We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Shanghai Royalton

Agoda.comUS$ 86*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 105*
US$ 86*
Great Deal
US$ 87*
US$ 87*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Shanghai Royalton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Shanghai Royalton
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a twin room 2 months before checking in and requested high level, quiet, non-smoking room. What I got was: at 4th floor, facing elevator pod, a very smelly non smoking room. I had all the troubles other reviewers mentioned, un-lockable safe (interesting thing is I can lock it, but can not unlock it), wet floor after shower, smoking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tou f
Wang Y, 总经理 at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Please do accept our apologies for your disappointment in a number of our services. Your comments have been shared with the managers of the departments involved so that corrective action may be taken. There is no excuse for the short comings which you have experienced. Although...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonyyslee
Wang Y, 总经理 at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is in a good location, though it is about 10 minute walk (via a shortcut through a residential area) to the nearest subway station. The room has a simple setup, yet is comfortable and pleasant. The breakfast is also adequate. The hotel is in adjacent to the Shanghai Gymnastic Center and a big swimming center.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nanbao_trip
Wang Y, 总经理 at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest I thank you very much for your most recent stay at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and appreciate that you have taken the time sending us your review. Great that you have enjoyed stay with us overall and that the hotel location. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The front desk staff was unable to track my credit card payment in spite of me showing her the confirmation of zero outstanding on 15 March 2017 when I checked in. She said she needed the credit card number in order to verify my prepayment. It caused me some trouble while I had to visit my bank account via internet...

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank wingcheungc2017
Wang Y, 总经理 at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your most recent stay with as at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and for sending your stay review. Your ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us in order to continue improving our service. From your ratings I do understand that during your stay you have experienced challenges with Front Desk service and Air-condition....

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I am here since 15 minutes and I already do not appreciate this hotel. I am a GOLD member and always travel Accor, but this is not a mercure level hotel. -I went in the priority line for checkin but nobody considered me -I was treated really bad by the man at the reception -I am trying to drink a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Massimiliano M
Wang Y, 总经理 at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sparing time and posting your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. Customer feedback has always been an integral part of our learning curve, understanding and catering to the needs of the esteemed guests. On this occasion an acceptable standard has clearly not been met, and we have not succeeded in meeting your expectations. I...

Reviewed 14 March 2017

My experience is biased because there was construction going on during my stay right across the hall from my room. Maybe it is better than when I stayed there? It is a basic, clean hotel aimed I think at business travelers. The location was within 6 blocks or so of a subway station so it was easy to get to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine M
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The reconstruction for the hotel lobby and restaurant has been completed now. Also our breakfast area moved from 2F to 1F in...

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Not much to to say. The room I had was big enough, good TV and clean bathroom. Just like what you would expect from a Mercure Hotel. Quiet as it is located a few hundred meters away from the main road and they have a concierge offering taxi services. Didn't tray any of the restaurants as I only staid 1...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fab_El1501
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services....

Changzhou, China
Reviewed 7 February 2017

with Zhongshan park station jut around the corner this hotel conveniently sits on line 2 of the metro. The location is decent enough, there are various restaurants around including Mr Pancake house (breakfast, lunch, dinner) and the Cloud Nine mall which has most major food companies in it (pizza hut, yangs dumplings, KFC, Wagas-which is awesome- etc etc). Service was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hebeh0ldsw0rth
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I thank you very much for your most recent stay at Mercure Shanghai Royalton and appreciate that you have taken the time sending us your review. All ratings and constructive comments are very valuable for us in order to continue raising the bar of services. Great that you have enjoyed staying with us overall and that the hotel...

Melbourne
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We had serious difficulties upon check-in with any available Staff with adequate English skills. This surprised us given this Mercure's location and the number of international visitors that it must attract. This area is very busy and close to many educational institutions, including the international gymnasium but it did not provide a welcome nor friendly greeting. I know that many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte F
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Happy Chinese Lunar New Year! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is...

Semarang, Indonesia
Reviewed 6 January 2017

This time, I would like to share my recent experience staying at Mercure Shanghai Royalton last September 2016 (7 nights). Contrary to few reviews stating this hotel was close to metro station, it was true only if you were a light traveler. For those who have luggage with them, I don't suggest them to even consider walking from metro station...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bambang S
Wang Y, General Manager at Mercure Shanghai Royalton, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Shanghai Royalton. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#82 of 4,998 in Shanghai
736 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Pentahotel Shanghai
Pentahotel Shanghai
#62 of 4,998 in Shanghai
539 reviews
Shanghai Railway Station
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
Pullman Shanghai Jing An
#61 of 4,998 in Shanghai
1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
JadeLink Hotel Shanghai
#174 of 4,998 in Shanghai
75 reviews
Zhongshan Park
Jinjiang MetroPolo Hotel Classiq Shanghai Jing An Temple
Zhongshan Park
Renaissance Shanghai Zhongshan Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Zhongshan Park

Neighbourhood Profile
Zhongshan Park
The residential and commercial areas around the beautiful grounds of Zhongshan Park have never been considered particularly fashionable by a majority of Shanghai’s foreign residents, but plenty of expats do choose to live here. The park itself is a huge draw, providing a pocket of serenity in the middle of the metropolis. The area has its share of trendy shops with wares that can’t be found elsewhere, delicious restaurants with food ranging from fancy to affordable, and great hidden bars. Rents are also cheaper here than in other neighborhoods with the same conveniences. Aside from the obvious attractions, with its neighborhood fix-anything shops and pop-up street stalls that sell anything you need, you’ll never sacrifice Western comforts.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Mercure Shanghai Royalton

Address: No.789 Wuyi Road, Changning District, Shanghai 200051, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Zhongshan Park
Price Range: ₹ 3,103 - ₹ 8,145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shanghai Royalton 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Shanghai Royalton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Royalton Hotel
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#70 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#149 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Shanghai Royalton staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Shanghai Royalton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“you will get what you paid for”
touf2017, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a window, although there's not much of a view”
charlottef550, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for high floor room to ensure a quiet environment and stand for better view...”
BambangS, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book another hotel”
Earsfloppy123, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“A fair way out of Shanghai depends on where you are going from there”
774debf, 21 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$ 86* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 87
Hotels.comUS$ 87
TripAdvisorUS$ 87
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates