We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Show Prices
#35 of 4,997 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 213: English reviews
Start your review of Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai
 Click to rate
Liverpool
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen a great hotel. Staff were very attentive, efficient and friendly. The rooms were spacious and spotless and the breakfast service was equivalent to a top class restaurant. Well located and a great base for seeing all the sights and sounds of this amazing city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSteveJ
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear LiverpoolSteveJ, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), our hotel is always committed to offer the best accommodation, best cuisine and best service to our guest. Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. We have great location in Former French Concession near Shanxxi S Road metro stop and Huaihai middle Road. It is really convenient...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at this lovely hotel for six nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a choice of either a full Japanese breakfast set (see photo) or a buffet. The Japanese breakfast (for those with a penchant for traditional breakfast with grilled fish, egg, stewed vegetables, and an assortment of condiments) were exquisitely presented and served. Staff service was outstanding....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank live2eat2017
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear live2eat2017, We are terribly sorry to learn of the unpleasant experience you had in your room. Your suggestion about mattresses was delivered to the leadership of Room Division. They will pay close attention to the matter and try to adjust the bed. If you have any problem, please call us without any hesitation. Our engineer department would check all...

Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago

Elegant, fine attention to detail and beautiful service: Okura managed hotels are always of the very best standard. The location and setting of the Garden Hotel is amongst the best in Shanghai. And for what it offers, the prices are reasonable too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogerhSingapore
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear rogerhSingapore, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai). Our staff speaks English, Mandarin and Japanese. We have two restaurants for breakfast, Rose coffee in western style and Baiyulan in Chinese style. The view of the upper floor room is breathtaking especially at night. Around the hotel are many restaurants, malls and streets. We do hope you can choose...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Chose this Hotel for convenience to our office & reviews on Breakfast were good. We are Regular's at Okura in Bangkok. This model is not as fancy, but not as expensive either. For the price you get a clean room (I had lowest rating room) it had a clean bathroom (shower over bath / hand held devise also, with shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenni E
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Jenni E, Thank you so much for staying many times. We will never let you feel disappointment. We have great history which embodied by the frontage built between 1925 / 27 by a French architect and was the French Tennis Club. Now the tennis courts have gone to be replaced with 7 acres of magnificent gardens in the middle...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a few pleasant stay at Okura Roppongi, Tokyo. Was expecting something similar. However, this was a totally opposite experience. Small, dirty stinky room. Not so pleasant front desk experience, feels like a fake Okura.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 新消息
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for choosing the Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai for your recent stay. We are terribly sorry to learn of the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. As you mentioned in the questionnaire, we will pay more attention to the training for the new employee. Try our best to make them master the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is just 3 min walk to the nearest train station and is located next to the 1apm shopping mall. Overall, it has a Japanese theme. For breakfast, we can choose to have the international breakfast (Rose Lounge) or the Japanese set menu (山里). The spread of the international breakfast is quite good while the 山里serves authentic Japanese set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salkitty L
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Ms. salkitty L, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai). Your compliment is the best reward of our hard work. Okura Garden Hotel is run by a Japanese consortium, which will guarantee a great service from the beginning until the end of your stay. We targets not only businessmen, but also offering best convenient for your holidays in...

Altona, Colorado
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I enjoyed my stay here. The room was quiet and has a great view, The hotel staff was very courteous and attentive. They arranged hotel transportation. The hotel was near other good restaurants so I wasn't confined just to the restaurants in the hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoLongJ
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear ColoradoLongJ, Thank you so much for staying many times. We will never let you feel disappointment. We have great history which embodied by the frontage built between 1925 / 27 by a French architect and was the French Tennis Club. Now the tennis courts have gone to be replaced with 7 acres of magnificent gardens in the middle of...

Israel
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Certainly a beautiful hotel in a highly convenient business location. A ton of potential. Nice views and pleasant rooms. A couple of things that were frustrating: Mainly, an extremely confusing rate structure where additional payment is required for use of fitness facilities and pool, and sometimes for breakfast. Service is general was okay but a bit pedestrian for this level...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank levtahor
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear levtahor, Thank you very much for choosing the Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai for your recent stay. As you mentioned, Okura Garden Hotel is located in a nice neighborhood with several shops and restaurants around, without mentioning the beautiful garden next to the hotel. And as our valued guest, your feedback is very important to us. We are very sorry...

Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

This is one of the worst 5 star hotels I have ever stayed in. I cannot believe this is a 5 star hotel. The hotel is situated in a wonderful location in the middle of the city, with a beautiful garden and historical building. It's a shame the service staff's training and attitude are not fitting to reflect the outlook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chingyi Giulian... P
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Chingyi Giulian... P, Thank you for choosing Okura Garden Hotel (shanghai), your evaluation and advice are very important to our hotel. First, we are terribly sorry to learn of the unpleasant experience you had in our hotel. Your suggestion about mattresses and sheets was delivered to the leadership of Room Division. They will pay close attention to the matter...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 27 January 2017

I am a frequent traveler to Asia and the Okura Garden is my favorite in Shanghai. The location cannot be better - it's within 5-minute walking distance to the Huaihai street and three subway stations (Lines 1, 10, and 13), and yet quiet and tranquil for mega city of Shanghai. The facility there is not ultra modern, but clear and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Longhornliu
GSMgarden, 客户关系经理 at Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai, responded to this review

Dear Longhornliu, Garden hotel is a very clean and elegant hotel, setting in a beautiful garden with excellent service all around. We have a great location for exploring the French Concession, with convenient metro connections. There are also a lot of local cafes and shopping around, as well as large modern malls. The Rose cafe dining area serves up a...

531 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (422)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (213)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (71)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Hotel
Jin Jiang Hotel
#86 of 4,997 in Shanghai
688 reviews
Former French Concession
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
Jin Jiang Tower Hotel
#113 of 4,997 in Shanghai
577 reviews
The Bund
Les Suites Orient, Bund Shanghai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#22 of 4,997 in Shanghai
1,238 reviews
Former French Concession
InterContinental Shanghai Ruijin
Jing'an
URBN Boutique Shanghai
URBN Boutique Shanghai
#43 of 4,997 in Shanghai
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Former French Concession

Neighbourhood Profile
Former French Concession
While there are technical borders to the area formerly governed by the French in Shanghai, the "French Concession" of today is an amorphous neighborhood that is a favorite of the city's foreign residents. While it is mostly within the Xuhui district, residents will sometimes include parts of Jing'an and Luwan in their mental maps of the Former French Concession. The area seems frozen in time, characterized by quiet, tree-lined avenues, French-style villas, interesting boutiques, lively bars and quaint cafes that are not typical of China. All of these mix and mingle with local life as Chinese markets and lanehouse communities are peppered throughout. Denizens of the Former French Concession can spectate a mahjong game on the street or get their bike checked at a tiny bike repair store on the way to their refurbished apartment tucked away among Chinese family homes.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.58 Maoming South Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Region: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Former French Concession , Huaihai Road
Price Range: ₹ 8,427 - ₹ 17,827 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okura Garden Shanghai
Shanghai Okura Garden Hotel
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#51 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#100 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Okura Garden Hotel Shanghai staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is available upon request. I would suggest calling the hotel directly to make this request. Rooms facing the garden are recommended.”
live2eat2017, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Garden room”
VioletJ, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if they are working in the street ask to be moved to the garden side.”
Molihua2013, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I got the end room very quiet but scary due to quietness.”
IlaMusa, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a room facing the garden, very quiet, never heard any traffic”
CologneCitizen, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5