on when we checked in and we messed it up trying to get it on. They came immediately and fixed it. They cook for you if you order food for any meal a hour in advance. Huge amount...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewed 21 July 2015

clean and nice place and would go back again for sure! we were pleasantly surprised, I was a bit unsure because it was such a good price. It was about a very short drive to the town. We went with a big group of friends and everyone was very happy. The staff was helpful and friendly, great service. The place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gscardona

152 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.4 km away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
221 reviews
14.7 km away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#25 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
768 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#24 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,228 reviews
7.1 km away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,150 reviews
3.8 km away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#33 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Villas Eco Arenal is a mountain Eco hotel, designed especially for rest. It is 2 miles north of Fortune and you reach it by a stone road. It has satellite TV with 5 channels. The emphasis is on their facilities and green areas close to nature as can be seen many types of birds, sloths, frogs and a huge amount of types of flowers and lush vegetation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eco Arenal Hotel

Address: | 2 km north from Banco Nacional, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: ₹ 6,485 - ₹ 9,957 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eco Arenal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Eco Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eco Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/La Fortuna De San Carlos
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eco Arenal Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Eco Arenal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our little row of bungalows around the green were lovely, quieter on week days”
 of 5 bubbles marialeake, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms have good location, but it looks like for a long time nobody is taking care of the basics.”
 of 5 bubbles Lulu1984, 25 Jun 2016 | Read review
“All rooms seemed nice, we were at back of property so had privacy and lots of green vegetation out our door.”
 of 5 bubbles merrikayl, 10 Mar 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are the same, according to the front desk worker.”
 of 5 bubbles nrs9ab, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“There are different rooms available on the property. Free parking.”
 of 5 bubbles JenSimar, 13 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5