The Astor Hotel Kolkata

The Astor Hotel Kolkata

15 Shakespeare Sarani Beside Nightangle Hospital, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071 India
Traveller (522)
Panorama of the Deluxe Room at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (164)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.5
#17 of 423 hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Astor Hotel, Kolkata is an abode of luxury that blends heritage opulence and new-age comfort seamlessly. Housed in a century-old building, The Astor is synonymous with good living, exceptional hospitality, unforgettable cuisine and efficient, clockwork service. Located at the heart of the Central Business and Retail District, the hotel is well-connected to most places of interest and curiosity in Kolkata. The Astor has recently undergone extensive renovations and is now replete with state of the art facilities and services. The hotel offers complimentary WIFI to all its guests. The hotel has a rich selection of restaurants to choose from including the most popular bar in Kolkata, PHOENIX (Club / Bar) apart from the evergreen Kebab-e-que, which has just completed 30 years of operation.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Nightclub / DJ
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Valet parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Rooftop bar
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Telephone
Bottled water
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi

Location

15 Shakespeare Sarani Beside Nightangle Hospital, Kolkata (Calcutta) 700071 India
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Netaji Subhas Chandra Airport
15.5 km
See all flights
Maidan
7 minKolkata Metro
Rabindra Sadan
9 minKolkata Metro
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles900 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Astor Hotel in Kolkata garners praise for its blend of historical elegance and contemporary comforts, with guests frequently lauding the attentive and caring service. While its rooms charm with a mix of old-world ambiance and modern amenities, a few visitors have mentioned the lack of windows and sporadic cleanliness lapses. The hotel's prime location is widely celebrated for its accessibility to attractions, enhancing its value despite the occasional higher costs for additional services. Amenities, particularly the diverse dining options and vibrant nightlife, although sometimes a source of noise, contribute to the hotel's appeal.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Reasonable
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Well-appointed

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
900Reviews8Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 587
  • 214
  • 55
  • 17
  • 27
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Janaki Visvanath wrote a review Feb 2020
Pune District, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in Astor on 3 occasions in the month of February. We used it also as our stopover place for our visits to Sundarbans and to Shantiniketan, each time using the luggage room services for our large luggage pieces.

The staff are friendly, front desk, housekeeping, bell boys and in the restaurant where we had breakfast every morning. The breakfast can do better with more choices for vegetarians who do not eat egg.

But otherwise, we had a good experience, it was our home away from home and I have no hesitation in recommending it. One point to note however, there are no rooms at the ground level and if you are travelling with senior citizens, it may not suit you, because no lift either.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PINTU MONDAL, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team.Your concern has already been raised with my team regarding the breakfast menu. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Kaushik Sengupta General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
debashis wrote a review Jul 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent location. Drinking water in room should not be limited to two bottles. Good Food and ambiance, Pub may be reloacted to avoid night long disturbance. Wifi should be one pass code and linked to multiple visit.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AKSHAY CHAWLA, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 4 Jul 2022
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. Your concern regarding WIFI and noise has already been raised with my team. We do deeply regret the inconvenience caused. We truly understand your views and have taken cognizance of the same. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. Personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Akshay Chawla General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Nicole Bellemare B wrote a review Oct 2023
Longueuil, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
14 days at the Astor

We stayed 14 days at the Astor. We read many comments before selecting this hôtel. Most comments are good but some bad comments are exagerated in our view. We opted for The Suite on the first floor. We were in room 115, (400 sqft +) . This room is large, the living room is separated from the bedroom, giving a cosy look. Yes, we could ear the music from the living room window, nothing bothersome, from the bedroom we could hardly ear any. We had good sleep in a large and comfortable bed.

For the last night we moved to room 110, the Heritage Suite. This room is larger, recently renovated and really impressive with its baldaquin bed. Equipped with a unique media panel that allows guests to project from a laptop through options of plugs onto the in-room plasma TVs. The set up board for ipad, telephone is more modern and easy to use.

Both rooms were provided with shower cap, shaving kit, dental kit, comb, body lotion, bar of soap in bathroom. No iron, no ironing board in any rooms, but provided upon request.

The employees : sorry, my memory is not too good with names. They all deserve our thanks. They do a great job, always with a smile. Few names I remember, Arindam who made sure we were happy, Debarshish who cleaned our room and made sure nothing was missing. Tamalika welcoming smile at the reception…

The included breakfast is very good, many options are available. The restaurant offers great food. The bar offers very good drinks and good snacks.

As for the hôtel itself, it is beautifully decorated, very clean, the location is perfect, many restaurants, bars, shopping centers in walking distance. Foreign exchange office just beside the hôtel.

We strongly recommend this hôtel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Front Office Manager, Revenue Management at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 31 Oct 2023
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. Personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are really fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. Thanks again for a special mention about Tamalika, Anirban and Devashis. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Amit Kobat General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Indradeep R wrote a review Jan 2021
Mumbai, India
+1
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is located in the heart of the city and you can walk to Camac street and Park street in a Jiffy. This hotel is a heritage building and it really looks awesome both during night and day.

The entrance can be a bit tricky though and if there is hardly any place for more than 2-3 vehicles. I recollect coming here earlier for it had a nice nightclub. But this time I couldn’t locate it probably closed due to the pandemic.

If you are biking here take a suite as the normal rooms are quite small and crampy. There are no elevators and thus you have mobility challenges please avoid it.

The hotel has taken all the necessary precautions of hygiene and the staff is very courteous and helpful. Infact the room service do not enter the room and you are suppose to carry your food inside.

Even our flight was delayed and on request they allowed us to extend our check out time. I think the staff are the ones who are single handedly responsible to get repeat customers by their amazing service standard. Kudos to them !
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. Moreover Your concern about base category rooms has already been raised with my team. We truly understand your views and have taken cognizance of the same. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Kaushik Sengupta General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sangeeth Kunnath wrote a review Dec 2021
Hyderabad, India
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I travelled to Kolkata with my wife and mother in law and the stay at Astor was the worst part of the trip. Lessons learned as follows:

1. Do not travel during Christmas weekends because the staff don't care about in house guests but only the party crowd coming there. They gave us a room above their lounge bar - phoenix which played excruciatingly loud music during the Christmas weekend till 3 am. The photo frames in the wall were shaking! We had an early morning flight on the 26th and we could not sleep.

2. There is an art to being 'politely condescending'. The reception staff excel at it. They looked down upon us when we asked for a la carte dining at the in house restaurant as they were only interested in the special christmas buffet. As house guests we did not even get preference for a table. We had to stand in a queue and then give up and order room service...which of course is a limited menu. Since we were checking out early, we asked for the bills to be cleared the previous night. That took multiple follow ups. We also asked for a packed breakfast if possible and that was just ignored completely.

3. There are no elevators and we had a senior citizen with us. They accomodated by giving us a room on the first floor. But the room had no windows and was basically a spacious pill box. Of course it became worse with the problem pointed out in point number one. At 2 am their solution was to shift us to a higher floor so that we can sleep for 2 hours before our checkout. Let that sink in.

4. The overall vibe of the place was uncomfortable. During our visit there were multiple guests who lost their cool and we're shouting their lungs out at the reception staff. The reception staff just apologized and shrugged on within hours as if they were used to it.

The housekeeping staff were good. It's just the snobbish front desk and the overall management which seemed to only care about the Christmas crowd coming in for events rather than the in house guests. I am never coming here again. I would not recommend the same to anyone who i know as well. We were reasonable and polite in our behaviour and what we got was snobbishness and inconsiderate treatment.

Wish I could give 0 stars..
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid travel with family. Avoid travel during festive seasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 11 Jan 2022
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is disheartening to read about your experience. Your concern has already been raised with my team. We do deeply regret the inconvenience caused. We truly understand your views and have taken cognizance of the same. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being a discerning traveller. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your stay meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again, Warm Regards, Pintu Mondal Front Office Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah wrote a review Feb 2020
Manchester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Astor for 4 nights having selected the hotel for its location and heritage. We stayed in one of the suites which was spacious and nicely decorated and although there were events on most evenings the room was very quiet. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was good. Location excellent for exploring the city by foot and lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PINTU MONDAL, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 3 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Kaushik Sengupta General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sangye Lama wrote a review May 2021
Mumbai, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
From the booking till the time of checkout Mr.Shailendra from front office and Mr Gopalji from housekeeping has taken care of my family. Mr. Shailendra has taken smooth checkin and checkout and Mr. Gopalji he is men who knows how to keep the guest happy and takecare of the guest. I stayed in 105 suite room the decor of the room is excellent Food was delicious but there was very limited menu but you will get customized food as per yur taste bud and I would like to thank the IRD guy (I dont remember his name) overall it was an excellent stay and on my nxt visit to Kolkata will surely stay to this hotel and would highly recommend to choose this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from PINTU MONDAL, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 13 May 2021
Dear Ms Lama, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is most kind of you to share your experience and thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. Personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. Thanks again for a special mention about Mr Shailendra and Mr Gopal. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor,and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Kaushik Sengupta General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Explorer545104 wrote a review Jan 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and myself always stay at the Astor hotel on our annual holidays to Kolkata. The hotel is very central, lots to do and see in the vicinity with Park St just walking distance. The hotel is heritage listed. The hotel is quaint but facilities are modern. The service at the Astor is one to none. From the security staff to front reception, house keeping, restaurant staff to upper management, all of whom have been most helpful, courteous and super friendly. To me, all of these wonderful people have become family more than hotel staff. Our stay in December 2022 was impeccable. No request was too much or too hard for them. A big shout out to some of the housekeeping staff, Bittoo, Gopal, Lakhan, Komein, Debashish, Shantanu and Anirbhan, who always ensured we had a spotlessly clean room, with fresh towels and linen and bottles of water were always in abundance. Front reception, always there to greet us with a smile, Anup, Kaustav and Shreya. Sanchita from room service who always took the time to ask me how my day was going. Khurshed who walked endless stairs to the penthouse to deliver our food with a smile. The F&b manager who helped us host a small gathering on the terrace. And last but not least Mr Kobat - General Manager, for inviting us to the turning on of the Christmas lights, the small personal touches and the highlight of a very emotional send off and goodbye from all of the staff at the Astor. It is a memory me and my family will cherish. It overwhelmed us all for the warmth and love you shared with us during our stay. Look forward to many more stays at the Astor and thank you to each one of you that made our stay all that more delightful.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GUEST SERVICE, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 27 Jan 2023
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are really fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. Thanks again for a special mention about each and every staffs. We look forward to welcoming you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Amit Kobat General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kavitha t wrote a review Nov 2022
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The hotel is in a heritage structure without a lift. When i entered and found there was no lift was upset a bit. When i checked into the room was more disappointed as there was a ground level airconditioner directly blowing on to the bed. The room was clean though with clean sheets and neat bathroom. Requested the reception team to change my room. Mr Tanmoy who was at the reception thenc upgraded me to a suite room then. what an experience staying in such a beautiful room!! Food was also tasty . Behaviour of the Reception , house keeping and the In room dining teams was very courteous. The disappointment on the first day turned out to be delight by the time i checked out. Special thanks to Tanmoy. Will again stay here next time iam in Kolkata
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Pls spend a bit more and go for the Suite room Not suitable for people who can't climb stairs as...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from GUEST SERVICE, Guest Services / Front Office at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 4 Nov 2022
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are really fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times. Thanks again for a special mention about Mr Tanmoy, Housekeeping Team and In Room Dinning team. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Amit Kobat General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rriya P wrote a review Mar 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent hotel, excellent location, excellent service. Beautiful interiors shows the heritage history of the hotel. Amazing restaurants in the hotel and the breakfast spread was great (not your regular pastries and cereal). The staff are all very helpful - special shout out to Sneha at the front desk who went above and beyond to ensure my father and I were comfortable and helped solve our challenges with us with an ever-smiling face. The one con is that since it is a heritage hotel, it does not have an elevator (get ready to get some impromptu cardio). The location is the icing on the cake - super close (walking distance) to all the happening places and park street. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from AKSHAY CHAWLA, General Manager at The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Responded 3 Apr 2022
Dear Guest, Greetings from the Sweetest part of Bengal ! It is most kind of you to share your experience and Thank you for taking out time to write this review. It was also nice to know that you had a very pleasant experience and I am indeed happy that my team lived up to your expectations and that you had enjoyed the hospitality and services provided by my team. At all times it is our constant effort to deliver the desired service, quality and expectations as you deserve being our guest. personalized and dedicated care for our guest is one of our "Exceptional Service Brand Credo" for Archer Hospitality and we are real fortunate to have lovely ladies and gentlemen who always tries to exceed guest expectations at all times.Thanks again for a special mention about Ms Shreya. We look forward to welcome you back at The Astor, and we promise to make your future events and stay more meaningful and memorable every time. We look forward to serving you again. Warm Regards, Akshay Chawla General Manager gm@astorkolkata.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rashida K asked a question Dec 2021
Hyderabad, India9 contributions1 helpful vote
What toiletries and amenities to they provide for a deluxe room?
PK Singh asked a question Apr 2021
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
I want to know that they have dance floor like disco pub
Answer from Natalie1204
Kolkata (Calcutta), India7,772 contributions354 helpful votes
Its not an elevated dance floor per se
Answer from Prashant B
Jamshedpur, India102 contributions59 helpful votes
Yes
Sula R asked a question Jun 2017
12 contributions1 helpful vote
How is the buffet breakfast spread inclu?ded with the room package at astor
Answer from ajayarora80
Meerut, India64 contributions24 helpful votes
Breakfast is part of the package but limited spread esp. for vegetarians !
Twiggy71 asked a question Mar 2017
Burnley, United Kingdom941 contributions41 helpful votes
HI, does this hotel have smoking rooms? Many thanks
Answer from GM-Astor
Kolkata (Calcutta), India42 contributions
Yes we do have smoking rooms
OnAir16816705864 wrote a tip Apr 2024
1 contribution1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are traveling for US VAC then best place just 500meters from here"
Read full review
Connector54432537629 wrote a tip Apr 2024
3 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Just be here to experience the amazing hospitality."
Read full review
Sumit Sen wrote a tip Apr 2024
New Delhi, India2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very good stay at Kolkata Hotel Astor"
Read full review
Daisy Gogoi wrote a tip Mar 2024
Mumbai, India2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't use super.com for booking because they don't take their customers seriously. My booking was tagged as confirmed when the hotel had not"
Read full review
RIPPLEPATEL wrote a tip Mar 2024
Ahmedabad8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no lift, carparking is not possible, located in midst of highly traffic area."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kolkata (Calcutta) area.
PRICE RANGE
₹5,107 - ₹6,614 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
IndiaWest BengalKolkata DistrictKolkata (Calcutta)
NUMBER OF ROOMS
34
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ASTOR HOTEL KOLKATA (West Bengal) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Which popular attractions are close to The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Nearby attractions include Birla Planetarium (0.5 km), ISKCON Kolkata, Sri Sri Radha Govind Temple (0.3 km), and Vardaan Shopping Complex (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a rooftop bar, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Guests can enjoy a rooftop bar, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Yes, free parking and valet parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Conveniently located restaurants include Aromas, Fire And Ice Pizzeria, and Jyoti Vihar.
Does The Astor Hotel Kolkata have airport transportation?
Yes, The Astor Hotel Kolkata offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Astor Hotel Kolkata offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to The Astor Hotel Kolkata?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Jorasanko Thakur Bari (4.4 km), Ramakrishna Mission Swami Vivekananda's Ancestral House and Cultural Centre (4.6 km), and General Post Office (3.0 km).
All Kolkata (Calcutta) HotelsKolkata (Calcutta) Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Kolkata (Calcutta)Hotels near The Astor Hotel Kolkata
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire