We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Matamanoa Island Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Matamanoa Island Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 775: English reviews
Start your review of Matamanoa Island Resort
 Click to rate
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our travel agent said "fly and flop" which is exactly what we did (from the UK, so it's a long way to go for us). No children under 16 so the whole place was calm and quiet. We went out of season (February) so the place was only half full which made it even quieter. Don't go if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Bird noises at night are a major issue. Sound like crying babies. Large number of black birds all around the bure making a lot of noise. Had a couple of sleepless nights. Lovely place in the day but the birds make it impossible to sleep. Also some other issues like drapes that are worn out or don't close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Drum C
Dubai
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

After a great deal of research into this island and other destinations ,I can honestly say this ticked all the boxes in so many ways. This was a surprise holiday for my wife,and apart from knowing she was going on holiday the destination was unknown ,I really do not know where to start but would like to enlighten revue readers...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Richard L
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Where to start? We arrived by the public boat - 1 1/2 hours but quite comfortable, but be ready to get your feet wet getting off the boat onto the Island. We returned by express boat - just the 4 of us + 4 crew in a fast boat - 50 mins and quite bumpy. Third option is the helicopter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy S
Sundre, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a relaxing, magical place to stay. We had a wonderful time. Awesome people, great beach, great snorkelling. It was a perfect holiday! We had a garden bure. It was just steps away from the beach but when we go next time we are going to book and beach bure. The view is right to the ocean and it offers...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Myvet1980
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a place! Pulling up to Matamanoa is akin to pulling up into a postcard. The island is simply gorgeous, and the common areas of the resort that meet you leave no choice but to take a deep breath and enjoy the phenomenal decision you made to end up there. My wife and I recently stayed at Matamanoa for 4...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank surfingpil0t
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vinaka

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stunning island, great diving, great food, fantastic people. The island itself is beautiful & the rooms are great value for the price you pay. BUT - The best thing about the island is the people, the staff are very friendly. If you enjoy a drink or two after a hard day on the beach then look for Sia & Joe...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Craig F
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

I don't even know where to start. From my arrival and greeting (complete with a beach welcoming ceremony and fresh fruit juice / cool cleansing towel) to my very tearful departure, I was immediately treated like family at the resort. My room was beautiful and fully accommodated my needs (I know people like to go on and on about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cupcakelovah
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review

Vinaka, we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next visit

Montreal
Reviewed 15 February 2017

I had to cancel my reservation 1 month in advance because I found out I was pregnant and they do not recommend to go to Fiji while pregnant because of the virus Zika. I informed them as soon as I found out but they refused to refund the hotel room charges for the 3 nights I had reserved. This hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camilla8899Montreal
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review

Camilla, not quite correct, and the booking conditions when you booked clearly stated that the time for cancellation had passed and no refund would be given. Matamanoa offered you a credit to use at a later date. It it your responsibility to ensure or your travel agent's to have adequate travel insurance prior to travel. Vinaka

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Our family of 6 stayed on Matamanoa in January to celebrate my mothers birthday. It was everything we could hope for and more. From beginning to end the whole experience was incredible. Snorkling is amazing, private plunge pools and day beds a luxury, and friendly staff who provided great service during our stay. I would recommend Matamanoa to anyone and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elizabarrett90
newsofthepacific, Director of Sales at Matamanoa Island Resort, responded to this review
Google Translation

Vinaka

1,785 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1750)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (225)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (304)
Viewed
Room/Suite (182)
Viewed
Dining (95)
Viewed
View from Room (179)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (759)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matamanoa Island
20.3 km away
Lomani Island Resort
Lomani Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
670 reviews
25.8 km away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
415 reviews
7.4 km away
Tokoriki Island Resort
Tokoriki Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Tokoriki Island
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 km away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
830 reviews
12.3 km away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
860 reviews
35.3 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Matamanoa Island rated 4 star, is an intimate and secluded, adults only Fijian Resort. We are set in the beautiful Mamanuca Islands approximately 30 kilometers west of Nadi International Airport - experience a true gift of nature. The Island boasts a volcanic cone jutting out of the azure waters of this unspoiled marine sanctuary. Clad with native bush and palm trees, the brilliance of the vegetation contrasts magnificently with the white curved sandy beaches and pristine coral reefs. Combined with nature, we have created a haven for those who want to relinquish the pressures of a busy lifestyle. This is for those who dream of peace and tranquility. To achieve this special atmosphere, Matamanoa Island Resort has adopted a year round policy of not permitting day-trippers or children under the age of 16 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Matamanoa Island Resort

Address: Matamanoa Mamanuca Group, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Mamanuca Islands > Matamanoa Island
Price Range: ₹ 18,298 - ₹ 35,177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matamanoa Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Matamanoa Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matamanoa Island Hotel Matamanoa Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Matamanoa Island Resort staff and other travellers.
59 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (59)

Questions? Get answers from Matamanoa Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in a beach bure if you can. The view to the ocean is breathtaking.”
 of 5 bubbles Myvet1980, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Splash out for a room with a plunge pool.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a villa with a pool and stay nearer the main resort during bird mating season they are quieter.”
  • Villa 15
  • Day Break View From Villa Deck
  • Our Pool and Day Bed
 of 5 bubbles GlennG954, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Villa 6 - Very Private and a little away from the main area.....however not an issue as all rooms are fabulous!”
 of 5 bubbles rosievaccaro, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No need any tip to choose a good room. This is how good it is!”
 of 5 bubbles 26elsiec, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5