Ethnotel

Ethnotel

71/1 Jessore Road Opposite Airport 2.5 No Gate, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700081 India
Tandoori Chicken
Traveller (143)
Room & Suite (87)
Ethnotel
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#49 of 423 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Ethnotel is a “Three Star” Hotel. Ethnotel is located just 200 meters from the Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose International Airport, opposite Gate Number 2.5. Free Wi- Fi access is available. Each air-conditioned room here will provide you with a cable TV and a seating area. There is also an electric kettle. Featuring a shower, private bathroom also comes with free toiletries. At Ethnotel you will find a 24-hour front desk. Other facilities offered at the property include tour desk and luggage storage. Offering a multi-cuisine restaurant for 24 hours. The property offers free parking. The hotel is 4 km from City Centre, 5 km from Ecospace Park and 7 km from the Nicco Park. The Zoological Garden and the Victoria Memorial Hall are 15 km. The Howrah Railway Station is 12 km.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Concierge
Newspaper
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

71/1 Jessore Road Opposite Airport 2.5 No Gate, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700081 India
348Reviews17Q+A66Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 141
  • 45
  • 23
  • 21
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Dipanjan D wrote a review Sept 2023
Kolkata (Calcutta), India228 contributions43 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at this hotel yesterday for one night.

Good things first:-

1) I received a professional welcome letter even before I checked in
2) Front Desk employees were thoroughly professional.
3) Room quality & amenities were as per standards. Although I found drinking water provided per person was little lesser in quantity
4) Breakfast spread wasn't lavish, but optimum & decent

Only terrible thing I found was the "Management Policy" in terms of IRD. I'm an individual who spent 16+ years in hotel chains like Hyatt, Starwood, Carlson Rezidor. I have never seen a policy where guests are forced for spot payment for IRD. The IRD personnel told me on my face that "You'll have to make the payment every time you order, the same cannot be posted in room folio". He also insisted for cash payment which I denied. Ultimately I paid by card. I do not blame the service lad . From my own experience, I understood he was simply following "Management Instructions"

During breakfast, I saw the foreigners are also staying in the hotel. Such WORD OF MOUTH may not be good for the hotel, even though everything else is top notch as per the price I have paid
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Koushik Banerjee, Revenue Management at Ethnotel
Responded 12 Sept 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback, and we are glad to hear that you found several positive aspects during your stay. Firstly, we are delighted to know that you received a warm welcome through our professional welcome letter and experienced a high level of professionalism from our Front Desk team. Your recognition of our room quality and amenities is also greatly appreciated, although we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced due to the quantity of drinking water provided. Your feedback on our breakfast spread is valuable, and we are constantly working to improve our offerings. We would like to address your concerns about our IRD (In-Room Dining) policy. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during the ordering and payment process. We appreciate your understanding that our staff was following management instructions. We are continually evaluating our policies to ensure they meet our guests' expectations and will take your feedback into consideration. Regarding the issue you observed during breakfast, we take your feedback seriously. We aim to provide a positive experience for all our guests, and we will strive to address any concerns that may affect their perception of our hotel. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, and we will do our best to ensure a more seamless experience during your next visit. Warm regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
RAJEEV S wrote a review Jan 2020
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Well managed rooms, supportive staff and great food to enjoy the trip. Since it is very near to the airport it only takes 5 to 10 mins to reach the airport or hotel. The hotel also provide the facility of pickup from airport also if demanded.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Neat and clean rooms.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KoushikBanerjee, Rooms Division Manager at Ethnotel
Responded 1 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Namaskar!!!! We thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is great to know that you consider our hotel in your good books and that your experience with us was at par with your expectations. We are happy that we could delight you with our service standards and amenities. Your appreciation of our associates has been shared with them and they are happy to have served you well. Many thanks for your wonderful rating and recommendation. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back with another remarkable experience. Best Regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seaside20329165459 wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Ethnotel is located on the main jessore road opposite to the NSCBI AIRPORT Kolkata. Excellent location & very comfortable.
Buffet offers a wide variety of Indian and continental breakfast, especially the masala dosa is too good. Hygiene and cleanliness is their Mantra! With a
Sanitized environment. It have enjoyed a pleasant stay here. Getting cabs was a big dikkat maybe due to the pandemic hence getting to the main Kolkata city area and other places was a problem.
Hotel is suitable for both family and business travel. 5 stars to housekeeping ! Front office personell and entire staff are very courteous and helpful. Compared to other similar hotels in the airport area, ethnotel should offer some specific rates to make it pocket friendly in my suggestion.
Our best wishes to Mr. Kaushik and his team. We are visiting again, soon!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Koushik Banerjee, Other at Ethnotel
Responded 25 Aug 2021
Dear Guest, Namaskar!!!!! At the outset I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of our entire team for considering Ethnotel for your stay in Kolkata and giving us an opportunity of serving you. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback which goes a long way in boosting the team spirit and helping them outperform every-time. We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. It would be great to see you return soon and have many more memorable experiences with us at the Ethnotel, Kolkata! Best Regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sandhya S wrote a review Jan 2020
Austin, Texas1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel for a wedding party with 12 rooms. The rooms were small and the hotel was dusty. They used kerosene mopping to rid the hotel of insects. It was not a good experience. If you can ignore the quality of the room and stay there for proximity to airport - this might be tolerable.

The food was good.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from KoushikBanerjee, Rooms Division Manager at Ethnotel
Responded 9 Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Namaskar!!!!! At the outset I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf our entire team for considering Ethnotel for your stay in Kolkata and giving us an opportunity of serving you. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback which goes a long way in boosting the team spirit and helping them outperform every-time. Your feedback as shared is of utmost importance to us and will surely be looked into with corrective measures wherever applicable. We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. It would be great to see you return soon and have many more memorable experiences with us at the Ethnotel, Kolkata! Best Regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Supreme Mukherjee wrote a review Apr 2021
Sundargarh, Orissa, India29 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice hotel near to Kolkata airport. Hardly 5mins drive ( pickup and drop arranged by hotel on chargeable basis). The hotel is well equipped with all amenities to ensure a comfortable and cozy stay. Hotel appeared hygienic, rooms were spacious & sanitised, food & beverage options were good with prompt service and excellent taste. Staffs were extremely courteous.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers to Kolkata who seek stay options near to the airport.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Koushik Banerjee, Other at Ethnotel
Responded 14 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, Namaskar!!!!! At the outset I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of our entire team for considering Ethnotel for your stay in Kolkata and giving us an opportunity of serving you. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback which goes a long way in boosting the team spirit and helping them outperform every-time. Your feedback as shared is of utmost importance to us and will surely be looked into with corrective measures wherever applicable. We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. It would be great to see you return soon and have many more memorable experiences with us at the Ethnotel, Kolkata! Best Regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
arnab m wrote a review Feb 2023
Bristol, United Kingdom2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Well I have booked from agoda for 3 nights which was a discounted price , but after 2 days when I was going to pay i was unable to complete the payment . I found out that it is a scam as the rate of the hotel was double the amount i booked for , fortunately I didn't go to.the hotel otherwise i have to pay double . I spoke to kaushik in front office and he told I can pay directly in the hotel with the same price , but may be he was not aware of the hotel price , and when I called him second time then he told u have to pay extra ,. Guys this is a scam from both agoda and hotel side . please before booking , when I told kaushik he was rather furious and told u can do whatever u want and u can review as well and he will revert me back , so u know what type of staffs are there in ethnotel . Stay away from the hotel and the agoda bookings
Don't try to hide your staff mistakes by saying i have used abusive language , please check the telephonic conversation before saving your staff members and if so put that conversation details here
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Koushik Banerjee, Revenue Management at Ethnotel
Responded 23 Feb 2023
Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your experience with us. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused during your attempt to make payment for your booking through Agoda. As mentioned before, please note that the online booking payment cannot be charged directly as the online rate and direct payment rate are not the same. We would like to assure you that we do not engage in any scams and always strive to provide the best rates and services to our guests. However, during our conversation, we have repeatedly tried to explain this to you, but unfortunately, we were unable to make you understand the above points. Even we are requested you to contact Agoda's helpline directly for assistance. Furthermore, we have monitored that during the conversation, you have continuously used abusive language towards our staff, which is not acceptable at any cost. We would like to remind you that we always maintain a professional and respectful attitude towards our guests, and we expect the same from our guests in return. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Ethnotel
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sergey wrote a review Jun 2022
19 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Not a bad hotel, but you can do better. If proximity to airport is important and you want clean rooms - this place is good. However, make sure you ask for rooms that are not facing the main road otherwise you will not be able to sleep whole night.

The sound proofing in the rooms is also quite poor, so you might hear your neighbours.

Staff behaviour is decent, but could be improved in a three Star rating.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Koushik Banerjee, Revenue Management at Ethnotel
Responded 8 Jun 2022
Dear Guest, Namaskar!!!!! At the outset I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of our entire team for considering Ethnotel for your stay in Kolkata and giving us an opportunity of serving you. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback which goes a long way in boosting the team spirit and helping them outperform every-time. We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. It would be great to see you return soon and have many more memorable experiences with us at the Ethnotel, Kolkata! Best Regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NITISH KHETAN wrote a review Apr 2021
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hospitality was very good. Welcome drink was served on arrival. Room service was also good. The complimentary meals were the best. Size of the lift should be increased, if possible so as to comfortably fit the wheelchair.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: April 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Koushik Banerjee, Other at Ethnotel
Responded 19 Apr 2021
Dear Guest, Namaskar!!!!! At the outset I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of our entire team for considering Ethnotel for your stay in Kolkata and giving us an opportunity of serving you. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this wonderful feedback which goes a long way in boosting the team spirit and helping them outperform every-time. Your feedback as shared is of utmost importance to us and will surely be looked into with corrective measures wherever applicable. We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. It would be great to see you return soon and have many more memorable experiences with us at the Ethnotel, Kolkata! Best Regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Naveen wrote a review Apr 2024
Ghaziabad, India2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We had an overnight transit stay in this hotel being in close proximity to Kolkata airport, which is just 5-10 minutes away. The room we stayed in was ok, but the bed sheets and covers were smelling foul. Even though a placard was placed on the bed showing all sanitised, it was surely not. Food at a small restaurant was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Anik Mallick, Guest Services / Front Office at Ethnotel
Responded 3 May 2024
We are extremely apologetic to hear about your experience at Ethnotel. We would like to reassure you that we have noted down your feedback and that it will be shared with the concerned department immediately. Our goal is to provide guests with warm, efficient, and personalized service, and we take that very seriously. Guest safety is our first preference. We look forward to your future return, and we will strive to meet and exceed your expectations. Once again, we truly apologize for the inconvenience.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bhaskar D wrote a review Dec 2022
Kolkata (Calcutta), India41 contributions14 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
With prior booking thru Booking.com, we - a family of 5, checked in on 2nd Dec evening. As ID, passport of my grand daughter was given. She holds an American passport. The reception asked for her OCI card.

If Identity is the issue, passport should suffice. They are not to work as immigration officers. When asked for what is the rule, we were rudely asked to contact booking.com as they were BUSY with other work.

These people in the desk are totally unfit to serve in any hospitality service.

Added to it, our second room was delivered to us more than an hour later, for doorlock problems. No checking of malfiunction all day long. Why?

Incredible ETHNOTEL.
Beware of it.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Koushik Banerjee, Revenue Management at Ethnotel
Responded 14 Dec 2022
Dear Guest, Namaskar!!!!! At the outset I would like to take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of our entire team for considering Ethnotel for your stay in Kolkata and giving us an opportunity of serving you. We appreciate you taking out your valuable time to share this feedback. We never compromise on the safety, security and privacy of the guests and this is why authentic ID proof is mandatory for each and every guest. It is very sad to know that you were completely uncooperative with our staff at that time despite having all your IDs. In a special case we have offered you free cancellation of your booking but you have not agreed. You have not complained of any other problems during your stay. Regarding the door lock issues I hope you were unable to operate the electronic keys and later my IT person came and personally attended to you. "Ethnotel" is committed to best hospitality services in the city and we will continue to do so. We look forward to your next visit and the joy of serving you. It would be great to see you return soon and have many more memorable experiences with us at the Ethnotel, Kolkata! Best Regards, Koushik Banerjee Rooms Division Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
aman d asked a question Dec 2022
Iunmarried couple Allowed or not
Answer from Jose George
Mumbai, India49 contributions34 helpful votes
Yes they welcome couples who are unmarried too.
Answer from ETHNOTEL
Kolkata (Calcutta), India14 contributions
Yes.
Rakhee G asked a question Jan 2020
Chennai (Madras), India20 contributions1 helpful vote
Is it safe for women travelling alone ?
Answer from mumbaiace
mumbai171 contributions63 helpful votes
yes,the hotel is reputed and well lit and seemed to be frequented by families.There were families also in the restaurant below.Also it is very much on a main road,not in a dimly lit lane.
Rakhee G asked a question Jan 2020
Chennai (Madras), India20 contributions1 helpful vote
Is it safe for women travelling alone ?
Answer from Varun M
4 contributions
Indeed it is safe for women travelling alone. In case you are yet to plan a trip, you can do so without hesitation
Larry R wrote a tip Jan 2024
3 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check in takes forever despite prior booking"
Read full review
Abhiram_Sathe wrote a tip Jan 2024
Pune, India186 contributions107 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try and room not facing road."
Read full review
Nehasinghal wrote a tip Jan 2024
Raipur, India11 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Never visit unless you are visiting for hookups. That’s the hotel is for."
Read full review
Anand S wrote a tip May 2023
Bengaluru, India4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Worst. Never pick this if you in transit from airport"
Read full review
Papan N wrote a tip Oct 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best airport hotel in town."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kolkata (Calcutta) area.
PRICE RANGE
₹2,756 - ₹3,675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ETHNOTEL (Kolkata, West Bengal) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ethnotel
What are some of the property amenities at Ethnotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Ethnotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ethnotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ethnotel?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ethnotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Irish House Kolkata Airport, Cafe Coffee Day, and Zhongwen.
Does Ethnotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Ethnotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ethnotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Ethnotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ethnotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Ethnotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Barah Mihirer Dhipi Archeological Site (5.2 km).
Is Ethnotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Kolkata (Calcutta) HotelsKolkata (Calcutta) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)Hotels near Ethnotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire