Hotel Niharika

Hotel Niharika

5, A. J. C. Bose Road Near : Minto Park, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020 India
Traveller (135)
nice restaurant
Dining (13)
Bliss
Room & Suite (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#54 of 423 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located in the business hub of Central Kolkata, Hotel Niharika, a business class hotel offers a bouquet of personalized services and ethnic hospitality which the business clientele and leisure travellers yearn for.Hotel Niharika guarantees a pleasant stay for its guests in its 53 spacious and cosy rooms, superbly designed multi cuisine restaurant and coffee shop and dedicated and affable service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Concierge
Dry cleaning
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Doorperson
Laundry service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

5, A. J. C. Bose Road Near : Minto Park, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700020 India
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
Netaji Subhas Chandra Airport
15.8 km
See all flights
Rabindra Sadan
8 minKolkata Metro
Maidan
13 minKolkata Metro
230Reviews7Q+A45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 81
  • 97
  • 33
  • 6
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
SharonBlackburn wrote a review Feb 2020
Darwen, United Kingdom293 contributions84 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, comfortable accommodation within walking distance to lots of the main tourist attractions.
There is a lot of road noise which continues overnight and the shower pressure on the 5th floor was very poor.
What makes this hotel is the staff. Everyone in the hotel goes above and beyond to help and meet any need or request you may have. What a great team.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear Sharon, We are happy to learn that you had a satisfactory stay at Hotel Niharika. However, we have also taken note of your discomfiture and we assure you that such an uneasy situation wouldn’t occur in future. Your appreciation of our staff in abundance is a source of encouragement to them. Thank you! We eagerly look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Regards. Bidyut Kumar Guha General Manager Hotel Niharika
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mjsriram wrote a review Jul 2023
Mysuru (Mysore), India26 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is my 4th visit and the 1st one after Covid. Every hotel will have ups and downs after couple of years and this one is an exception. I was received well and thoroughly enjoyed the hospitality of the staffs. They have renovated the Restaurant and the breakfast was very tasteful. The South Indian food like Idly, lemon Rice and Dosa are authentic. We loved their Sambar and we have requested them to serve the Sambar during the dinner and we enjoyed the sambar both the days. I have seen many old staffs still continuing there which is a good sign and they are the ones who work behind the scenes and are more responsible. Keep up the good work.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: The restaurant can accommodate around 50 people and i would suggest to have breakfast before 8 AM...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Rajkumar Naskar wrote a review Jan 2020
Kolkata (Calcutta), India21 contributions22 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the first time I went to this hotel.The atmosphere around the hotel was very nice.The interior of the hotel is very extraordinary.I ate chili chicken fried rice.The quality of the food was very good.The price is right for the common man.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika
Responded 22 Jan 2020
Dear Mr. Rajkumar, We are content that we could make your stay to your satisfaction. We are happy that you found the food at our restaurant of your liking and for considering our rates reasonable. We sincerely thank you for taking the trouble of posting your views on TripAdvisor . Sir, we always look forward to your next visit to our hotel. Regards. Bidyut Kumar Guha General Manager Hotel Niharika
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rupash v wrote a review Feb 2020
Lucknow, India2 contributions4 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff is very rude. I booked the hotel room for triple occupancy and was ensured the same on call. But when I reached the hotel to check in, the staff refused to supply us with a bed for the third person. The manager too was quite rude. Even after being ensured regarding triple beds, I was insulted very badly. I would not recommend anyone to stay here.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
prnott wrote a review Feb 2024
Bengaluru, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Terrible in every way. The room was tiny, the water in the bathroom did not drain, there geyser had to be turned on for hot water (which we were not told about), and the noise from the busy road below was deafening till past midnight. I would not recommend it anybody.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you absolutely have to stay here, ask for a room as far from the road as possible. And check...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amit K wrote a review Mar 2015
Mumbai, India158 contributions79 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed there for 2 days on my business trip and this hotel was recommended by my colleague and i must say i really had very good experience . Very neat and clean rooms and good food . Also the location is good and easy accessible to various other places
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HOTELNIHARIKA, General Manager at Hotel Niharika
Responded 3 Jun 2015
It has been a great pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for expressing your satisfaction over your stay at Hotel Niharika. We eagerly look forward to welcome you again. Best Regards Bidyut Kr. Guha General Manager Hotel Niharika
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BananaLu wrote a review Mar 2015
Bangkok, Thailand755 contributions395 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Perfect location! From there you have access to Park Street, several shopping malls or big shops (dresses, jeweellery, Oxford bookstore), art galleries, Victoria Memorial Hall, Saint Paul’s cathedral… There are several sizes of rooms, we took the medium one which was quite big (2 beds, sofas with a small table…) and comfortable. Decorations and furniture style are quite old. Do not expect to have a view or see daylight but nice enough for a couple of days. The staff is relatively nice but expects big tips whenever they help you a little, they will make funny faces if they find your tip too low. For tourists going to the airport they have a luggage storage room and scales to check the weight of your luggage. The morning breakfast (included in the room price) is correct, nothing fancy but it is good. They propose free WiFi (one access per person, which is much better than one access per room as some other hotels propose). Go there for the location!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2015
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
KarthikMunichoodappa wrote a review Apr 2015
Bangalore10 contributions36 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, the staff are courteous, helpful, but if u expect to be in a 4 star comfort , then it is not so, it is best a 3 star hotel, bathrooms don't have a soap holder next to the wash basin. Restaurant is just about ok, i think they use a lot of garam masala and soda, so if one has a sensitive stomach it is worth being cautious.
I booked through Hotels.com , when I checked out a lady at the reception gave me a bill for two days and it was lesser than what I booked through the website. later had to tell her that my room was pre paid. One thing I found interesting was, when I checked in I was told my room was being upgraded, but all the rooms I saw was intact the same size. I noticed the same line being used to another guest checking in. So I find it hard to believe they actually upgraded my room?
Read more
Date of stay: April 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
nemshef wrote a review Mar 2015
Mumbai, India59 contributions94 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at hotel niharika in kolkata .its a good hotel .though it looks average from outside , it excellent from within.Rooms are small but v well decorated.Bathrooms are good with good shower and toileteries.
The most striking is the cleanliness.very neat and clean .Even staff is well mannered and cooperative.
Restaurant is also good.
Food was good and even their service was nice.
Surely recommended for family and business . location good and near to markets and attractions.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ankur A wrote a review Feb 2014
Kokrajhar, India36 contributions85 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I traveled to this property during Nov'13 as part of my business trip and stayed there along with my wife. It is centrally located. The rooms are good, very well maintained. The staff is extremely helpful and ever willing to help. I would specially like to thank Mr. Dhar for making our trip a memorable one. I would definitely visit the property on my visit to Kolkata.:)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd Floor the room was quiet and wonderful.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shahin m asked a question Oct 2018
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Is food halal here?
Answer from Rohan R
Colombo, Sri Lanka23 contributions30 helpful votes
Hopefully yes. However you can go to their website call them and & reconfirm. You can also request them halal food. Hope this help.
TAPAS K asked a question Aug 2017
Is there spa available in hotel?
Answer from Rezwan K
12 contributions4 helpful votes
No , I Havent Seen .I guess No spa is available
upsi d asked a question Oct 2016
1 contribution
do u provide pick up car facility?
Answer from SanthRaul
Navi Mumbai, India12 contributions1 helpful vote
They do provide but it's better to opt a cab like Ola/Uber.
Answer from Saikat C
New Delhi, India54 contributions32 helpful votes
I think most of their rooms have double beds, so it should be easy to guarantee it by putting in a special request on your booking site or direct to the hotel.
Answer from Sky-Jsr
Jamshedpur, India185 contributions45 helpful votes
Yes please take it. Also ensure to keep address proof with you in original
prnott wrote a tip Feb 2024
Bengaluru, India3 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you absolutely have to stay here, ask for a room as far from the road as possible. And check the noise the room before taking it."
Read full review
mjsriram wrote a tip Jul 2023
Mysuru (Mysore), India26 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The restaurant can accommodate around 50 people and i would suggest to have breakfast before 8 AM or else after 9 AM."
Read full review
Adwait Ainapure wrote a tip Feb 2019
Pune, India50 contributions16 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is very quiet though at the main road."
Read full review
Onjohn wrote a tip Feb 2018
24 contributions4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter."
Read full review
dksardana wrote a tip Feb 2018
New Delhi, India51 contributions31 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Must try their excellent food."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kolkata (Calcutta) area.
PRICE RANGE
₹3,743 - ₹4,824 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
53
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOTEL NIHARIKA (Kolkata, West Bengal) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel Niharika
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel Niharika?
Nearby attractions include Netaji Bhawan (0.5 km), ISKCON Kolkata, Sri Sri Radha Govind Temple (0.2 km), and Forum Courtyard (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hotel Niharika?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hotel Niharika?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Hotel Niharika?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Hotel Niharika?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hotel Niharika?
Conveniently located restaurants include Oh! Calcutta, Artsy Coffee & Culture, and Cafe Mezzuna.
Are any cleaning services offered at Hotel Niharika?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Hotel Niharika offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hotel Niharika?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel Niharika?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jorasanko Thakur Bari (4.9 km), Ramakrishna Mission Swami Vivekananda's Ancestral House and Cultural Centre (5.0 km), and General Post Office (3.5 km).
All Kolkata (Calcutta) HotelsKolkata (Calcutta) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)Hotels near Hotel Niharika
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire