We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

PricelineUS$ 121*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 160*
US$ 121*
Great Deal
US$ 123*
US$ 123*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

Arrived early because we had not realised we were moving into a new time zone, and so didn't expect our room to be ready. However this was not the case and the front desk team arranged for housekeeping to get our room completed asap. We were in our room in about 15 minutes. What service! Our room was on level...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel, and regret that we did not provide a level of service that anticipated and responded to your needs. I apologize for the issues that you reported, and hope to have a future opportunity to regain your confidence and goodwill.

Portsmouth, Ohio
Reviewed 18 April 2016 via mobile

Great stay!! Very clean. Staff friendly. Very quiet. Room was very spacious. We had a king suite. Hot breakfast was excellent. I love the cinnamon rolls. Convenient to mall and food. Great place if your going to Church of the Highlands.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lola N
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be seeing you again soon here at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites.

Dunlap, Tennessee
Reviewed 20 January 2016 via mobile

First things first... it's not that bad of a place to stay. Only major drawback is the location. Not much in the immediate vicinity in terms of restaurants, you will go 2-3 miles for the standard big box fare. As for the hotel itself, I found it, well, average. Ho hum... front desk staff was good and speedy, accommodated me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ThatPilotTech
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

We are always working to improve our product and services and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences. There is no excuse for the housekeeping issues that occurred during your stay. We have been working with our staff to ensure these matters are corrected. Thank you for the distinct service you have provided us by sharing your...

Gainesville, Florida
Reviewed 15 December 2015

I was in Birmingham on business and needed a convenient place to stay the night. This Holiday Inn was a great place to stay for the night. It was clean, Quiet and had a good free hot breakfast. The Staff was polite and helpful. I would most definitely recommend this Holiday Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JLI2009
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review and for letting others know you would stay here again with us at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites. We hope it is soon.

Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

The room was clean and neat. I would give them a 5 star if the coffee maker was clean and should have placed it not inside the bathroom. Anyway we only stayed 1 night so that wasn't really a big deal. Kodus to the person who prepared the breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FELIX CEASAR S
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your good review of our hotel and we hope to see you and your family again on your next trip our way.

Charlotte, NC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

I originally booked an airport hotel. It seemed unsafe, so I looked to book elsewhere. A friend who lives nearby told me to go to the Irondale exit, as there was much more there - Restaurants, a mall, etc. I ended up at the Holiday Inn Express. Not to disparage Birmingham, but it's not the nicest town. Having said that,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bgsu3
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Your good review of our hotel is appreciated and we would like to thank you. We apologize for the problem with breakfast and will be looking into it. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Georgetown, Texas
Reviewed 27 October 2015

We checked in on late Saturday afternoon. No fan in the bathroom, the wall was kicked in & needed to be repaired and a couple of other places in the room needed plaster and paint. The cover for the bed was dirty. "YUK" Would not stay here again. On the positive side the gentleman @ the front desk made the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Denise A
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I am sorry that there were some issues that you were not completely satisfied with. I thank you for your feedback as it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. We will certainly use your comments...

Jacksonville, North Carolina
Reviewed 15 September 2015 via mobile

This is definitely a first and only time staying here! Hotel needs to be renovated and tended to, and then maybe I could recommend it. Good thing I only had to stay one night while traveling otherwise I would have asked for a refund.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mzsrob1
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. While we are very happy that you chose our hotel for your recent stay, we are sorry that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies and we hope that next time you are in town you consider staying with us...

Johns Creek, GA
Reviewed 14 September 2015

Overall, this hotel is nice and clean. Rooms were well appointed and clean, overall hotel was updated and clean as well. However, the shower head in our shower was WAY too much for the normal sized shower. Not only was there a puddle of water on the floor after showers but I felt as if my skin had been sandblasted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

I understand that there were some issues that inconvenienced you. I thank you for bringing this issue to my attention so that we can follow up. It is through feedback as yours that we evaluate ourselves and identify the areas where we can improve.

Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Reviewed 12 September 2015

Drove in on Wed. PM 8/26, stayed thru Sun. AM 8/30. Front desk clerk Dwight greeted us with a very upbeat, helpful attitude that we came to see in the entire staff during our stay. Quick, easy check-in. The room was clean and well-kept; everything functioned perfectly, Sm. refrig., microwave, coffeemaker, TV. Beds ( two double ) comfortable, AC worked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raleigh T
KanaHotelGroup, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

Your complimentary review of our hotel is much appreciated! Hopefully, we'll have the opportunity to host you again soon.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irondale
1.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
0.3 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#47 of 79 in Birmingham
75 reviews
6.3 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
5.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
10.8 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Birmingham East-Irondale, where you'll find comfort and luxury meeting side by side. The Holiday Inn Express is located I-20 at exit 133 by I-459 exit 27. Our hotel is here to provide you with a refreshing atmosphere! We offer a free Express Start breakfast featuring at least two hot items daily! Don't forget to try our delicious cinnamon rolls! Our well-appointed guest rooms feature our new Stay Smart bedding with triple sheeting. Each of our suites has a pullout sleeper sofa, microwave and mini-fridge. Each room has a curved shower rod and Kohler Stay Smart shower head. We offer services such as: free airport shuttle service from 5 AM to 11PM, free high-speed Internet access, on-site fitness and business centers, outdoor swimming pool and spacious meeting rooms. Irondale is the ideal destination for the corporate traveler with Birmingham Airport, Honda of Alabama, UAB, Imaging Business Machine and Trinity Hospital all right in our backyard! Need a fun and convenient get-away with out being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of downtown? Be sure to visit the Irondale Café, Barbers Motor Sports, Talladega Super Speedway, BJCC, Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, Bass Pro Shop and Vulcan Park while in Birmingham! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is a favorite for business travelers and families who are visiting the Birmingham area. Let us prove to be your favorite too! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites

Address: 811 Old Grants Mill Rd, Irondale, AL 35210
Region: United States > Alabama > Irondale
Price Range: ₹ 6,464 - ₹ 13,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Irondale
Holiday Inn Irondale
Irondale Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Raymond, Maine
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose room 203, in case they haven't fixed the TV remote. Better to stay on first floor so you don't need to use the slow elevator.”
LizK655, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Highest floor less noise”
KizieC, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“easy on/off I20”
kathyj256, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“use the floors and not the 1st floor, a little noisey with the coming and going”
aberts2015, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The Wifi was horrible! Don't even try to use it!!”
DeniseA72, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$ 121* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 123
Booking.comUS$ 123
TripAdvisorUS$ 123
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates