We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Peerless Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Peerless Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

600 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Peerless Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 575: English reviews
canada
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Good location in a busy area not far from the metro underground station. Two blocks south i believe is the Park street which has several bars and pizza joints so is a Macdonald and the Park Hotel. Near the Peerless we have the Oberoi Grand Hotel. Due to the Metro station vicinity there are plenty of low cost fairly ok...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank malimu
Mumbai
Reviewed 4 March 2015

The rooms are comfortable and the hotel itself is very close to both Park Street and New Market area. The breakfast can be a little repetitive. The Bengali food at Aaheli was one of the best I have had..Must try. Can improve on speed of check out.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank UVed
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We have noted your feedback on repetitive breakfast and check out timing for which we are working upon. Assure you that you will find definite change on your next visit. Look forward to welcome you to The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Regards, Subhomoy De General Manager

Campinas, SP
Reviewed 28 February 2015

The room I stayed (8th floor) was spacious and clean but clearly wearing out and smelled from the old carpet. Bathtub and overall bath conditions also on the old side. Bengali restaurant is very good but the Oceanic restaurant buffet where breakfast is served is only regular, without too many options. My personal bad experience consisted in the reception informing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DR_JLF22
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have noted your comments on rooms. This will not be out of place to mention that we are going for renovation of the rooms soon. Regarding Wifi, as a policy we provide 50 MB each day of stay with our compliments and the extra usage is charged. We have taken your comments on the...

Gurgaon, India
Reviewed 26 February 2015

This is a decent old fashioned hotel. My check-out like few others alongside me left a poor taste on the traveller. Probably cost control measures are in place resulting in inexperienced & understaffed. The check-out after lot of pleading and reminders lasted close to 30 minutes! phew.... Nothing much to write about the room (I got a suite for no...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank anoopbaskaran_2000
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused due to delay in your check out process. The corrections have been implemented and you will find a definite change in your next visit. We look forward to welcome you back at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Warm regards, Subhomoy De General Manager

Reviewed 25 February 2015 via mobile

had a nice stay at the Peerless. Best part were the staff who were friendly, professional and accommodating. Areas needing improvement was the food - which was good but after 9 days the breakfast was a little repetitive - and the ambience music. Terrible elevator music was on constant repeat in all of the public areas. Surely it wouldn't be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mendapara
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We have already informed our Executive Chef regarding breakfast menu planning keeping in mind for long staying guests like you so that it does not become repetitive. We will certainly look into the elevator and lobby music. We look forward to your continued support and patronage to The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Yours sincerely, Subhomoy De...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 18 February 2015

This is not a swanky ultra-modern establishment but a good traditional, old fashioned hotel, reasonably priced, with spacious rooms and friendly, hard-working (albeit slightly nervous) staff. The location is superb, being just off the Esplanade and right next to the Oberoi hotel. Although the maintenance of the hotel could be improved it is clean and safe and the restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CrisEdinburgh
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

It was a pleasure speaking to you at our lobby. As discussed, we will upgrade our gymnasium and will introduce exercise bi-cycle and cross trainer soon. We have taken a note on your feedback and suggestion for Wifi which we will definitely consider. Look forward to serve you again at The Peerless Inn, Kolkata. Warm regards, Subhomoy De General Manager

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 February 2015

This hotel is classed as a Super Deluxe Hotel but as for me its just not so.We were given a room where the safe didn't work and the taps in the bathroom were rattling and so loose that I felt it would soon come off in my hand. The hotel needs upkeep.Breakfast was ok. You are given 50 mg of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank sakumanuelpillai
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. Your feedback regarding non operation of Safe locker and defective bathroom fixtures are noted and has been rectified. We have shared your comments with the concerned Managers and necessary corrective actions have been taken. As a policy we offer 50 MB of Wifi for every day of your stay...

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 9 February 2015

i have traveled to, and stayed throughout India before, so i will say that my expectations were not very high to begin with. Even though hotels in India are not comparable to U.S. standards, India is usually known for their friendly and hospitable service. Every interaction that i had with the front desk was met with blank stares and deaf...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank nadine0808
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

At the onset please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. I agree that I would have felt the same if were in your position. However, necessary lessons have been drawn from your feedbacks and the concerned staffs have been briefed on the same. Assure you that you will find a definite change in your next visit. Warm regards, Subhomoy...

Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2015

Too many middle managers who pass the buck, do not listen to the patron's issue and interrupt other staff in mid service. This is not a place that makes you feel welcome or relaxed. It is expensive when you add in all the small extra costs and you would be better off at a better hotel. Who wants to feel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ian K
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Apologize for the inconvenience caused. We have called you at your Australia number and spoke to your son and was awaiting for your call to speak in person. However, we have taken note of your feedbacks and have informed the respective Managers for corrective actions. Assure you that you will find a definite change in your next visit. Looking forward...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 27 January 2015

The Peerless Inn is in the center of everything. This can be attractive if you are in Kolkata as a tourist, as you can get to many things on foot and you are a shorter drive to most attractions. They have a Bengali Restaurant on site (Aaheli) that is very well regarded by the locals. We ate there and I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robert G
GMPIK, General Manager at The Peerless Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Subhomoy De General Manager

166 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (156)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Other (74)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kolkata hotels
0.3 km away
Sapphire Suites
Sapphire Suites
#40 of 214 in Kolkata
167 reviews
0.7 km away
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata
0.4 km away
The Lindsay
The Lindsay
#44 of 214 in Kolkata
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Park Kolkata
The Park Kolkata
#16 of 214 in Kolkata
1,591 reviews
0.8 km away
Kempton Hotel
Kempton Hotel
#28 of 214 in Kolkata
158 reviews
2.1 km away
Jameson Inn Shiraz
Jameson Inn Shiraz
#17 of 214 in Kolkata
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 168 rooms and suites at The Peerless Inn hotel in Kolkata are spacious and come in five categories to meet the needs of various travellers and each category is unique in design and luxuriously appointed. The excellent services and facilities live up to the expectations of its brand name. State-of-the-art business facilities and conference rooms effortlessly meet any business or social occasion of any scale. Dining options are interesting and entertaining and include an authentic Bengali cuisine restaurant. A health club and great in-room amenities provide the much required post work respite. Central location at Chowringhee Savour authentic Bengali cuisine at Aaheli Efficient business facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Peerless Inn

Address: 12 J L Nehru Road, Kolkata 700013, India
Region: India > West Bengal > Kolkata
Price Range: ₹ 5,159 - ₹ 12,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peerless Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Peerless Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peerless Inn Kolkata
The Peerless Inn Kolkata, West Bengal
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Kolkata
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Peerless Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Raipur, India
over a year ago
Weehawken, New Jersey
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Peerless Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor room”
 of 5 bubbles 673mdrezaulk, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to take rooms facing Dharmatala area and on upper floors.”
 of 5 bubbles RoyDebashis, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Donot Stay Here”
 of 5 bubbles investigator008, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are great but the only thing that rooms facing the streets may be noisy due to heavy traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles 518clements, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms airconditioned and well appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles GerryC539, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay