We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

250 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 248: English reviews
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewed 25 October 2016

No night time house cleaning, breakfast buffet wad over price for lackluster food. Great bedsand shower though. For a single night stay, it would be good, but not for a three week stay like mine. Probably won't use this Doubletree again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertfO1902ON
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We use this as a tool to better our hotel! We are sorry you did not enjoy your long stay with us. I will bring this up to management about the housekeeping. We hope you will give us a chance and stay with us again next time you are in Decatur.

Reviewed 24 October 2016

I had specifically chosen this hotel because of them having an indoor pool, expecting to be able to enjoy it. Sadly, there was a large children's party being held and they had taken over the entire area. Yes, of course we expected to share the pool with others, but this was beyond reason for anyone. I love kids, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elissa B
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We use this as a tool to improve our hotel. We are so sorry that happened i will speak with the management team about this situation. We hope you will stay with us next time you are in Decatur!

Avon, Indiana
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The town was experiencing major road construction, and we were unable to have any cable reception, but our kids were happy with the pool. An extended stay with three young children may have been a concern, but our overnight visit during beautiful weather made for outdoor activities. We had the perfect room for our family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ltrow1388
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Had time for a quick getaway but wanted to stay close to home. Found the DoubleTree in Decatur and was not disappointed. First the price was excellent, especially for a DoubleTree, and a weekend at that. Second, the Location is excellent. Yes, it is by a highway, but the hotel is insulated well. Did not hear road noise once during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bigdaddyd701
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review! we value our customers feedback and use it as a tool to improve our hotel.We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will come back again!

Ohio
Reviewed 20 October 2016

This is a very nice hotel. We were only in for just one night but found the hotel to be quite clean and well decorated. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. The view of the river from our room was pleasant to look at. The breakfast was one of the best we have had at any Hilton property. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r440m
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! we are so glad that you enjoyed the stay with us! I will make sure to pass on the great compliments about the room to all department heads! we hope you will stay with us next time you are in Decatur!

Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights for business. I am Hilton Diamond and travel a lot. I have even stayed here before. But. This trip was different. For 4 nights, TV did not work..despite frequent calls and requests to report it. My room was tiny with no outward facing windows. Odd and tomb like.. We are in restaurant and the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
Calvin P, On behalf of the hotel staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give...

Cape Coral, United States
Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is a wonderful place to stay. All the staff was friendly and willing to help. The bed was so comfortable. The restaurant had great food. Would recommend the Lumb crab cakes and the Twisted chicken.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will pass on the Compliments about the food to restaurant and kitchen staff! We hope to see you next time you are in Decatur.

Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Cable provider feed unwatchable throughout -disappointing on an NFL and CUB Playoff Sunday (of course, the Cubs have been as bad as the TV service since that time). Little done to accommodate/address that lack of service. All OTHER service and facilities great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 645jackr
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! We are constantly striving to make our hotel better! We are so sorry about the inconvenience the whole area is experiencing an outage through this provider. We are working with them to get that issue fixed. We hope you will stay with us again!

Johns Creek, GA
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed here this past weekend, for one night and was very pleased with everything. The girl checking us in was very accommodating, the room was very nicely appointed and extremely clean and the overall hotel was very upscale but at a very affordable price. We will never stay anywhere else when we come to town

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! we are so glad that you enjoyed the stay with us! I will make sure to pass on the great compliments about the room to all department heads! we hope you will stay with us next time you are in Decatur!

Decatur, United States
Reviewed 11 October 2016

I enjoyed by stay in the Doubletree. The hotel was exactly as the pictures on the website and we enjoyed our stay. Room was clean. We encountered an issue where the neighbor's music was extremely loud after 12midnight. I called the front desk and someone immediately came and knocked on that door, requesting the patron to lower their volume and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Valeria O
Alyson T, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us! Also thank you for the excellent review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We constantly strive to make sure that our guest feel at home and enjoy themselves when they can not be at home!

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
1:33
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Decatur hotels
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn Decatur
Hampton Inn Decatur
#1 of 18 in Decatur
338 reviews
5.3 km away
BEST WESTERN River City Hotel
5.5 km away
Courtyard Decatur
Courtyard Decatur
#6 of 18 in Decatur
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Decatur
5.1 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Decatur
6.0 km away
La Quinta Inn Decatur
La Quinta Inn Decatur
#8 of 18 in Decatur
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Feel welcome the moment you arrive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront in Decatur, AL with a freshly baked chocolate chip cookie on arrival. Located at the edge of Historic Downtown Decatur, the hotel overlooks the beautiful Tennessee River and Steamboat Bill Memorial Bridge. Thirteen Fortune 500 companies are less than 10 miles from the hotel, along with many industries, corporations, restaurants and shopping opportunities. Point Mallard Park is less than 3 miles away and the U.S. Space & Rocket Center is only 20 minutes from our modern hotel in Decatur, AL. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront

Address: 1101 6th Ave NE, Decatur, AL 35601-2417 (Formerly Garden Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Region: United States > Alabama > Decatur
Price Range: ₹ 6,066 - ₹ 7,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel Decatur
Holiday Inn Decatur
Decatur Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Decatur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Somerville, Alabama
Unionville, Indiana
6 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Decatur Riverfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles r440m, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Higher floors might mute road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BrunaF150, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“On floors 7 & 8, choose rooms in the center. On the ends of the hall, your rooms will not cool properly, and the hallway will be sweltering.”
 of 5 bubbles 709shelleyu, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Nice indoor and outdoor pool”
 of 5 bubbles sherrimcmillanmm84, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that is not near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles melissarX957PB, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay