We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Show Prices
#16 of 64 Hotels in Mobile
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown\/Historic District
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

508 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District
See the most recent reviews
Showing 500: English reviews
Brandon, Mississippi
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed here for the USTA sectional tournament and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very nice, rooms were very clean and the 17th floor skydeck bar provided a great view of the city. I'd have no issues staying here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joseph w
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again! Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Marietta, United States
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We checked in on a Sunday afternoon for a cruise on Monday. The staff was very nice and accommodating. The facility was in good shape, clean and cared for. My wife and I had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and we had no complaints. We did go up to the 17th floor bar the night of our stay and enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John A
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for your wonderful comments about our hotel! We're so glad you found your rooms fresh and received exceptional service from our staff. Relaxing and feeling at home is what the Holiday Inn Downtown-Mobile is all about, and it makes us happy you had an amazing stay. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope...

Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

We was there on our roadtripp for one day. The Rooms are clean and big. Enough Parkingspaces. Free and fast Wifi. The Restaurant was ok for Dinner and Breakfast. Has friendly, fast staff and fair prices. The Skylounge bare too. Abd an awsome view. So i tecommend it and com again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yves R. K
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Mobile, AL
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We always stay here for Joe Cain Sunday through Mardi Gras day. The hotel is located in the middle of the parade routes, you can actually see most of the parades three times with with short room breaks to freshen your drink. The hotel is round so the rooms are a little pie shaped and the bathrooms are very small,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BayBob
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Other than not having free breakfast, this is a decent hotel in the downtown area. Room was clean, nicely appointed. The shower though... I never thought I was going to say this, but it is too strong! The water jet is so powerful that it hurts! Not sure they could look into this and reduce the water pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roberto M
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my Wife and another couple before a cruise. We split a room, which was clean and plenty big enough for four adults. The air conditioner worked amazingly, which is sometimes hit or miss in hotels. The snooze and cruise package is great and well priced if you are leaving for a cruise. They offer a shuttle service...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank medicrn68
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

I can't say much about the room because I didn't spend a lot of time in there. But what I can speak to is the overall experience and customer service. We got to town early, so we went to see if our room was ready. We didn't expect it to be due to it being a ride day. They asked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morgan H
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Tayler...

Reviewed 24 February 2017 via mobile

Our stay was terrible. Floor was filthy. We had to have wristbands to get to the room which was fine but the staff were rude about it. First, we asked for new bands because we wanted to take a shower and didn't want to walk around with a wet wrist , and the front desk lady refused to get us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janey Q
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely, Tayler M Front Office Manager

Mobile, Alabama
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I don't normally do a review.... Don't expect a call back. I have been calling and emailing them for three weeks, no return calls. I was quoted a price when we reserved this room a year ago and then when I checked in, they would not honor it. I went ahead and stayed, but now we have been doubled charged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brantley_craig
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience. Sincerely, Tayler...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 21 February 2017

Run as far away from here as possible... I am still is shock and disbelief of what my friends and family experienced over the past weekend and this place. We had a large group that stayed downtown for the convenience of Mardi Gras, but never again will it be at this hotel. The room types that were promised numerous time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JasonKirksey
Tayler M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as that is not up to our normal standards. Please be advised that we are being proactive about your concerns and do not take this lightly. However, since Mardi Gras brings such high demands and volume, we have contracted extra people to...

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mobile hotels
0.1 km away
The Admiral Hotel Mobile, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mobile/Downtown
0.6 km away
Candlewood Suites Mobile-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Malaga Inn
Malaga Inn
#8 of 64 in Mobile
406 reviews
0.5 km away
Renaissance Mobile Riverview Plaza Hotel
7.1 km away
Mobile Marriott
Mobile Marriott
#5 of 64 in Mobile
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Mobile Hotel Offers Convenient Location Welcome to the downtown Holiday Inn Hotel in the historic district of Mobile, Alabama. Located just off I-165 and I-10, our Mobile hotel offers a prime location for business and leisure travelers alike. Our Mobile, Alabama hotel is ideally located in the heart of the city, providing quick access to many popular attractions and activities. Less than a mile from our hotel you'll find the Carnival Mardi Gras Museum, the Gulf Coast Exploreum and the IMAX Theater. Other attractions less than 20 miles from our hotel in Mobile include the USS Alabama, the Mobile Zoo, the Mobile Botanical Gardens and several well-known golf courses. Business travelers also enjoy a stay at our hotel in downtown Mobile due to its close proximity to area businesses. Just 14 miles from the Mobile Regional Airport (MOB), our hotel is also within a mile of the Mobile Bay Convention Center. Businesses less than five miles from our downtown Mobile hotel include Bender Ship Building, Austal USA, Alabama State Docks, Brookley Complex, Atlantic Marine and Carnival Cruise Lines. Our accommodations offer premium amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. Guests can enjoy the convenience of free high-speed Internet access, an on-site restaurant and lounge, laundry facilities, a fitness center and a business center. Book your reservations now for the Holiday Inn hotel in Mobile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District

Address: 301 Government Street, Mobile, AL 36602 (Formerly Lafayette Plaza Hotel)
Region: United States > Alabama > Mobile
Price Range: ₹ 7,061 - ₹ 11,206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District Hotel Mobile
Mobile Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mobile
#13 Romantic Hotel in Mobile
#14 Family Hotel in Mobile
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Sulphur, Louisiana
Fairhope, Alabama
8 months ago
over a year ago
9 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn - Mobile Downtown/Historic District staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“16 floors, nice large, clean rooms”
redh2o8, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Eat Breakfast somewhere else for the price.”
ThePCGuy, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the South West side are the best views.”
201timw, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the upper floors”
SouthernTraveler1995, 11 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms have great views.”
POLLYANNA57, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5