Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass

Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass

Traveller (742)
Premium Room
Room & Suite (118)
Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Videos (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

5.0
#8 of 423 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Centrally located in the progressive IT corridor of the capital of West Bengal, Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass is a contemporary hotel designed for the well-heeled business and leisure traveler. Just 19 kilometers away from NSC Bose International Airport, this glass-and-steel structure cuts a striking figure on the city’s lifeline and IT hub, the Eastern Metropolitan (EM) Bypass. 197 urban studio-style rooms and plush suites usher guests into a tech-powered, global lifestyle. Stay on top of your fitness goals with a workout at the state-of-the-art rooftop gym and pool with a panoramic city view before indulging in fine meals at Mynt - the all-day diner, Wink - amongst the city’s finest bars serving pan-Asian cuisine, and Swirl - our adored patisserie and deli. Gourmands are spoilt for choice with extensive menus featuring American, European, Mediterranean classics as well as a home-style celebration of Bengal’s legendary cuisine. Whether you grab a sandwich on the go, entertain business guests over a leisurely multi-course meal or book one of our impressive banquet halls for a corporate event, the hotel’s gastronomic experiences live up to Kolkata’s reputation as a food paradise. The city’s literary allure find expression at our cozy lobby-level Writer’s Retreat, where authors and bookworms can settle down with cups of tea, snacks and laptops for a quintessential adda (hangout) session. To explore the city’s cultural legacy, opt for customized tours arranged by our Concierge service. From Jorasanko Thakurbari (Nobel Laureate Rabindranath Tagore’s ancestral home) and Academy of Fine Arts - the stronghold of Bangla theatre - to the colonial grandeur of Victoria Memorial, Kolkata’s vibrant streets are a kaleidoscope of timeless icons. At Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass, this artistic spirit compliments a stylish millennial lifestyle that exemplifies the ‘City of Joy’.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Pool
Bar / lounge
Kids stay free
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Valet parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Rooftop pool
Indoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Swimup bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Rooftop terrace
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
ATM on site
Butler service
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Allergy-free room
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
5.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

1930 Rajdanga Main Road, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700107 India
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 66 out of 100
66
Netaji Subhas Chandra Airport
16.3 km
See all flights
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles3,293 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Nestled in the heart of the city, Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass is acclaimed by guests for its prime location and aesthetically pleasing ambiance. Many laud the hotel's luxurious amenities, including the pool with scenic views, despite some reports of room service shortfalls. Opinions on value are split; some appreciate the affordability while others find the dining costs steep. Cleanliness stands out as a strong point, with the hotel maintaining high standards. Service quality, however, receives mixed feedback, with staff responsiveness varying. Rooms are generally well-regarded, though some maintenance issues have been noted.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Elegant
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Immaculate
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Lavish

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
3,293Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2,783
  • 362
  • 84
  • 25
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Raj wrote a review Feb 2021
Bengaluru, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It was amazing stay for almost 2 weeks in this hotel. Home to home feeling. Very good hygiene and Covid protocols followed and the friend desk executives were super supportive and quick in response 24/7

Lavish resturant that covers almoset every dishes. Breakfast is awesome. And it's reasonable with verities of optionss.

My special thanks to Mr Alamgir & Sanjay for being a super host. Took care for every minute ..meals and everyday room service from morning tea till dinner for my family I highly recommend to take care of these employees (Mr Alamgir & Sanjay) and not lose. Hardly we get employees who has the passion for great hospitality. I have traveled across globe and this was a fantastic experience.
Wish all the best team ! See you soon.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sourav Ghosal, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 27 Feb 2021
Dear 690rajeshv, Greetings from Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass! Thank You for your continuous patronage. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with the overall experience of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and services. Your kind appreciation of our associates motivates us even further. Please be assured that I would personally convey your message to the team. We look forward to welcoming you again. Warm Regards Sourav Ghosal General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
rohit c wrote a review Mar 2021
New Delhi, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The stay was very comfortable.
Excellent effort and team work put in by the staff .
The location is pretty good and takes around 35-45 min from the airport depending upon the traffic . The pick up and drop service provided by the hotel is good and well managed.
The rooms are done up and maintained very well. The housekeeping service does an excellent job.
The laundry service is prompt and is of high standard.
In room dining service is great and provides quality service .
The breakfast spread on the ground floor is good and the local dishes including the sweet part do add to the layout . These are well prepared and worth giving a try.
The staff at the front desk is always forthcoming and more than eager to assist in case of any requirements.
Overall a great stay. Thanks a lot .
Great display of Indianness and hospitality. Do keep it up .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sourav Ghosal, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 2 Mar 2021
Dear rohitc1065, Thank you not only for your recent patronage but also for taking time to share your feedback . Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us. We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your kind words of praise on our product and facilities. It is our constant Endeavour to ensure we exceed the expectations that our guests have from us. Your compliments have been shared with the entire team to whom it always has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We thank you once again for your appreciative comments and your recommendation and look forward to having more opportunities to welcome you back at Kolkata in not so distant future. Warm regards Sourav Ghosal General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Prithwiraj1171 wrote a review May 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a wonderful staycation at Taj Vivanta, Kolkata celebrating my anniversary. The house keeping guys had decorated my room with balloons and also provided a anniversary cake. It was a wonderful gesture. We had lunch and breakfast at at Mynt and dinner at Wink. Food was good and so was the service. We had a great time at the upper level swimming pool as well and the view was equally wonderful. Would highly recommend everyone in Kolkata for a staycation.
Incidentally, on Valentine’s Day and again on Poila Baisakh ( Bengali New Year’s Day) we ordered lunch from the Taj food delivery app Qmin.
Everything from the food spread, the taste to delivery of the food and the packaging was wonderful. Here I must mention the services of Amit of Taj Vivanta, Kolkata on both the occasions who co ordinated the delivery and ensured that everything was in order. We can’t thank him enough for his personal touch.
Recommended for those who want to enjoy Taj food in the safety and comfort of their homes. One just needs to download the Qmin App and get started. Bon a petit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sourav Ghosal, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 28 May 2021
Dear Prithwiraj B, Thank you for visiting us and for taking the time to share your valuable feedback here. My team and I are indeed delighted to learn that you had a pleasant experience. We at Vivanta Kolkata incessantly strive to seek feedback from our discerning guests in order to improve our product and services and thank you again for being our Goodwill Ambassador. Will look forward to welcoming you back in not so distant future Warms Regards Sourav Ghosal General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karla G wrote a review Feb 2020
Santiago, Chile
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a total of 4 nights here.
This is a hotel that has the potential to be a 5 star hotel, but it's not there yet.
For instance, although the room was perfectly clean most of the times, on our third day, when we returned to the rooms, we noticed the cleaners did not remove the mugs we used to drink tea the night before. When we went downstairs to have dinner we talked to the person at the main counter, explained the situation, and he said he would send someone immediately. After waiting for more than hour, no one had been to our room, so I called the front desk and told them we were still waiting to get our clean mugs. After about 20 minutes someone arrived. The cleaner didn't have a clue of the situation. I explained to him what had happened and he said he would be back with clean mugs. He came back not only with clean mugs but also with a form that I had to fill in by hand explaining the reason I was complaining.
If this is really a 5 star hotel, why did they take so long to fix the issue? And why was there an issue in the first place?
Now, let me tell you a bit about the payments. We booked our room ahead of time and the 4 nights were already paid for.
During our stay, we asked the concierge to help us to arrange the taxi service, which we paid by credit card on our check out day.
We also had dinner every night at the hotel and paid every day with cash.
Believe it or not, after checking out, there were to pending post in our credit cards: one from Vivanta hotel (which was the amount we had to pay for the taxi service) and another one from The Getaway hotel, for an amount that was more than 10,000 rupees.
We called the hotel and asked for an explanation. They said they couldn't see the charge in the system, so they told us they would call us back next day. Needless to say, they never call. We called them again (after two days of our first call) and by that time, they said they would contact their bank because they could not do anything as of that moment, since now it was part of the bank's procedures. Once more, they said they would call again.
Parallel to this conversation, we had already contacted our bank and let them know about this situation.
Long story short, they did not call us after our second call either. The pending charge disappeared after 10 days, and we were fine. Once more I ask myself, if this hotel was a 5 star hotel, shouldn't they have handled this situation better?
Anyway, the hotel is good, not excellent. If you stay here, please be cautious and check your credit card charges.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SouravGM, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Dear KarlaDGO, Greetings from Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass!! At the outset, we thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Your review is important to us as it gives us a new perspective about areas of improvement and help us to progress in our constant endeavour of excellence. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused to you. We have noted your concern and have initiated the necessary steps with diligence to ensure that such situations are not repeated. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate hotel team to ensure that this was an isolated issue that is corrected moving forward. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us. We will make sure that you carry back better memories of your experience with us in the future. I look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass Kind Regards Sourav Ghosal General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
948ramk wrote a review Feb 2020
Mumbai
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Ask for Laundry service and the person came to collect the laundry behaving like he been assigned the task forcefully and asking me to deliver the laundry with laundry sheet outside the room(HUGLY SURPRISING).
Asked the room service for Cut apple and they did not supplied the same.
Above both incident happened 12 in the night being i checked in around the same time,so was in hurry to sleep.
No hanger inside the bathroom.
very little nuts option in the breakfast and cleanness was a concern around juice dispenser.
I will definitely opt for other option if given a chance.
Above 3 complaint have been told on phone to the Hotel GM.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Taj Hotels & Resorts
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: No hanger inside bathroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from SouravGM, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 12 Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass ! Please accept my sincere gratitude for the detailed and specific feedback. It is always our endeavour to serve our guests in manner befitting our reputation and such feedback highlights areas of improvement that require our urgent attention and immediate corrective action. I regret to read that your experience with us was not a memorable one, due to service shortfalls you experienced. Please do accept my sincere apologies for the same. I assure you that the same is not the usual experience we aim to deliver to our guests. I have taken note of the areas of improvement that you have highlighted and the same will be addressed in all earnest. We greatly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back soon. With best regards, Sourav Ghosal General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Debbie wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Hotel currently lacks a model to service Solo Travelers (Business or Leisure) especially when it comes to Food and Beverage. A lot of food was unnecessarily wasted as there was no option for single serves for in-room dining. Having buffet meals 3 times a day cannot be considered healthy.

The Air Conditioning system really needs to be revisited as it became extremely cold when I left the room due to the Central AC blower. During my entire stay I did not turn on the AC as it was too cold and I had to request a single blanket duvet to just sit and work. Note that other guests staying on the same floor was often heard complaining about the same.

Please consider environment friendly water dispensers instead of so much plastic bottles. It was a pleasant stay except for loud noises from other guests in the corridor. Maybe some "Maintain Silence" boards or White noise would help.

All staff from Reception to Restaurant, Housekeeping, Supervisors were extremely helpful and polite and always carried a warm smile. Coordination between departments could improve a bit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vishal Sharma, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 8 Aug 2022
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass and taking your valuable time out to share your experiences with us. It is most disheartening to receive feedback such as yours. The comfort and needs of our guests is our paramount priority and I am disappointed we did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback on meal formats and air conditioning has been shared with the team and we will ensure that this matter is addressed while necessary actions are taken to ensure such instances do not recur. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again. I once gain thank you for your valued feedback and wish you and your family the best of health. Warm Regards Vishal Sharma General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lastdon wrote a review Feb 2023
Brussels, Belgium
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I begin this review with a mixed feeling about our stay here. The hotel, is miles away from being a truly TAJ property.

Booking: Avoid booking on the taj website if you need to personalise any services for your stay. The reservations team, should avoid sending too many confirmation emails, and once the request has been sent by the client, they should avoid bothering the guests with early morning calls to confirm any additional charges. Either this should have been agreed already prior to the guest checkin, or have the courtesy to not bother the guests after a long travel and especially when the guests have requested a DND.
So better to book through sites like booking.com as you get the same rate, and also avoid the additional responses requested by the reservations team.

Food: Ok this one has to be the most problematic area. Now i would avoid writing the details here (we were in room 521) and the GM and FnB manager would know what all went wrong with respect to hygiene.

But the staff Arnab, Debojit at the restaurant are very helpful and would try to ensure good prompt service. We thank them for their great customer service.

Room Service: Ranjan / Anup / and all the room service staff were the stars during our stay. This is one aspect where we can say the positives of this hotel begins. The staff is very courteous and always ready to help.

Our decorations during our 9 day stay was a treat. Timely room service and house keeping ensured that to a much greater degree our stay was very comfortable and we had our rooms cleaned up within no time and always ensured that the amenities and toiletries were there whenever we needed.

Sleep Quality: The room allocated to us was quiet and the bed very comfortable. The temperature control was working fine and no issues there. The only suggestion would be to ensure that when DND is on, there are no calls made to the guests.

Staff and the GM: Well it came as a surprise for me that our requests to meet the GM were never addressed during our 9 day stay. Even with the TAJ palaces, and the most respectable TBH, the GM always can be reached out. Not that it really mattered, but reception to critical feedback should be the responsibility from the TOP management, and not the bottom up approach. Food hygiene issues, dirty touch points in the room and some staff issues are something the GM of this property needs to address.

As frequent travellers and very loyal TATA group customers, we do hope that our feedback is taken into consideration and that course corrections are made.

Make no mistake, despite its shortcomings our stay at the property was made so pleasant due to some staff who were always present and ever helpful.

We thank Mr. Prakash and Mr Feroz from the travel desk who during our stay were available promptly and the Car provided also was clean and comfortable.

So thank you for making our stay pleasant, albeit some nagging issues could have been avoided.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Vishal Sharma, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 1 Mar 2023
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass and taking your valuable time out to share your experiences with us. It is most disheartening to receive feedback such as yours. The comfort and needs of our guests is our paramount priority and I am disappointed we did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. The experience you have described is not the characteristics of service that we strive to provide to our esteemed guests. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will ensure that this matter is addressed while necessary actions are taken to ensure such instances do not recur. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again. I once again thank you for your valued feedback and wish you and your family the best of health. Warm regards, Vishal Sharma General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rini S wrote a review Oct 2023
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed at the Vivanta for 3 nights with my 2 year old daughter. We had a city view room which was supposed to be a 'quiet' room as per the description on the website. Unfortunately, it turned out that the city view also came with city noise at night i.e. the traffic noise and honking from the road and I had to ask for my room to be changed in the middle of the night as there was no way I could sleep in that noise. Now I have to say I was very impressed with the prompt action by the concierge and we were moved to a rear facing room immediately which was much quieter. I appreciate that given the location of the hotel, outdoor noise is something the hotel can't control and especially so during festivities. However, I would have appreciated it more if they had informed me at the time of booking or check-in that the room will be noisy (considering they were not at all surprised by my call regarding traffic noise) so that I could have chosen a different room from the get-go. Apparently I was upgraded to a premium room however, it barely was an upgrade. The bathroom there lacked basic things like a towel hook or a towel rack. Where does one dry wet towels or hang their clothes in the bathroom? To top it all the shower screen leaked water all over the bathroom and I had to call housekeeping to clear it.
I also wasn't impressed by the room service, I asked for a glass of (lukewarm) milk for my daughter. I was very specific on the call that it is for a child and doesn't need to be too hot. After nearly half an hour and multiple calls what I received was a cup of boiling hot milk which I had to send back as there was no way my daughter could have had it right away. The 'lukewarm' milk never arrived, even after multiple calls. My daughter fell asleep without her milk.
On our last day at breakfast, I asked for a highchair for my daughter just like the previous two days. The staff member who took room numbers at the entrance said yes it will be arranged soon. 20 minutes later the highchair was nowhere to be seen and no one was arranging it either. After requesting almost every other staff member within the restaurant, the highchair was brought in from the back of the restaurant. No one apologised, no one was bothered by the fact that a customer had to wait for 20 minutes before their child could eat properly.

The only few things that I probably liked was the size of the rooms, the restaurant food and the service during dinner (paid for separately so not really part of my stay).

Overall, I had high expectations from this hotel given its Taj brand name. But I was thoroughly unimpressed by the lacklustre service. I am going to ask friends and family to steer clear of this hotel. I am sure we can get better service for the price elsewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from , Owner at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 28 Oct 2023
Dear Ms. Rini, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass and taking your valuable time out to share your experiences with us. It is most disheartening to receive feedback such as yours. The comfort and needs of our guests is our paramount priority and I am disappointed we did not live up to your expectations. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. The experience you have described is not the characteristics of service that we strive to provide to our esteemed guests. Your feedback has been shared with the team and we will ensure that this matter is addressed while necessary actions are taken to ensure such instances do not recur. We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality. My team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again. I once again thank you for your valued feedback and wish you and your family the best of health. Warm regards, Vishal Sharma General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Deepak K Rana wrote a review Sept 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
It had been my third visit to Vivanta by Taj, at first, when I had visited, I was treated very poorly, as of some street guy has walked into Taj, while I am an NRI and booked the hotel online and paid all the amount upfront, this is not the way, how Taj should treat people. There is zero respect, it is just like British Raj time, when Indians were not allowed to visit certain places, the same mentality is what Taj is holding today. There is heavy improvement required on how you treat people with respect and dignity, even if I am booking a room for my driver, even he deserves the same degree of respect. As he is also your guest.

Overall, the room quality was ok at Kolkata, the entrance is very small, staff was ok, the wifi speed was terrible. Only 4 mbps? This speed is not even available on mobile phone, and of course I had to use mobile phone data by paying extra to buy more data. You need to seriously work on the speedy wifi, as this is the need of hour. I was working remotely, and needed to connect to speedy internet, and I just couldn't.

Further, I am not very convinced with the business services, As I had went downstairs to work on computer, whereby there was an empty meeting room, I was asked for Rs 1500 for couple of hours of usage. I mean, if someone is paying such a heavy amount, can't you provide a business center for your regular guests?

The innercircle points, I mean I still don't get this, is this been properly technically tested by your team? My past visit points were never added, it took me 1 year to have my points added to my inner cirlce account and yet, the new visit points are still due. There is no history of points. The overall system just doesn't work on the website, required more proper testing. It looks like a rush job been delivered on InnerCircle.

The room quality was ok, but the noise quality was very poor, the windows were single glazed, plus the street noises were very loud, How could a close window deliver heavy noises from the street? Work on the window and make the rooms more sound proof by using more wooden work.

I stayed in the room for 4 nights, first day, the fruit platter was delivered, what happened to the other remaining days? I wasn't quite sure, if this was provided upon checkin only or was it a regular service?

The toilet from the restaurant was very far away. You should get one toilet installed at your restaurants.

TV had AirTel box, what happened to Tata's own - Tata Sky?

Overall, I am not very convinced with the quality of your hotel. This had resulted in me booking Novotel Kolkata and extended by stay there by staying in Suite.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Too loud noises from street and musical event happening nearby.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sourav Ghosal, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 4 Oct 2021
Dear deepakrana82, Thank you for choosing Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass for your recent stay and for taking the time sharing your valuable feedback, which helps us to focus on what is important to all our guests. It is concerning to know about your experience. I sincerely regret the inconveniences caused, and rest assured that I have personally shared your valuable comments with the relevant department heads to further improve the areas you have highlighted in the review. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Kind Regards, Sourav Ghosal General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sohani wrote a review May 2021
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As expected from Taj, the employees were so welcoming starting from the front desk to the cleaning staff. Covid guideline are followed diligently. They keep the food outside in a small table so that you don't come in contact with the employees. The frontdesk staffs are always polite when you request for something. Special thanks to the room service staffs for always taking care of the hygiene.

Sohani
Room 122
09/05/2021
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Sourav Ghosal, General Manager at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Responded 11 May 2021
Dear shilshisohani, The Vivanta Kolkata team joins me in thanking you for choosing to stay with us recently and also sharing your review It gives us great pleasure to note that we were able to provide you with a service that exceeded your expectations. I have personally shared your compliments on our hospitality with the entire team for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We all will be looking forward for an opportunity to welcome you back Warm Regards, Sourav Ghosal General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Anu N asked a question Feb 2021
Mumbai, India62 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi , have you started the buffet breakfast after the lockdown ?
Answer from Indrajeet S
Bengaluru, India49 contributions27 helpful votes
Yes
Answer from Sourav G
Chennai (Madras), India23 contributions
Dear Sir, Thank you for your query. As a part of our Visitor policy, we would only need a Govt. of India authorized ID proof of the visitor for the records in order to allow him/her to go to your room. However there is a black out period for all visitors in the hotel where in no non-resident guest is allowed to go to a room. This black out period starts from 9 pm and goes on till 9 am. Best Regards, Team Gateway Kolkata.
Answer from Gunthers007
1 contribution
You Will need to check her in. They Will require a paspoort.
Answer from ax11111111
United Kingdom251 contributions88 helpful votes
roof top pool available,. cant comment on charges.
govindbabu wrote a tip 8 Jul
Bengaluru, India459 contributions142 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"After 9 am breakfast area is crowded"
Read full review
Anand K wrote a tip 6 Jul
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good property, good room service, good food. Restaurant service 1/5. Reception and other staff service 3/5. Room service 5/5. "
Read full review
Compass14875926580 wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Please change the lift key card technology as if keep our card with phone and we came back to the hotel every time we have to renew the card"
Read full review
parikshit wrote a tip Jun 2024
Navi Mumbai, India16 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Breakfast and dinner spread is awesome. Completely avoid the lunch @ mynt.. spread too less. Even the desserts during lunch time can be skipped. not value for money."
Read full review
Saket P wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It's near EM byepass . Well connected to most places at Kolkata "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kolkata (Calcutta) area.
PRICE RANGE
₹5,595 - ₹7,516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
197
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VIVANTA KOLKATA EM BYPASS (West Bengal) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Which popular attractions are close to Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Nearby attractions include Tagore House (0.8 km), Acropolis Mall (0.8 km), and Chintamoni Kar Bird Sanctuary (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a swimup bar, and free wifi.
Which room amenities are available at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Guests can enjoy a swimup bar, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Conveniently located restaurants include Punjabee Rasoi, Asia Kitchen, and Chili's Grill & Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass have airport transportation?
Yes, Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
All Kolkata (Calcutta) HotelsKolkata (Calcutta) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)Hotels near Vivanta Kolkata EM Bypass
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire